Primary Resources (UCLA Subscription)
- Afghanistan and the U.S., 1945-1963: Records of the U.S. State Department Central Classified Files (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new windowCollection of U.S. State Department Central Classified Files relating to internal and foreign affairs involving Afghanistan and the U.S. containing a wide range of materials from U.S. diplomats.
- Afghanistan in 1919: The Third Anglo-Afghan War (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new windowProvides information on military policy and administration, including the organization, operations, and equipment of the army during The Third Anglo-Afghan War. Source institution: British Library.
- Age of Exploration This link opens in a new windowIncludes five centuries of journeys across the globe, scientific discoveries, the expansion of European colonialism, conflict over territories and trade routes, and decades-long search and rescue attempts in this multi-archive collection dedicated to the history of exploration. Collection also includes images, video, and audio.
- American Bibliography of Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies (ABSEEES) This link opens in a new windowCovers North American and some European scholarship since the late 1980s on East-Central Europe, Russia, the former Soviet Union and former Soviet republics. Indexes journal articles, books, book chapters, book reviews, dissertations, and selected government publications.
- Border and Migration Studies Online This link opens in a new windowDocuments, videos, and images providing historical background on 30 key border areas, including: US and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; and Thailand.
- BrillOnline Dictionaries This link opens in a new windowIncludes 11 dictionaries and over 150 different languages. Contains etymological dictionaries of: Armenian, Greek, Hittite, Iranian Verb, Latin, Luvian, Old Frisian, Persian, Proto-Celtic, Proto-Germanic, Proto-Nostratic, Slavic, and Tocharian B.
- Central and Eastern European Online Library (CEEOL) This link opens in a new windowArchive of scholarly and cultural publications from Central and Eastern Europe.
- Central Asia, Persia and Afghanistan, 1834-1922: From Silk Road to Soviet Rule This link opens in a new windowThis collection of Foreign Office files explores the history of Persia (Iran), Central Asia and Afghanistan from the decline of the Silk Road in the first half of the nineteenth century to the establishment of Soviet rule over parts of the region in the early 1920s. It encompasses the era of “The Great Game” - a political and diplomatic confrontation between the Russian and British Empires for influence, territory and trade across a vast region, from the Black Sea in the west to the Pamir Mountains in the east.
- Early European Books This link opens in a new windowTraces the history of printing in Europe from its origins through to the close of the 17th century, offering full-color, high-resolution facsimile images of rare and hard-to-access printed sources.
- Encyclopedia of Slavic Languages and Linguistics Online This link opens in a new windowOffers a comprehensive overview of the languages of the Slavic language family and the different ways in which they are and have been studied.
- Encyclopedia of Turkic Languages and Linguistics Online This link opens in a new windowProvides a systematic treatment of the Turkic languages from Old Turkic to the languages and varieties spoken today. Offers information on aspects of the languages of the Turkic language family and a synthesis of the research in the field of Turkic linguistics.
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Online version of the Europa World Year Book and Europa Publications' nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series, which cover political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories and provide information on a variety of international organizations.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFull-text business and general news content covering thousands of sources from more than 200 countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also: company and industry profiles; company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons; stock price data; and stock charting.
NOTE: Text mining of Factiva is strictly prohibited.
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports This link opens in a new window
The United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence, including transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English. Translations of print and broadcast news, Foreign Broadcast Information Service Publications 1996-2004, are available on CD-Rom. Years 1941-1996 are online in Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports.
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index and abstracts for articles on the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada, which are covered in America: History and Life) published since 1955.
- History of Afghanistan Online This link opens in a new windowTexts of historical writings from within Afghanistan for the period, 1747-1919. Text was commissioned as an official national history by the Afghan prince, later amir, Habib Allah Khan (reigned 1901-1919).
