Displacement and Gentrification

Mapping database of areas described by the United States Home Owners' Loan Corporation between 1935 and 1940. Note phrases such as "infiltration" and "hazardous" to indicate areas with relatively higher numbers of minority residents, therefore "redlined" and deemed too risky to grant mortgage loans to residents.

The National Community Reinvestment Coalition is a network of organizations and individuals consists of mix of research, investigations, investments, media, grant-making, training, advocacy, litigation, lending, convening and facilitation that aims to strengthen communities of historic disinvestment, expand economic mobility, hold public and private institutions accountable for their impacts, and inform local and national leaders, policymakers and the private sector.

This 2019 report by NCRC focuses on "residential gentrification and racial and ethnic displacement throughout urban areas of the U.S. It is a comprehensive national level analysis of gentrification and displacement in 935 metropolitan areas" from 2000-2013.

This 2020 report by NCRC looking at gentrifying neighborhoods from 2013-2017.

"The Community Reinvestment Act of 1977 sought to address the practice of redlining – the intentional exclusion by banks of minority, immigrant and poor communities from financial services. In late 2023, new CRA regulations specifically included Native Land Areas for the first time. This paper sets a baseline for measuring access to capital by tribal communities in hope of a more just financial services landscape in Indian Country."

This NCRC report analyzes how there is a higher prevalence of COVID-19 risk factors in historically “redlined” neighborhoods.

NLIHC aims to preserve existing federally assisted homes and housing resources, expand the supply of low-income housing, and establish housing stability as the primary purpose of federal low-income housing policy, which includes research that studies trends and analyzes data to create a picture of the need for low-income housing across the country.

Discusses concepts of gentrification and neighborhood revitalization in the United States.

"Each year, the National Low Income Housing Coalition (NLIHC) measures the availability of rental housing affordable to extremely low-income households and other income groups. Based on the American Community Survey Public Use Microdata Sample (ACS PUMS), The Gap presents data on the affordable housing supply and housing cost burdens at the national, state, and metropolitan levels. The report also examines the demographics, disability and work status, and other characteristics of the extremely low-income households most impacted by the national shortage of affordable and available rental homes."

"NLIHC created the Rental Housing Programs Database (RHPD) to generate a better understanding of the diverse ways in which state and local governments use their own financial resources to close the gap between available federal funding for rental housing and the unmet needs of renters in their communities."

In partnership with the Public and Affordable Housing Research Corporation (PAHRC), the NHPD "shows users the federal subsidies associated with nearly any federally assisted property, as well as other property characteristics, which is critical for identifying properties in need of preservation."

A platform that provides data about neighborhoods in Los Angeles created by the USC Price Center for Social Innovation.

The Anti-Eviction Mapping Project is a data-visualization, critical cartography, and multimedia storytelling collective documenting dispossession and resistance upon gentrifying landscapes Primarily working in the San Francisco Bay Area, Los Angeles, and New York City. Filter location to "Los Angeles" for LA region focused data and information.

An interactive map that demonstrates higher eviction rates during the COVID-19 Pandemic in the Los Angeles area.

Conducted with the UCLA Luskin Institute on Inequality and Democracy, this story map dives into the story of six Los Angeles Citywide Nuisance Abatement Program (CNAP) properties to understand how the program has deeply impacted tenants on the properties, as well as organization and resistance to the program.

An interactive story map on with oral histories on narratives of displacement and resistance.

"Esri’s Racial Equity GIS Hub is an ongoing, continuously expanding resource hub to assist organizations working to address racial inequities. The Racial Equity GIS Hub includes data layers, maps, applications, training resources, articles on best practices, solutions, and examples of how Esri users from around the world are leveraging GIS to address racial inequities."

The Ralph & Goldy Lewis Center for Regional Policy Studies advances research on how people live, move, and work in the Los Angeles region, with a focus on policies and interventions that provide paths out of poverty.

A UCLA center focused on research that "informs actionable neighborhood-related policies and program that contribute to positive social change." Formerly the Center for the Study of Inequality.

"This research project examines the role of the Home Owners’ Loan Corporation (HOLC)
“redlining” maps in shaping today’s spatial structure along race and economic class lines, compared with the development of places not categorized by HOLC."

The Social Science Data Archive includes "surveys, enumerations, public opinion polls, and de-identified administrative records. Topics of studies include political attitudes and behavior; social and economic attitudes and behaviors; studies of health status and health outcomes; families, children, and women; international surveys of occupational and social mobility; the Los Angeles County Social Surveys; California Polls; and, census data for the United States and other countries. In addition, the SSDA provides access to data from the Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research and the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research. Materials from SSDA are used with software programs, such as SPSS, SAS, STATA, and R to carry out statistical analysis. Assistance in using statistical packages is provided by the IDRE Statistical consulting office."

The Civil Rights Project/Proyecto Derechos Civiles (CRP) is co-directed by Professors Gary Orfield and Patricia Gándara and is housed in the UCLA Graduate School of Education & Information Studies. Their mission is to "renew the civil rights movement by bridging the worlds of ideas and action, to be a preeminent source of intellectual capital within that movement, and to deepen the understanding of the issues that must be resolved to achieve racial and ethnic equity as society moves through the great transformation of the 21st century."

Research focused on the structure of economic and social opportunities created by the intersection of metropolitan and regional housing, education, transportation, growth, workforce and other policies, all within a context of often dramatic demographic changes.

This study on neighborhood gentrification in California analyzes the relationship between gentrification and local elementary schools largely depends on the specific city and community being gentrified in California.

The LASANTI Project explores many dimensions of social and economic change and inequality across the huge bi-national urbanized complex, stretching from the northern Los Angeles suburbs down through San Diego, to the Tijuana metropolitan area.