Digital Resources for Eastern Europe, Russian Federation and Ukraine

The library includes the digitized collection of the Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies (CIUS) publications including audio-visual materials, books, journals, newsletters, and reports.

"This library provides free access to electronic texts of Ukrainian literature to all readers, particularly to students outside Ukraine, where texts are often difficult to obtain. The library is a personal project of Prof. Maxim Tarnawsky at the University of Toronto. The Library contains both Ukrainian and English texts. The Ukrainian side of the library, which contains original works of literature and critical, historical, and other meta-literary texts, has seen much more development than the English side. The English side of the library contains English translations of literary texts."

Offered by the Institute of Encyclopedic Research of the National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine. Leads to other online access to Ukrainian literary works.

Books and other documents from the 9th through 18th centuries. Sources include chronicles and annals, classic literary works and poetry, historical and political works.

Online archive of periodicals published in Ukraine from 1890s-1950s.

Collection of access to 17 now digitized literary art journals published in Kharkiv between the 1910s and 1930s.

"The Local and Independent Ukrainian Newspapers collection traces the history of Ukraine during this early period of independence, and the events leading up to the Orange Revolution (2004–2005). Comprising over 900 titles, this database includes local newspapers from over 340 cities and towns—including publications from each of Ukraine’s 27 regions. This hyperlocal coverage provides researchers with granular insight into regional and ethnic interests, concerns, and conflicts that are still relevant today."

"The Soviet-Era Ukrainian Newspapers (SEUN) collection traces the history of Ukraine during [the] tumultuous era [of the early 20th century]—covering these and events leading up to WWII. Comprising over 50,000 pages and five titles, SEUN includes newspapers from three cities: Kyiv, Kharkiv, and Lviv. This collection includes newspapers in both Ukrainian and Russian."

A news service for librarians in Poland created a list of beautifully illustrated books for kids in Ukrainian. Click on the book's title cover image for access in a PDF/Google Drive reading format.

Online library of Ukrainian-language publications. Researchers can explore works by genre, browse by author, or search by keyword.

An electronic library of Ukrainian diaspora books and periodicals published across the globe.

"Studies on the theory and history of Ukrainian literature, comparative linguistics, foreign and Slavic literatures, textology, literary source studies, literary criticism, which form a new theoretical and literary paradigm of our time." Archives back until 2005.

"The collection of research papers in this journal offers the following scholarly specialization in the respective fields of study: fine arts, decorative arts, restoration, musical art, performing arts, and culturology. The periodical focuses on understanding the fundamental problems of culturology and art history, and the theoretical and synthetic generalization of socially important humanitarian knowledge." Archives back until 2017.

"The scientific journal is devoted to the problems of theory, history, practice and perspectives of design development and visual practices in Ukraine and in the world. The publication is intended for scientists, lecturers, postgraduates, doctoral students who study the problems of theory, history, modern practice and perspectives of design development and visual practices in Ukraine and in the world." Archives back until 2018. Offered in English and Ukrainian.

"The East/West Journal of Ukrainian Studies is a scholarly, peer-reviewed, online periodical, publishing original research articles, reviews and review articles. The focus and themes of the journal include, but are not limited, to the following: Ukraine and its neighbors; Ukrainian humanities and social sciences in a comparative and interdisciplinary perspective; the Early Modern, Modern, and Contemporary periods; cultural geography and geopolitics; empires, regions, borders and borderlands; dominant and subordinate cultures; collective identities, gender, multiculturalism, nationalism; and the sociocultural foundations of modernization."

This scientific journal "Education: Modern Discourses" is a scholarly and peer reviewed journal published in English by the National Academy of Educational Sciences of Ukraine. Archives back until 2018. "Its mission is to promote national experience in reforming and developing education in Ukraine, supporting the integration of the Ukrainian education into the European educational and research space, covering contemporary scientific polemics on the issues of theory and practice of education."

Published from one of the top Ukrainian universities. PDF downloadable versions offered. Archives date back to 2014. Articles in English.

Downloadable and readable through a portal. Archival editions dating back until 2015 are available.

"(KMLPJ) is an international, interdisciplinary, and peer-reviewed online journal. It covers the broad areas of Law, Politics, International Law, and International Relations focusing mainly on Jurisprudence, Constitutional and International Law Issues, Political Theory and Methodology, and European Studies as well as other areas. KMLPJ is published in cooperation with the Ukrainian European Studies Association."

