Overview
The CSRC collects materials related to the Chicana/o and U.S. Latino experience across California, the Southwest, and the United States. Our mission is to preserve and provide access to these materials for research and teaching, not only to UCLA and UC-affiliated users but to everyone and anyone wanting to learn more about the U.S. Latino population.
Art and Art History
One of the major (and many) collecting areas for the CSRC is art and artists' archives. For more collections related to these subjects, here at UCLA or other California institutions, search the Online Archive of California.
- Adobe LA Archive
- Alexis Donis Papers
- Andy Zermeno Papers (C.0038)
- Artes de Mexico Festival Committee Records
- Chicano Arts Resistance and Affirmation (CARA) Papers I (C.0010) and II (C.0011)
- Cory Roberts-Auli Papers (C.0078)
- Cyclona Collection, 1962-2002This collection of papers, photos, LP records and three dimensional items represents the personal collection of the performance artist Robert Legorreta also known as Cyclona. Items of special interest include his scrapbook and LP record and artifact collection depicting representations of Latinos.
- Eriberto and Angelica Oriol Papers (C.2008.007)
- Ester Hernandez Papers
- George and Maria Yepes Papers (C.2013.001.1)
- Gronk papers, 1969-2007This collection includes thousands of original drawings and watercolors (both loose and in sketchbooks), materials related to Gronk's production designs for theater, correspondence, mail art, press clippings, realia, and artwork collected by the artist. The collection spans the entirety of Gronk's career, from approximately 1969 to 2007.
- Guadalupe Rosales Collection, 1990-1998Collection of 90s party crew ephemera: photographs, flyers, clippings, caps, sweatshirts, t-shirts, jewelry and magazines.
- Judithe Hernandez**
- Latino Art Survey Project and Artist Oral Histories
- Laura Aguilar Collection, 1988-2003Laura Aguilar was born in 1959 in San Gabriel, California. Aguilar attended the photography program at East Los Angeles Community College and continued her studies with The Friends of Photography Workshop and Santa Fe Photographic Workshop. She has exhibited her work all over the United States and at the Venice Biennial, Italy. This collection consists mainly of printed material, photos and photocopied journal articles pertaining to Aguilar’s works. Included are images of her work with Latinas in Los Angeles and Mexico.
- Linda Vallejo Portfolio (C.0079)
- Lino Martinez Print Collection
- Los Angeles Art Scene Ephemera Collection (C.2019.003)
- Mark Santarelli and Linda Arreola Collection of Magú Materials (C.2016.014)
- Mexican Museum of San Francisco Papers
- Nancy Tovar Murals of East Los Angeles Slide Collection (C.0111)
- Pacific Standard Time Working Papers
- Peter Rodriguez Papers (C.0036)
- Plaza de la Raza Archive
- Raphael Montañez Ortiz Papers (C.0200)
- Robert Chavez Artwork Collection
- Roberto Gutierrez Papers
- Self Help Graphics and Arts Collection, 1973-2007Self Help Graphics and Art was founded in 1970 in Boyle Heights by Sister Karen Boccalero, Carlos Bueno, Antonio Ibañez and Frank Hernandez with a vision to begin an artistic revolution. Today, it is the leading non-profit visual arts center serving the predominantly Latino community of Los Angeles. Its mission is to drive the creation of new work by Chicano and Latino artists through fine art printmaking and multiple art forms. This collection includes a set of atelier prints, administrative papers, exhibition materials, photographs, slides, audio visual materials, and ephemera. It spans the time period between 1973 and 2007 with the bulk of the materials ranging from 1982 to 2007.
