Chicano Movement and Civil Rights
Blowout! by ISBN: 9780807834480Date: 2011-03-21
Chicano! by ISBN: 1558852018Date: 1997-01-01
The Chicano Generation by ISBN: 0520286022Date: 2015-05-12
La Raza by ISBN: 9780895511652Date: 2017-08-01
Related collections at the CSRC:
- Ben Juarez Papers
- Devra Weber Papers
- Joe Razo Papers
- La Raza Newspaper and Magazine Publication Records
- La Raza Photograph Collection
- Rosalio Muñoz Papers
- Sal Castro Papers - Coming soon...
- Mario T. Garcia Chicano Generation Oral History Collection
Chicano Punk and Youth Culture
Related Collections at the CSRC
Below are a select few collections that document the Chicano Punk Scene and Los Angeles Latino Youth Culture from early 1940s (zoot suit era) to the present.
- Alice Bag Papers
- Chicano Punk Collection
- Teresa Covarrubias Papers
- Colin Gunckel Papers
- Lysa Flores Papers
- Guadalupe Rosales Collection, 1990-1998Collection of 90s party crew ephemera: photographs, flyers, clippings, caps, sweatshirts, t-shirts, jewelry, and magazines.
- Vexing Papers
Vincent Price Art Museum Exhibition (in collaboration with the CSRC), "Vexing: Female Voices of East L.A. Punk" Opening
Related Past Events, Programs, and Exhibitions in Los Angeles and California
Pacific Standard Time is an unprecedented collaboration of arts institutions across Southern California, each presenting thematically linked exhibitions and programs designed to celebrate the region's vibrant cultural history. Pacific Standard Time: LA/LA (a.k.a. LA/LA: A CELEBRATION BEYOND BORDERS) was a far-reaching and ambitious exploration of Latin American and Latino art in dialogue with Los Angeles. Led by the Getty, Pacific Standard Time: LA/LA was a collaborative effort from arts institutions across Southern California. Includes 80+ participating institutions. It ran from SEPTEMBER 2017-JANUARY 2018.
Tastemakers & Earthshakers: Notes from Los Angeles Youth Culture, 1943 – 2016 was a multimedia exhibition that traverses eight decades of style, art, and music, and presents vignettes that consider youth culture as a social class, distinct issues associated with young people, principles of social organization, and the emergence of subcultural groups. Citing the 1943 Zoot Suit Riots as a seminal moment in the history of Los Angeles youth culture, the exhibition emphasizes a recirculation of shared experiences across time, reflecting recurrent and ongoing struggles and triumphs. OCTOBER 15, 2016 - FEBRUARY 25, 2017.
Los Angeles and California Chicana/o Murals
Did You Know?
The UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center (CSRC) used to be located on the third floor of UCLA's Campbell Hall, where the mural Chicano History was created in 1970. It was painted by four muralists: Eduardo Carrillo, Sergio Hernandez, Saul Solache, and Ramses Noriega. The mural was taken down in 1990 when the CSRC moved to the basement of Haines Hall. The sheer size of it makes it difficult to display in the current CSRC space. However, the mural will be loaned to the Crocker Museum in 2018 for their Eduardo Carrillo show. Contact the center for more information.
One of the richest contributions the Chicano community has given to Los Angeles are the Chicano murals. Without them, Los Angeles would not be Los Angeles. They are spread all across the city. Many are gone, but some still stand even though faded. There are also non-profits that support restoration—SPARC, The Los Angeles Mural Conservancy—and preserve their history. Below are some great links and resources to learn more!
Chicano History, 1970. Copyright Eduardo Carrillo, Sergio Hernandez, Sal Soulache, and Ramses Noriega.
Related resources available online:
- La Raza Photograph Collection (COMING SOON)
- Mural Locator: Los Angeles