"This is an international academic journal, published by the National University of Kyiv-Mohyla Academy since 2014. This journal is a platform for the publication of research findings that concern linguistic phenomena and processes caused by extralinguistic factors, in particular social changes in Ukraine, other Eastern European countries, and in the adjacent regions.The journal aims to integrate the efforts of scholars in various fields of linguistics...to reveal the past and present state of languages, causes and effects of language changes. A unique feature of the journal is its focus on studies that consider the Ukrainian language from a postcolonial perspective." Archives back until 2017.

"This periodical professional publication is a scientific peer-reviewed open access journal, the activities of which are based on the publication of scientific articles in the field of sociology." Archives back until 2018.

Free PDF versions in Ukrainian of this journal’s 2017 and 2021 series. “The Shevchenko Scientific Society in the U.S. (Наукове Товариство ім. Шевчeнка в Америці) is a Ukrainian-American scholarly institution incorporated in 1948 in the state of New York. It traces its intellectual and scholarly lineage to the Shevchenko Scientific Society established in 1873 in Lviv, Ukraine (then part of Austria-Hungary) which, until its dissolution by the Soviets in 1939, served as the preeminent Ukrainian scholarly society in Ukraine.”

Published by the Research Institute of Ukrainian Studies, "this is an academic journal created for the publication of research devoted to the scantily explored problems of history and theory of Ukrainian studies, culture, education, and science. Ukrainian Studies is aimed at academic and research workers, graduate students and students of higher educational institutions, professional scholars, and anyone interested in Ukrainian studies. The journal is published both in print and online versions. The journal is included in the list of professional academic publications of Ukraine on history and philosophy (category "B")." Archived versions date back to 2015.

"The periodical's aim is to highlight and popularize scientific achievements in the field of Ukrainian philology...Phonetics, Phonology and Ukrainian Language History, Lexicology, Order Formation, Functional Grammar and Stylistics, Text Linguistics, Dialectology, Slavic and Germanic Languages are the scientific areas traditionally presented in the 'Opera in Linguistica Ukrainiana' collection." Archives back to 1994.

7 more links to the open access journals as those listed above. Start at "Выкладання Мов У Вищих Навчальних Закладах Освіти На Сучасному Етапі. Міжпредметні Зв'язки" and finish at "Journal Of Vasyl Stefanyk Precarpathian National University."

The library consists of four major collections: art, cultural institutions, culture, and ethnography. Each collection is further divided into various categories and includes thousands of (digitized) entries.

Offers online reading portal. "The fund of the National Library of Ukraine for children contains many books that have survived in the country in single copies and are kept in the collection of rare and valuable publications. Some of them are real masterpieces of book culture from the second half of the 19th to the first half of the 20th century..."

The library contains the following sections: electronic library, e-catalog of the library, encyclopedia, internet resources, periodicals, projects, and serials. The site also contains documentary films, multimedia, reviews etc.

Supported by the Harvard Ukrainian Research Institute, this is a database of online, open-access primary resources for original research on the history of Ukraine. This project aims to offer to the public freely available resources for researching Ukraine’s past, from the prehistoric era through the twenty-first century. (Advanced) search filters for the 94 items (divided amongst 18 categories) are available.

“The 'Digital History' project aims to popularize for contemporaries and preserve for future generations those publications that are undeservedly forgotten and usually gather dust in library and museum warehouses, in the book collections of public organizations, as well as in private collections.” Stores PDFs to the works. The site also offers links to blogs, an electronic catalog, audio podcasts, sociological research, and the library’s publications and journal.

This digital library has a page offering numerous links to more electronic libraries. Divided into three categories: Fiction, Scientific and Technical Literature, and Universal Libraries.

An electronic library of classics of Ukrainian and world literature.

"If you’re looking for a one-stop-shop for sources from all eras, topics, creators, and regions in Ukrainian history, you probably can’t do better than the Ukrainica digital library. The database brings together all sorts of archival, manuscript, and printed sources pertaining to Ukrainian history, culture, politics, literature, economics, and more from both Ukraine and abroad."

The Digital Library stock consists of four collections (3148 documents total): the history of culture, arts, ethnography, and cultural institutions. Items are readable on an online portal.