- A Ver Working FIles
- Vista en L.A. Archive (C.0118)
Education
- Desegregation Research Collection (C.0056)
- Inter-University Program for Latino Research (IUPLR) Records
- Mujeres Activas En Letras Y Cambio Social (MALCS) Papers I and II
- Nate Capaldi Poster Collection
- Reynaldo Macias Oral History Collection
- Richard Griswold del Castillo Papers (C.0066)
- Sal Castro Papers
- Society for Advancement of Chicanos And Native Americans In Science (SACNAS) Records I (C.0129) and II (C.2011.007)
- UCLA Hunger Strike for Chicano Studies Papers (C.0001)
Law, Social Justice and Immigration
- American GI Forum of California Records
- Armando Duron Papers
- Border Patrol Research Papers (C.0112)
- The City Project Records
- Coalition for Human Immigrant Rights Los Angeles (CHIRLA) Records
- Farmersville Film Project Collection (C.0137)
- Latina Lawyers Bar Association (LLBA) Records
- Mexican American Bar Association (MABA) Records
- Pedro J. Gonzalez Papers
- Susan Alva Papers
- UCLA Government and Community Relations Records on Latinos (C.2016.043)
LGBTQ+ and Gender Studies
LGBTQ+ (Jotería)-Related Collections at the CSRC
- Elena Popp Papers
- Fire and Life: Legorreta (Robert) - Cyclona Collection
- Gil Cuadros Papers
- Gronk Papers
- Laura Aguilar Papers
- Lionel Biron's Collection of Mail Art
- Maricon Collective Archives
- Myriam Gurba Papers
- Nikki Darling Papers
- ONE Archive Records
- Tatiana de la Tierra Papers
- Yolanda Retter Vargas Papers
LGBTQ+/Jotería Books of Interest
Asco - Elite of the Obscure by ISBN: 9783775730037Date: 2011-11-30
Axis Mundo by ISBN: 9783791356693Date: 2018-01-30
Laura Aguilar by ISBN: 9780895511683Date: 2017-08-01
Political Science
- Edward R. Roybal Papers
- Esteban Torres Papers
- Julian Nava Papers
- Lupe Anguiano Papers
- Mimi Lozano-Holtzman Papers (C.2016.022)
- Nell and Phil Soto Papers
- Romana Bañuelos Papers
Sociology and Health Science
- California Identity Project Records
- Carlos Velez-Ibañez Sterilization Research Collection (C.0020)
- Centro de Acción Social Autonoma y Hermandad General de Trabajadores (CASA-HGT) Papers
- Diversity Recruitment Records I and II
- Latino Eligibility Survey Papers I and II
- Latinos in a Changing U.S. Economy Data Files
- Latinos in Higher Education Archives
- Mexican American Survey Project Records (C.0140)
- National Chicano Survey Records
- Virginia Espino and Renee Tajima-Peña Sterilization Research Records
Theater, Film and Television
- Altura Film Records
- Barrios (Gregg) Papers (C.2019.009)
- Bustillos-Cogswell (Barbara) Personal Papers and Film Collection
- Chicano Film Collection
- El Otro Mexico Film Collection (C.0094)
- Farmersville Film Project Collection (C.0137)
- James Tartan Film Collection
- Jesus Trevino Papers
- Kaplan (Betty) Papers (C.2016.035)
- Latino Theater Initiative - Center Theater Group (LTI-CTG) Papers (C.0041)
- Latino Theater Initiative Papers (C.0117)
- Luis M. Meza Papers (C.0040)
- National Association of Latino Independent Producers (NALIP) Records (C.2017.010)
- National Hispanic Media Coalition (NHMC) Papers (C.2011.005)
- Noriega (Chon) Papers (C.0077)
- Parlee (Lorena) Papers (C.0069) (C.0085)
- Resurrection Blvd. Production Papers (C.0057)
- Rick Tejada Flores Papers
- Rodriguez (Diane) Papers (C.2019.018)
- Teatros Nacionales de Aztlan (TENAZ) Records (C.0015)
- Ulloa (Elsa) Papers (C.0123)
Women Collections/Mujeres Initiative
- Alice Bag**
- Amalia Mesa-Bains**
- Anita Miranda Los Angeles Art Scene Ephemera Collection
- Carmen Lomas Garza**
- Charlotte Lerchenmuller** (on Sal Castro)
- Devra Weber Papers
- Diana Rodriguez Papers*
- Elaine K. Miller Oral History Collection
- Elena Popp Papers
- Ely Guerra**
- Ester Hernandez Papers
- Grace Montañez Davis Papers*
- Ines Casillas**
- Joan Moore Papers*
- Judithe Hernandez**
- Judy Baca**
- Karen Mary Davalos**
- Laura Aguilar Papers*
- Lorena Parlee Film Collection and Papers*
- Lorena Parlee Papers
- Lupe Anguiano Papers*
- Lysa Flores**
- Maya Valverde**
- Nancy Tovar Murals of East LA Slide Collection*
- Nikki Darling Papers*
- Norma Cantu Papers
- Norma Corral Papers
- Patricia Correia Gallery Collection
- Patssi Valdez**
- Paula Cruz-Takash Papers
- Sandra Robbie**
- Self-Help Graphics (Sister Karen Bocalerro)*
- Susan Alva Papers
- Tatiana de la Tierra Papers
- Teresa Covarrubias**
- Yolanda Lopez**
- Yolanda Retter-Vargas**
Collections About Women
- Comision Femenil de Los Angeles Papers (I, II, and III)
- Carlos Velez-Ibañez Sterilization papers
- Virginia Espino and Rene Tajima-Pena Collection of Sterilization Records*
- Alicia Gaspar de Alba Collection of Maquiladora Murders Research Materials
- Chicano Studies Research Center Women's Unit Papers*
Collections with digital materials are noted with an asterisk. For access to those materials, please email librarian@chicano.ucla.edu.
* Collections with digital materials
** Digital collections (only digital materials)