Asian Studies

A dictionary-database of research in East Asian pre-modern texts, from Zhou dynasty materials to nineteenth-century writings in China, Korea and Japan, including information on Chinese terminology derived from Confucianism, Daoism, secular literature, poetry, and historical works.

This is an online version of the Xinhua Dictionary, a major reference of Mandarin Chinese. Users are able to search through Pinyin (the phonetic romanization) or the capitals for the character. Note that at the bottom of the pages, more online tools are available, such as antonym, synonym, idiom, Chinese-Pinyin converter, and Simplified Chinese-Traditional Chinese converter.

This website allows users to look for words, kanji and sentences in Japanese and English.

This website offers dictionary of Japanese to Chinese, English. You can also look for synonym and sample sentences.

This dictionary lets you search for names of people, places, products and companies from the dictionary file. Input is auto detected, but when inputting romanized complete names (family + given name) the entry should have space between the family and given name.

Naver offers dictionary of Korean to Chinese, Japanese, Vietnamese, English, etc.

Oxford Bibliographies in Chinese Studies is a multi-disciplinary project that provides an authoritative guide to the key works on China, pointing researchers and practitioners to the most important scholarship in European languages as well as in Chinese (and Japanese), and giving scholars working in other fields easier access to scholarship on China

This authoritative dictionary compiled by the National Institute of the Korean Language not only offers a Korean-Korean dictionary, but also abundant entries of idioms, proverbs, dialects, North Koreans, and indigenous Korean language.

An encyclopedia with comprehensive entries of Korean culture, including famous figures, historical events, cultural traditions, etc.

Here you can find romanization table for Lao, Manchu, Arabic and other Asian languages.

This site allows you to convert Chinese dates (name of dynasty, name of emperor and reign title needed) to Western dates.