Online Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964.
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new windowComprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business. Coverages dates back to 1886. Content also includes books, case studies, Datamonitor company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more. Sole electronic resource for full text of the Harvard Business Review and California Management Review.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976.
- Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new windowIndex to articles published in over 7,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, covering the period 1665-1995. Full text of many articles can be found in Periodicals Archive Online.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- SAGE Complete Journals This link opens in a new windowCollection of journals available from SAGE Publications.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowAccess to journals from Taylor & Francis, Routledge, and Psychology Press. UCLA subscribes to a subset of these titles. Please limit to (filter) by Access Type to “Only show content I have full access to.”
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present.
- Art and Architecture Archive This link opens in a new window
The Art and Architecture Archive offers an
amazing array of titles, including Architectural Review, British Journal of Photography, Graphis, Print,
and many others previously unavailable in digital form, scanned cover to cover as full-page color
images, with searchable text and article level indexing. - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowComprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Indexes publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations. Coverage is from 1934 to the present.
- Building Green This link opens in a new windowSustainable design strategies, green building materials, and case studies of high performance buildings.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowCollection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles which include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics: global warming, green building, ecology, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Full text of more than 1000 open access alternative publications from the 1960s-1980s covering feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, LGBTQ+ activists, and more.
- Left Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes the literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Topics covered include the labor movement, ecology and environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, art and aesthetics, philosophy, history, education, law, and globalization.
- Policy Commons This link opens in a new windowPolicy Commons is a one-stop community platform for research and grey literature from the policy experts, nonpartisan think tanks, IGOs, and NGOs. It covers many disciplines—agriculture, energy, pharmaceuticals, diversity, crime, history, area studies, economics, sociology, political science, health, climate, diversity, sustainable development, and more.
- Social Science Research Network (SSRN) eLibrary This link opens in a new windowSSRN provides access to 1000s of research publications in all disciplines. Search the library by title, author or journal/topic. Or communicate directly with authors listed in the author contact list. You may receive daily delivery of papers as authors release them.
- Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCitations (with abstracts) of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1980-present.
- Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board This link opens in a new window
Full-text content since 1996 from the Transportation Research Record. TRR publishes approximately 50 volumes annually of peer-reviewed papers presenting research findings in policy, planning, administration, economics and financing, operations, construction, design, maintenance, safety, and more, for all modes of transportation.
- Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board This link opens in a new window
Full-text content since 1996 from the Transportation Research Record. TRR publishes approximately 50 volumes annually of peer-reviewed papers presenting research findings in policy, planning, administration, economics and financing, operations, construction, design, maintenance, safety, and more, for all modes of transportation.
- Neighborhood Change Database This link opens in a new windowNeighborhood Change Database (NCDB) gives users instant access to US Census data from 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 at the census tract level. The NCDB contains 1970, 1980, 1990, and 2000 Long Form data and the 2010 Summary File 1 and 2010 American Community Survey (ACS) data with details such as: population, household, and housing characteristics, income, poverty status, education level, employment, housing costs, immigration, and other variables.
A user guide can be found here. - PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowOnline data and mapping application with access to more than 10,000 indicators for U.S. demographics, housing and real estate, income, mortgages, health, and more. Create custom maps, tables, and reports and upload your own data without expensive software and training. Online access restricted to UCLA.
- Sage Data (powered by Data Planet) This link opens in a new windowA repository of publicly, privately, and commercially sourced statistical time-series data, with integrated analysis and mapping tools.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowA web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Premium business directory providing access to over 20 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands and 450 categories as well as crosstab functionality with the Simmons NCS data. Premium market segment data is available from the PRIZM, ConneXions, and P$YCLE datasets enabling researchers to identify target market segments based on lifestyle, tech usage, and income. Localized survey data is available from the Nielsen Scarborough dataset, along with detailed financial data from the Financial CLOUT dataset. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowCurrent and historical demographic and social data, plus online tools to create custom maps and reports. Optional personal login account required to save and share projects online.
Relevant Libguides - For more databases, check out these guides:
Selected Articles
These selected articles are general articles about gentrification and displacement
These selected articles are focused on the Los Angeles and Southern California in general. For more resources and articles, check out the Los Angeles and Southern California section