Core Journals of Asia Studies
Up to 107 journals on Asian Studies are shelved and updated in the A1 floor of YRL. Journals cover East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, and some on Central Asia. Topics include literature, language, arts, pedagogy, religion, political science, economics, geography, archeology, etc.
Here is a complete list of journal titles.
General Online Article Databases (English)
- Asia-Studies Full-text Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text research and reports on business, government, economic, and social issues from 55 countries. Subject coverage includes finance, trade, environment, government, fisheries, tourism, education, and women's studies. Most contain statistical tables, charts, and/or graphs. Also includes Asia-Studies Humanities, focusing on arts, culture, history, language, literature, philosophy, and religion. - Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia and Asian Studies (East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Indian Ocean) published since 1971.
- Journals of Himalayan StudiesA list of core journals on Himalyan Studies by Digital Himalaya.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
STOR provides archival journals, current journals and primary sources in the field of Humanities in Asia from the earliest issues. Access provided by UCLA (free access on campus of with VPN off campus). - Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published in over 7,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, covering the period 1665-1995. Full text of many articles can be found in Periodicals Archive Online. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. - Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis offers full-text articles from up to 300 core Asian journals. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley is mainly the broadest and deepest multidisciplinary collection of online resources coving social science, humanities, etc. Free access to unlocked articles.
Article Databases (Chinese)
Here are some widely used database in the Chinese language. To see a complete list of databases with free UCLA access, visit the East Asian Library website.
- China Academic Journals 中國學術期刊China Academic Journals and Century Journal Project of CNKI provides full text and full images of Chinese-language journals.
- Du Xiu 读秀学术搜索**Index only
A powerful database for searching Chinese publications published in mainland China. - HKInChiP 香港中文期刊論文索引*Index for articles in more than 150 periodicals published in Hong Kong since 1990, with some titles as early as the 1950s, in current events, economics, politics, and the social sciences.
* An index database - TEPS: Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services 臺灣電子期刊服務網*TEPS, provided via NetLibrary of OCLC, is the largest online database for periodical articles published in Taiwan. The database has access to over 450 Taiwanese periodicals in multiple disciplines, and it keeps growing and expanding.
* An index database, not a fulltext database - Wanfang Data 万方数据An affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science and Technology and the leading information provider in China since the 1950s.
Article Databases (Japanese)
To see a complete list of database with free UCLA access, visit the East Asian Library website.
- Bibliographic Information Database of Okinawa MaterialsAn online database storing bibliographic information of articles and books related to Okinawa/Ryukyu which have not been recorded on existing databases
- CiNii: Institutional Package This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A database that enables searching of information on academic articles published in Japanese academic society journals or university research bulletins, or articles included in the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database. Full-text access is available for many articles.
- JAIROJAIRO is a succeeding service which provides texts of academic information accumulated in Japanese institutions.
- MagazinPlusIndexes to journal articles from Japan published since 1948, articles in popular Japanese magazines since 1980, and essays in festschriften, conference papers, books, annuals, and research reports between 1945 and 2003.
- 雑誌記事索引集成データベース: 明治から現在まで 全国誌から地方誌まで (The complete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present
*Index only
Article Databases (Korean)
To see a complete list of database with free UCLA access, visit the East Asian Library website.
- DBPIA This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full-text database of Korean scholarly journal articles published by major Korean research institutions.
- Korean History & Culture Research Database (한국역사문화 조사자료 데이터베이스)Full-text of excavation reports, research reports about geography, history, ethnic customs and architecture.
- Korean Studies Information Service System (KISS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary full-text database of scholarly journal articles published from approximately 1300 research institutions.
- KPjournal 북한학 전자도서관Full-text of 18 North Korean science and technology journal articles.