Research Guides: Digital Resources for Eastern Europe, Russian Federation and Ukraine : Newspaper Archives

Newspaper Archives

News (UCLA Subscription)

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
Afghan Serials Collection. Partisan Publications from The Wahdat Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This collection is a major contribution to the preservation of the history of the region and is comprised of the careful selection of more than 2,500 individual issues of 46 newspapers and journals published in Persian, Pushto, Arabic, Urdu, and English.
Argumenty i Fakty Digital Archive (DA-AIF) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides all obtainable published issues of Argumenty i fakty (Аргументы и факты, Arguments and Facts), a weekly newspaper based in Moscow. Coverage begins in 1983 and an additional year’s worth of content is added on an annual basis.
Donetsk and Luhansk Newspaper Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Donetsk and Luhansk Newspaper Collection incorporates 10 rare newspapers from the self-proclaimed Donetsk and Luhansk (Lugansk, in local spelling) republics of Ukraine. Coverage includes the period of military hostilities between the unrecognized states and the government of Ukraine (2013-2015).
Integrum Profi Central Press This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
INTEGRUM™ Profi is the largest archive of mass-media sources from Russia and countries of the former Soviet Union with analytical tools. The archive contains Moscow and Russian regional newspapers and magazines, on-line, TV and radio sources as well as media sources from the CIS and some other countries with the archive of some of them back to the late 1980s - early 1990s.
TO ACCESS: Click the link, select interface (English interface windows-1251 encoding is selected by default), and click the grey "Enter (no registration)" button.
Integrum Profi User Manual
Izvestiia Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Izvestiia was founded in March 1917 and during the Soviet period was the official organ of the Presidium of the Supreme Soviet of the USSR.
Moscow News Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Moscow News Digital Archive contains all obtainable published issues (1930-2014, approx. 60,000 pages), including issues of the newspaper's short-lived sister publication: Moscow Daily News (1932-1938).
Novoe Russkoe Slovo Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Novoe russkoe slovo (New Russian Word) was first New York. Published initially as Russkoe slovo with pro-Communist leanings, the newspaper underwent changes a decade later, in 1920. First it changed the name by adding Novoe (or New) to Russkoe slovo and secondly and perhaps most importantly it shed its pro-Communist sympathies establishing itself as the newspaper of the Russian émigré community in New York and beyond.
Ogonek Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ogonek is one of the oldest weekly magazines in Russia, having been in continuous publication since 1923.
Pravda Ukrainy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Pravda Ukrainy (originally Sovetskaia Ukraina) was a Russian-language Soviet Ukrainian daily and a newspaper of record, serving as the official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Ukraine and Supreme Soviet of the Ukrainian SSR. Covers 1938-2014.
Russian National Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Universal Database of Russian National Bibliography (UDB-BIB) for Russian printed works by the Russian Book Chamber (Knizhnaia Palata); covers publications from over 20,000 publishers. Includes citations for books, newspaper articles, journal articles, book reviews, maps, dissertation abstracts, sheet music, art works; includes a list of all Russian periodicals and continuing publications; searchable in transliteration (LC) or Cyrillic.
Russian national bibliography; RNB; letopis; UDB-BIB; East View
Service Newspapers of World War Two This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains an extensive range of both rare and well-known wartime publications for soldiers serving in major theatres around the world. Publications are included from many key nations involved in the conflict, such as the US, Canada, New Zealand, India, and the countries of Europe, Africa and the Middle East.
Sovetskaia Kul'tura Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This resource provides access to Kulʹtura (Culture), a Russian weekly newspaper previously published under the titles: Rabochiĭ i iskusstvo (1929-1930), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1931-1941), Literatura i iskusstvo (1942-1944), Sovetskoe iskusstvo (1944-1952) and Sovetskai︠a︡ kulʹtura (1953-1991). Throughout the years the newspaper articles reviewed major events in Russian cultural life, in literature, theater, cinematography and arts.
Sovetskaia Ukraina Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
In Kyiv, Sovetskaia Ukraina (later Pravda Ukrainy) was a Russian-language Soviet Ukrainian daily and a newspaper of record, serving as the official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of Ukraine and Supreme Soviet of the Ukrainian SSR. The newspaper was the Ukrainian Communist Party’s leading print media agent in the dissemination of the party’s opinions about politics, culture, economics and other issues.
Universal Database of Baltics, Belarus, Moldova, and Ukraine Newspapers (UDB-EUR) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Important periodicals published in European nations which used to be part of the Soviet Union. The sources are in mostly in Russian.
Universal Database of Central Asia and Caucasus (UDB-CAC) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals and newspapers from former Soviet republics. The database consists of titles from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Georgia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tadjikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.
World News Connection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Translated and English language news compiled from foreign media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events from 1995 through 31 December 2013. Includes FBIS Reports from 2002-2005.