sustainable development, social justice, ecology, community, green energy, sustainable sholarship
Last Updated: Nov 24, 2014
The Sustainability Across the Curriculum workshop was held on November 15, 2012. Faculty members led presentations to discuss how educators can integrate environment and sustainability issues into their curricula.
- Jenny Jay – Civil and Environmental Engineering
- Gyanam Mahajan – South & Southeast Asian Languages & Cultures
- Jonathon Aurnou – Earth and Space Sciences
- Miriam Golden – Political Science
- Deepak Rajagopal – Institute of the Environment and Sustainability
- Goetz Wolff – Urban Planning
- Peggy Fong – Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
- David Paige – Earth and Space Sciences
Following the presentations, faculty members had the opportunity to engage in critical dialogues with colleagues revolving topics such as:
- Intergenerational Thinking
- Environmental Stewardship
- Human Population Growth and Carrying Capacity
- Global Climate Change
- Ecological or Carbon Footprint
- Tragedy of the Commons
- “Cradle-to-Cradle” Design
- Renewable and Non-renewable Resources
- Interconnectedness and Interdependence
- Good Governance: Three Parts
- Sustainability’s Triple Bottom Line
- Microcredit and Microenterprise
- Environmental Justice
- Food Security
- True-Cost Accounting
For more information, take a look at UCLA Today's article, Profs Learn New Ways to Teach Sustainability.
The concept of sustainability emerges from "sustainable development" defined in the 1987 Brundtland Report as "development that meets the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs," addressing the balance between social equity, economic vitality, and environmental integrity.
Issues relating to sustainability are interdisciplinary, and may be found under a variety of topics in the UCLA collection. Check our list of Sustainability Topics for suggested Subject Heading searches. To search by Subject Heading, go to the UCLA catalog and select "Subject List (start of)".
- Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability
- Academic Search Complete
A multi-disciplinary full-text database that indexes and abstracts over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
- CQ Public Affairs Collection
Organized by 22 key public affairs subject headings?like Advocacy and Public Service, Education, Energy, the Environment, Health, and Transportation?the CQ Public Affairs Collection features in-depth reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas.
- CQ Researcher Plus Archive
Single-themed CQ Researcher reports offers in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in the environment, health, international affairs, environmental education, green technology and the U.S. economy.
Collection of scholarly, government & general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations & local/national governments & what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling. Multidisciplinary by nature connect between the environment & other disciplines agriculture, education, law, health & technology.
- OECD iLibrary
The online library of e-books, e-periodicals and interactive statistical databases produced by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD).
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses-A&I
Includes citations for over 2.4 million dissertations and theses from around the world, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts; masters theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Where available, PQDT provides twenty-four page previews. In addition, more than 750,000 are available for download in PDF format.
- SAGE Complete A-Z List
Collection of journals available from SAGE Publications.
- Springer Books
Full text access in HTML and PDF formats to the the electronic versions of books published by Springer. Content is in 13 subject areas: Architecture and Design; Behavioral Science; Biomedical and Life Sciences; Business and Economics; Chemistry and Materials Science; Computer Science; Earth and Environmental Science; Engineering; Humanities, Social Sciences and Law; Mathematics and Statistics; Medicine; Physics and Astronomy; and, Professional Computing & Web Design.
- Web of Science
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of the sciences; social sciences; and arts & humanities. Indexes major journals across disciplines with all cited references captured; over 12,300 journals. Through the Web of Science, users can access the three ISI Citation Databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Citation Index.
Maria A. Jankowska
, British Parliamentary Papers
, Government Information
, Aerial Images
, and Cartographic Resources
, Geographic Information Systems
, Social Sciences Data
, United States Census
, Canadian Government Docs.
The guide was created by Maria A. Jankowska and Daniel Phipps.
World on the Edge
Call Number: GE149.B76 2011
Pub. Date: 2011-01-06
We are in a race between political and natural tipping points. Can we close coal-fired power plants fast enough to save the Greenland ice sheet and avoid catastrophic sea level rise? Can we raise water productivity fast enough to halt the depletion of aquifers and avoid water-driven food shortages? Can we cope with peak water and peak oil at the same time? These are some of the issues Lester R. Brown skillfully distills in World on the Edge. Bringing decades of research and analysis into play, he provides the responses needed to reclaim our future.