Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Resources for Eastern Europe, Central Asia and the Caucasus

This guide will introduce you to the databases available at UCLA for digital archives, newspapers, and journals related to Slavic studies.

Welcome to Digital Resources for Eastern Europe, Central Asia and the Caucasus!

Slavic floral tapestry from ArtStor

This guide will introduce you to the databases available at UCLA for digital archives, newspapers, and journals for Eastern Europe, Central Asia and the Caucasus.

Resources with the key symbol are available to UCLA students, staff, and faculty on-campus and remotely, since it is a paid subscription. Non-UCLA patrons are welcome to visit the library to access these resources once the UCLA campus re-opens.   


We at the library understand the difficulty of accessing resources as UCLA transitions completely to online instruction for Spring quarter. During this time, we encourage students, faculty, and staff to utilize and enjoy our growing digital collections for Slavic studies. Use the Newspaper Archives, Journal Archives, and Art & Performance Publications tabs to the left to explore the electronic collections.

Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN & Proxy Tutorials

The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!

If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.

VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
Download a UCLA VPN
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
Download a UCLA VPN
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Download a UCLA VPN
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies
Proxy Server