Atlases, Books, E-books
The Ethnic Quilt: Population Diversity in Southern California by Call Number: YRL Reference Core Collection: F867 .A45 1997ISBN: 096569660xDate: 1997Center for Geographical Studies, California State University, Northridge presents major shifts in ethnic population in Southern California between 1940-1990.
Changing Faces, Changing Places: Mapping Southern Californians by Call Number: YRL Reference Core Collection: F867 .A445 2002ISBN: 0965696626Date: 2002Color maps, analyses, and interpretation of ethnic distributions in Southern California in 2000 and for changes from 1990 to 2000. Based on Census 2000 and other sources.
The Black Metropolis in the Twenty-First Century by Call Number: HT221 .B53 2007ISBN: 9780742543294Date: 2007This book brings together key essays that seek to make visible and expand our understanding of the role of government (policies, programs, and investments) in shaping cities and metropolitan regions.
American Diversity a demographic challenge for the twenty-first century. by Call Number: E184.A1 A6325 2002ISBN: 0791453979Date: 2002Demographers explore population diversity in the United States.
Problem of the Century by Call Number: E184.A1 P74 2001ISBN: 0871540541Date: 2001In 1899 the great African American scholar, W.E.B. DuBois, published The Philadelphia Negro, the first systematic case study of an African American community and one of the foundations of American sociology. DuBois prophesied that the color line would be the problem of the twentieth century.
Categorically Unequal by Call Number: HN90.S6 M36 2007ISBN: 0871545845Date: 2008The United States holds the dubious distinction of having the most unequal income distribution of any advanced industrialized nation.
- Mortality, Inequality and Race in American Cities and States by Angus Deaton and Darren LubotskyNBER Working Paper No. 8370
Issued in July 2001 - Race, Ethnicity and Discriminatory Zoning by Allison Shertzer, Tate Twinam and Randall P. WalshNBER Working Paper No. 20108
Issued in May 2014 - Racial Residential Segregation in American Cities by Leah Platt BoustanNBER Working Paper No. 19045
Issued in May 2013 - America at Century's End by Alan Wolfe (Editor)UC Press e-books collection online monographs
Black and Brown in Los Angeles by ISBN: 9780520956872Date: 2014Black and Brown in Los Angeles is a timely and wide-ranging, interdisciplinary foray into the complicated world of multiethnic Los Angeles.
Diversity Explosion by ISBN: 0815732856Date: 2018At its optimistic best, America has embraced its identity as the world's melting pot. Today it is on the cusp of becoming a country with no racial majority, and new minorities are poised to exert a profound impact on U.S. society, economy, and politics.
- The Houghton Mifflin Ethnic Map of the United StatesG3701 E27 NS HMC 1972
- Los Angeles County: The Census StoryCall Number: G4363 LA County N5 LAT 1991 c.2
- American Indians and Alaska Natives in the United StatesCall Number: G3701 E1 2000 U56
Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- African American communitiesContains pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, photographs, and in-depth oral histories focusing on African American culture, social conditions, and identity in Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina.
- Chicana leadership [electronic resource] : the Frontiers reader / edited by Yolanda Flores NiemaAlexander Street Press. Latino literature online monographs.
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowOnline data and mapping application with access to more than 10,000 indicators for U.S. demographics, housing and real estate, income, mortgages, health, and more. Create custom maps, tables, and reports and upload your own data without expensive software and training. Online access restricted to UCLA.
- ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States, from 2013 to the present. Volumes covering 1879-2012 are on the US Census site.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new windowA web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Premium business directory providing access to over 20 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands and 450 categories as well as crosstab functionality with the Simmons NCS data. Premium market segment data is available from the PRIZM, ConneXions, and P$YCLE datasets enabling researchers to identify target market segments based on lifestyle, tech usage, and income. Localized survey data is available from the Nielsen Scarborough dataset, along with detailed financial data from the Financial CLOUT dataset. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowCurrent and historical demographic and social data, plus online tools to create custom maps and reports. Optional personal login account required to save and share projects online.
- Explore Census Data (formerly American FactFinder)Demographic and economic profiles for all regions of the United States.
- City DataInformative profiles of all cities in the United States.
- SDA: Survey Documentation and Analysis at UCBSDA is a set of programs for the documentation and Web-based analysis of survey data developed by the Computer-assisted Survey Methods Program (CSM) at the University of California, Berkeley.
- State and County QuickFactsFrom the U.S. Census Bureau. Quick, easy access to facts about people, business and geography.
- Terra PopulusIntegrated Data on Population and Environment from 1960 to the present.
- Statistical AtlasThis is a commercial site that uses data from the Census.
- Urban GeographyPublishes original papers on problem-oriented current research by geographers and other social scientists on urban policy; race, poverty, and ethnicity in the city; international differences in urban form and function; historical preservation; the urban housing market; and provision of services and urban economic activity.
- Journal of Ethnic and Migration StudiesIt publishes research on all forms of migration and its consequences, together with articles on ethnic conflict, discrimination, racism, nationalism, citizenship and policies of integration.
- The International Migration Review: IMRAn interdisciplinary journal created to encourage and facilitate the study of all aspects of sociodemographic, historical, economic, political, legislative and pastoral aspects of human mobility.
Organizations/Think Tanks
- Southern California Association of GovernmentsThe SCAG Data Services Program was initiated and organized starting in the late 1980s with the goal of being the preeminent source of information for the southern California region.
- The Brookings InstitutionIt is a nonprofit organization devoted to independent research and policy solutions.
- Demographic Research, California Department of FinanceThe Demographic Research Unit (DRU) of the California Department of Finance is designated as the single official source of demographic data for state planning and budgeting.