Research Guides: Chicano Studies Research Center Library: Online Resources

Chicano/Latino-related Online Resources

Chicana Por Mi Raza
The Chicana por mi Raza Digital Memory Project and Archive was created under the supervision of professor María Cotera and Linda Garcia Merchant in collaboration with The Institute for Computing in Humanities Arts and Sciences at the University of Illinois Urbana Champaign. This project was made possible through the generous financial support of the University of Michigan and the many women who shared their time, their memories, and their artifacts.
East of East - South El Monte Arts Posse (SEMAP)
"South El Monte Arts Posse (SEMAP) is a collective of artists, writers, urban planners, educators, scholars, farmers, ecologists, swap meet vendors, and youth dedicated to engaging with the South El Monte and El Monte community through the arts by rethinking our use of space and transforming how we inhabit it."
Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press (University of Arizona)
The Historic Mexican and Mexican American Press collection documents and showcases historic Mexican and Mexican American publications published in Tucson, El Paso, Los Angeles, San Francisco, and Sonora, Mexico from the mid-1800s to the 1970s.
Iowa Women's Archive - Migration is Beautiful
Migration is Beautiful highlights the contributions Latinas and Latinos have made to Iowa history. Migration is central to understanding and interpreting the past, shaped first by Native Americans, and later by immigrants from around the world.
Latin American Network Information Center
Through partnerships with organizations in Latin America and globally, LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to online information on, from, or about Latin America. To this end, LANIC hosts an extensive set of digital collections covering many different topics and content areas. We invite you to learn more about these rich collections or browse and search their contents by following the links below.
Mapping Indigenous LA (UCLA)
Uncovering multiple layers of indigenous Los Angeles through digital storytelling & oral history with community leaders, youth, and elders from indigenous communities throughout the city.
Strachwitz-Frontera Collection of Mexican and Mexican American Recordings
Over 140,000 songs celebrating North America's Spanish-language musical heritage.
Women Who Rock: Making Scenes, Building Communities
The Women Who Rock Digital Oral History Archive fosters the development of participant-driven scholarship, on-line exhibits, curriculum, and media production. This collection will expand as we continue to conduct more oral histories, generate more programming, and create new media and scholarship in coming years.
more...less...
Women Who Rock brings together scholars, musicians, media-makers, performers, artists, and activists to explore the role of women and popular music in the creation of cultural scenes and social justice movements in the Americas and beyond. This multifaceted endeavor reshapes conventional understandings of music and cultural production by initiating collective methods of research, teaching, and community and scholarly collaboration. We encompass several interwoven components: an annual participant-driven, community engagement conference and film festival; project-based coursework at the graduate and undergraduate levels; and an oral history archive that ties the various components together.

General Online Resources

You actually can find a lot of primary sources online through digital libraries. The websites below are a good place to start when looking for research about California and the U.S. in general. Sources include, but aren't limited to: photographs, audio recordings, films, books, and certain documents (like correspondence, reports, meeting minutes, etc.).

California Digital Newspaper Collection - A freely accessible repository of digitized California newspapers from 1846 to the present. This collection contains 184,777 issues comprising 1,956,297 pages and 16,861,779.
Calisphere: California Digital Library - Calisphere is a gateway to digital collections from California's great libraries, archives, and museums. Discover over 400,000 images, texts, and recordings--and counting.
HathiTrust Digital Library - HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Internet Archive: Digital Library - Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
Online Archive of California (OAC) is a research gateway to unique and historical materials at archives, libraries and museums throughout California.
UCLA Library Digital Collections - UCLA Library provides a web presence for digitall content accepted into, or developed by the Library.
WorldCat - is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providingaccess to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.