- Integrum Profi Central Press This link opens in a new windowINTEGRUM™ Profi is the largest archive of mass-media sources from Russia and countries of the former Soviet Union with analytical tools. The archive contains Moscow and Russian regional newspapers and magazines, on-line, TV and radio sources as well as media sources from the CIS and some other countries with the archive of some of them back to the late 1980s - early 1990s.
TO ACCESS: Click the link, select interface (English interface windows-1251 encoding is selected by default), and click the grey "Enter (no registration)" button. - LandScan Global Archive This link opens in a new windowAllows quick and easy assessment, estimation, and visualization of populations-at-risk. Demographic (age, race, sex) and socioeconomic characteristics are integrated with population data to allow integration with risk and impact assessment models. Critical component of emergency planning and management, rapid risk assessment, evacuation planning, consequence assessment, mitigation planning and implementation.
- Lexikon des Mittelalters & International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages This link opens in a new windowThe Lexikon is the standard encyclopaedia for medieval studies. It deals with all branches of the field and covers the period from AD 300 to 1500 for the whole of Europe and parts of the Middle East and North Africa. The International Encyclopaedia is an English language supplement to the Lexikon.
- Medieval and Early Modern Studies This link opens in a new windowThe sources provided within this collection are concerning the Black Death to the Restoration of the English monarchy and the Glorious Revolution. Highlights include, the papers of Hans Sloane; the books and manuscripts of John Dee, Renaissance scholar and tutor/advisor to Elizabeth I.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new windowPrimary source collections of the 19th century. UCLA access includes: Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, and Conquest; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: The World Through the Lens; Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform; Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925; and Women: Transnational Networks.
- World Communism: Pamphlets From McMaster University (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new windowThis collection contains un-catalogued pamphlets pertaining to communism, socialism, and class struggle. The pamphlets are global in scope, although they are all in English unless otherwise noted. The bulk of the collection originates from China and Soviet Russia during the post-WWII period, although Cuba and Britain are strongly represented as well.
- World War Two Studies This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources, offering insight into many aspects of the World War II conflict, including government policy, the war in the Pacific, and the war in Europe. Sources include the records of the Special Operations Executive; and private papers of American General Robert L Eichelberger, from the Pacific war.
- Muslims in Russia Online This link opens in a new windowThis collection introduces the uniquely varied and poorly explored Russian Muslim population during one of the most dynamic periods of their history (1861-1918). Materials published in Russia both at the center and on the periphery reflect the picturesque palette of life of Muslims in the Russian Empire, as well as the positions of their public and political figures. This collection presents works written by and about Muslims. The value of this heritage is especially clear now that the historical and spiritual past of Muslims in Russia is being actively reconsidered.
- Stalin Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Stalin Digital Archive contains a selection of documents from Fond 558, which covers Stalin's personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs.The SDA is a result of collaboration between the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI) and Yale University Press (YUP) to create an electronic database of finding aids, to digitize documents and images, and to publish in different forms and media materials from the recently declassified Stalin archive in the holdings of RGASPI.
- Slavonic Bibles Online This link opens in a new windowCollection of the earliest part of the Slavonic early printed books of the Moscow University Library, consisting of 40 Slavonic bibles and Cyrillic religious books printed in the 15th and 16th centuries, including editions of the Gospels, New Testaments, Acts and Epistles, and Psalms.
- History of Afghanistan Online This link opens in a new windowTexts of historical writings from within Afghanistan for the period, 1747-1919. Text was commissioned as an official national history by the Afghan prince, later amir, Habib Allah Khan (reigned 1901-1919).
- Alexander III and the policy of "Russification," 1883-1886This collection, as seen through the eyes of the British diplomatic corps in Russia, provides a unique analysis of this retro-reform; policy, including the increase of revolutionary agitation, deepening of conservatism and changes from agrarian to industrial society, and spread of pan-Slavism, both in the Russian Empire and Eastern Europe. The British Foreign Office Records of General Correspondence for Russia, in record class F.O. 65, is the basic collection of documents for studying Anglo-Russian relations during this period of fundamental change.