Librarian/Curator for Slavic, East European and Eurasian Studies.
Box 951575
Los Angeles, CA 90095
Journal Archives
General Publications (UCLA Subscription)
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- Brill's Digital Library of World War I This link opens in a new window
Hundreds of encyclopedia entries and peer-reviewed articles of transnational and global historical perspectives on topics of World War I. This collection includes Brill’s Encyclopedia of the First World War.
- International Medieval Bibliography This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East for the period 300-1500. Comprehensive current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- Krasnyi Arkhiv Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowKrasnyi Arkhiv was published in Moscow from 1922 till June 1941 first by the Central Archives of the USSR and later by the Central Archival Administration. The proclaimed goal of this journal was to reveal the secrets of diplomatic documents hidden in the archives of Tsarist Russia and to regularly publish important archival papers “for the education of the proletariat”.
- Krokodil Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowSearchable and browsable database of digitized issues of Krokodil (1922-2000), Novyĭ krokodil (2001-2004), and Krokodil (2005-2008).
- Ogonek Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowOgonek is one of the oldest weekly magazines in Russia, having been in continuous publication since 1923.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- Russian National Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Universal Database of Russian National Bibliography (UDB-BIB) for Russian printed works by the Russian Book Chamber (Knizhnaia Palata); covers publications from over 20,000 publishers. Includes citations for books, newspaper articles, journal articles, book reviews, maps, dissertation abstracts, sheet music, art works; includes a list of all Russian periodicals and continuing publications; searchable in transliteration (LC) or Cyrillic.
Political and Literary Publications (UCLA Subscription)
- 30 Dnei Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Founded in 1925 in Moscow and in print until its closure in 1941, 30 Dnei was an illustrated Soviet literary journal featuring fiction, essays, and poetry. It was most famous for the serialized publications of such Soviet literary sensations as Il’f and Petrov’s The Twelve Chairs and The Golden Calf.
- Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) This link opens in a new windowMore than 80,000 declassified documents in collections such as Afghanistan, Berlin Crisis, China and the US, Cuban Missile Crisis, El Salvador, Iran-Contra Affair, Intelligence Community, Iran Revolution, Iraqgate, Japan and the US, Military Uses of Space, Nicaragua, Nuclear Non-Proliferation, Philippines, Presidential Directives, obtained through of the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
- Foreign Office Files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan, 1947-1980 This link opens in a new windowFiles from the British Foreign Office (later the Foreign and Commonwealth Office) and Dominions Office focusing on the political and social history of India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan.
- Literaturnaia Gazeta Digital Archive (DA-LG) This link opens in a new windowEstablished in 1929, a landmark publication in Russia's cultural heritage with a focus on literary and intellectual life. This archive covers 1929 - 2011.
- Niva Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowIncludes two journal titles: Niva (1870-1918), and Dlia Detei (01/31/1917-12/31/1917). Niva, an illustrated weekly journal of literature, politics and modern life was a magazine of the late-nineteenth-century Russia published from 1870 to 1918 in St. Petersburg.
- Popular Literature, Fiction and Songs in Imperial Russia Online This link opens in a new windowThe collection illustrates the genres of Russian popular literature and includes chivalric tales, historical fiction and updated fairy tales, as well as stories of adventure, banditry, detectives, success, war and empire, women and gender.
- Russkaia Literatura This link opens in a new windowRusskaia literatura (archives) is a journal of literary criticism, a reliable resource featuring biographical information and criticism of Russian and Soviet authors in various genres. Published since 1958 by the Institute of Russian Literature of the Russian Academy of Science (Pushkinskii Dom), this journal features numerous papers, discussion pieces, articles and essays concerning classical and modern writers and poets of Russia.
- Stalin Digital Archive This link opens in a new windowThe Stalin Digital Archive contains a selection of documents from Fond 558, which covers Stalin's personal biography, his work in government, and his conduct of foreign affairs.The SDA is a result of collaboration between the Russian State Archive of Social and Political History (RGASPI) and Yale University Press (YUP) to create an electronic database of finding aids, to digitize documents and images, and to publish in different forms and media materials from the recently declassified Stalin archive in the holdings of RGASPI.
- Transitions Online Publications This link opens in a new windowOnline news magazine that covers political, social, cultural, and economic issues in the former communist countries of Europe and Central Asia.
- Vestnik Evropy This link opens in a new window
One of the first Russian literary and political journals. Together with literature and arts the journal enlightened its readers on problems of internal and foreign policy of Russia, history and political life of foreign countries.
- Voprosy Istorii Digital Archive (DA-VI) This link opens in a new windowPublished by the Russian Academy of Sciences, Voprosy istorii (Issues of History) has offered scholarly perspectives on events in Russia and the world since 1926. First published under the title Istorik-Marksist (Marxist Historian, 1926-1941), then Istoricheskii zhurnal (History Journal, 1937-1945) and finally under the title Voprosy Istorii since 1945. This archive covers 1924 - present.
Statistical (UCLA Subscription)
- EMIS Emerging Markets Information Service This link opens in a new windowCurrent country, company, industry, economic, and legal information for over 80 emerging markets in Asia, Australia, Central, Eastern, Southeastern Europe, and the Middle East/North Africa. Country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, analysis, reports on financial markets, companies and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; legal information; and business news. Documents from more than 13,000 local and global providers. Dates of coverage vary; updates are daily.
- International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010 This link opens in a new window
Online edition of a three volume set, covering the Americas, Europe, and Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
- Universal Database of Russian/NIS Statistical Publications (UDB-STAT-RUS) This link opens in a new window
Online versions of publications from the major Russian statistics agency Goskomstat Rossii and its regional statistics agencies, Statkomitet SNG, and statistical agencies of the former Soviet Union. Statistical yearbooks, monthly analytical reports, regional statistical information, and annual statistical abstracts.