Digital Resources for Eastern Europe, Russian Federation and Ukraine

Database access to several sources that document the Ukrainian Liberation Movement. The archive includes collections of documents, memoirs, newsletters, publications, statistics and other sources on Ukrainian independence movement between 1917 and 1991.

The Ukrainian National Women’s League of America (UNWLA) offers open access to this book written by Dr. Victoria A. Malko, Department of History, California State University, Fresno.

This website is produced and maintained by the Center for Demographic and Socioeconomic Research of Ukrainians in the U.S. at the Shevchenko Scientific Society.

The collection includes metric books, parish registers, and religious and military documents from different Ukrainian regions over a period of several centuries.

Recordings of 69 interviews conducted in the 1990s with businessmen, diplomats, dissidents, journalists, politicians, religious figures, and scholars.

"This blog is a place to preserve and promote the rich architectural and cultural heritage of Lviv, , Galicia and the former Austrian Empire...[the] blog is divided into three main categories: physical traces of the past found in the urban landscape, architecture, infrastructure, etc., intangible traces of the past found in the cultural realm, and historical information, finds, and locations concerning Galicia’s different nationalities, famous figures, movements, and institutions."

Historical information about the 3 genocides perpetrated in Ukraine from 1932 to 1945, provided by the Ukrainian American Community Center.

Selection of resources including documents, publications, videos, and special collections to aid the research and study of the Holodomor, the famine in Ukraine from 1932-1933.

Ukrainian Institute of National Memory’s digital collection of the "Rehabilitated by History" book series includes published archival documents, biographies and memoirs pertaining to political persecution in each region of Soviet Ukraine. The site has several other publications and journals.

"This oral history collection presents testimonies of 126 Ukrainian villagers from across central and eastern Ukraine who in 1993-95 spoke about their lives in their communities during the 1920-30s. These interviews are a part of the large-scale research project on the transformation of civil society in the Ukrainian countryside in the 1920-30s that resulted from the Soviet forced collectivization of Ukraine’s agricultural communities. The villagers’ testimonies offer first-hand accounts of village life prior, during, and after collectivization of the Ukrainian farmers."

View under “Academic” tab.

The Ukrainian Institute and Ukraine World present a series of 10 two-minute videos about interesting facts about Ukraine’s history and culture.

"This collection covers Ukraine's nuclear history, from Ukrainian physicists' early involvement in the Soviet nuclear program to the 1986 Chernobyl disaster to the 1994 decision for Ukraine to give up its massive Soviet-era nuclear arsenal."

Collection of archival documents and photos pertaining to the Ukrainian Revolution organized by month from March 1917 until April 1921.

The State Archival Service of Ukraine has compiled a set of documents from across Ukraine's archives spanning from the 12th to the 20th century into one digitized collection.

Provided by the Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies of the University of Alberta, at the Holodomor Research and Education Consortium. The link leads to "a selection of over 30 photographs depicting the conditions in Ukraine during the early 1930’s, with brief commentaries. Many are officially approved government photos that depict Soviet policies of indoctrination, eviction and removal of stored food, along with positive imagery from collective farming life for propaganda purposes."

"Papers of a Ukranian diplomat held at Harvard University. The bulk of the collection is comprised of correspondence to Tokarzewski-Karaszewicz from leaders of the Ukrainian government-in-exile and other Ukrainian political figures. The correspondence also consists of letters from prominent civic leaders, artists, journalists, scholars, writers, and religious figures. Digital material is linked from the finding aid."

This program, part of the Ukrainian Research Institute at Harvard University, aims to advance Ukrainian studies using GIS. A Contemporary and Historical atlas with item descriptions, subtopics, and tutorials are offered.

"In this photo timeline, which consists of more than 35 photos and 12 painful events, we’ll guide you through the county’s tragic history."

"This is an open collection being gathered since the 2022 Russian invasion of Ukraine, mostly from descendants of the original community, in support of the people of Ukraine in their struggle to maintain their sovereignty and freedom...This collection consists of 52 images of family and group photos, portraits, documentation about the lives of the Ukrainian Americans living in Hudson, NY. The collection is almost entirely digital and images were donated."

A digital project pertaining to the urban history of Ukraine which includes images, videos, maps, oral histories and other archival materials.

7 page overall demographic overview of Ukrainian refugees to inform resettlement processes.

The Canadian Institute of Ukrainian Studies at the University of Alberta has launched this rapid response video series that addresses "common queries directly and concisely."

Helpful list for those researching how U.S. gov/institutions are aiding Ukrainians.

Provided by the University College London.

Independent organization providing support for Ukrainians. Yearly Reports available on site

LibGuide by Princeton about Russia's invasion of Ukraine. Has historical overview, open access resources, and more.

Independent organization providing support for Ukrainians. Yearly Reports available on site

Extremely resourceful page covering the war, including a page explaining “Why Does This Matter to the World?”. It also has an archive of wartime photos from Ukraine since February 2022, a selection of photos available for free, non-commercial use under the “Collection of War Photos” gallery, a page on Russia’s war crimes, and more.

Data is updated weekly on Wednesday by 12:00 CET. Statistics are compiled mainly from data provided by authorities.

PDF to the U.N. International Organization for Migration's 2 Years of Response Report.

Partner site to Russian Invaded Ukraine. This was the site prior to the start of the war. Contains introductory information about Ukrainian activities, cities,, culture, places etc under ‘Explore’ tab. Also has tab about where to study in Ukraine (i.e. its universities), and how/why to invest in and trade with Ukraine.

A Database of Military, Financial and Humanitarian Aid to Ukraine

"The Ukraine Support Tracker lists and quantifies military, financial and humanitarian support by governments to Ukraine since February 2022. It covers 41 countries, specifically the EU member states, other members of the G7, as well as Australia, South Korea, Turkey, Norway, New Zealand, Switzerland, China, Taiwan, India, and Iceland. The database is intended to support a facts-based discussion about support to Ukraine."

Archive-IT – Collection of resources on Ukraine since February 2014. “This collection seeks to document conflict in Ukraine. Contributions to this collection were made by the Archive-It team and subject matter experts from Stanford University, Library of Congress, Global Investigative News Network, and Harvard Ukrainian Research Institute in the fields of Investigative Journalism, Russian, and Eurasian studies. Content includes news outlets, social media, blogs, and government websites. Sites are in English, Ukrainian, Russian, and other languages.”

"The Ukrainian Welcome Centre is your single point of contact for all essential information for arrival, settling and long-term living in the UK."

Independent organization providing support for Ukrainians. Yearly Reports available on site.

Also has archives of media posts dating back to November 2018.

“For the first year of Russia’s war on Ukraine, The Associated Press and FRONTLINE gathered, verified and documented evidence of potential war crimes during the conflict. The events detailed here include direct attacks on civilians and civilian infrastructure, including hospitals, schools, residential areas and sites protected under international humanitarian law. From February 2022 to February 2023, AP and FRONTLINE verified 653 events involving potential war crimes.”

By the Center for Preventive Action.

"As the conflict in Ukraine continues to unfold, it becomes clear that it will have profound consequences for the stability of Europe, the future of NATO, perceptions of American power around the world, the health and success of democracy around the world, and how the United States navigates burgeoning strategic competition with Russia and China. With this series, the Wilson Center will identify the key forces at play, assess their implications for critical American interests, and explore the viewpoints of all the major players in Europe’s first 21st century strategic crisis."

A list of links to webinars and talks about the current war.