Ebook Databases
These are the best Ebook databases for Chicana/o-related publications available in electronic formats. Be aware that some Ebooks do not come up in the UCLA, UC Library Search or Worldcat catalogs. This is usually due to an error or missing update in the library record. So always double-check to see if a book is available in one of these databases below. The CSRC Library staff can help you navigate them if you run into any issues!
- Books in Print Global Edition This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic information for in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books from more than 44,000 North American publishers. Includes entries for fiction and non-fiction books on all topics.
- E-books on EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UCLA subscribes to about 1200 e-books on this site, mostly in the social sciences, humanities, and business. Full downloading requires creation of an EBSCOhost account.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities.
- MIT Press Direct E-books, 1943-2021 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Thousands of e-books from MIT Press, including works in arts, architecture, humanities, social sciences, and sciences disciplines. - ProQuest E-book Central This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UCLA selectively licenses individual e-book titles from E-book Central. Titles are searchable from the ProQuest platform and in the UCLA Library Catalog. Formerly called ebrary. - SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Immense array of books, chapters, conference proceedings and journal articles in the social sciences and sciences, published by Springer-Verlag. After searching, unclick Preview Only Content, whose materials are not under UCLA subscription. Advanced search enabled at wheel icon to right of search.
- Taylor & Francis E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books from Routledge, Psychology Press, and Focal Press, mostly in the humanities, social sciences, and behavioral sciences. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of the available titles. Also includes the scientific, technical, and medical reference books formerly contained in CRCnetBASE. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of titles beyond the former CRC collection. - UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online access to over 2000 University of California Press books covering a range of topics. More recent online publications from UC Press can be searched for in the UCLA Library Catalog. On the Advanced Search screen, search for University of California Press in Publication Information and limit to online. Formerly eScholarship Editions.
