Resources for Los Angeles Guide
Databases Containing Stories about Los Angeles
Use databses to find journal, magazine or newspaper articles about: Hollywood in 30s; African-Americans and labor relations in the 40s; Los Angles Suburban life in the 50s and 60s; Chicano movement of the late 60s; drug culture in the Eighties; race relations in the 90s; globalization and race in the 90s; migrant farm labor; freeway construction in the 50s/60s.
- CQ Researcher
This link opens in a new window
Single-themed reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the US economy. Each report is footnoted and fact-checked and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time. - ABC-CLIO DatabasesVarious resource databases on American cultures.
- Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive resource for information about the Chicano/Latino community. The only database that focuses only on this community. - Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A bibliographic database to articles and other items published throughout the world containing information about Central and South America, Mexico, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. - America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
Primary Sources
- Calisphere This link opens in a new windowMore than 150,000 digitized items — including photographs, documents, newspaper pages, political cartoons, works of art, diaries, transcribed oral histories, advertising, and other unique cultural artifacts — reveal the diverse history and culture of California and its role in national and world history.
- Oral History Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes more than 2,700 collections of oral history in English from around the world. Provides keyword searching of full-text transcripts when available, plus links to audio and video files. - Online Archive of California (OAC) This link opens in a new windowThe OAC provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 150 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major Black newspaper in Los Angeles, covering May 17, 1934 - Dec 29, 2005. For access to current issues see Ethnic NewsWatch.
Culture and Data
- 1980 census ethnic data for Los Angeles.Minorities — California — Los Angeles — Statistics.
Los Angeles (Calif.) — Census, 1980. - Data from the United States Census — RaceCurrent and historical statistics collected by the Census Bureau.
- RAND Publications This link opens in a new windowSearch the archive of over 17,000 RAND documents dating back to 1948.
Finding Resources for City History, Images, Old Documents, Maps and Recordings
Use the UC Library Search to identify resources by conducting a subject search for:
- Day of the LocustHollywood (Los Angeles, Calif.) — History — 20th century.
Based on The Day of the Locust by West, Nathanael, 1903-1940. - Chester Himes — If He Hollers Let Him GoLos Angeles (Calif.) — Race relations.
Racism — California — Los Angeles.
African Americans — Civil rights — History — 20th century — Sources. - Thomas Pynchon — The Crying of Lot 49City and town life — California — Los Angeles — History — 20th century.
Suburban life in popular culture — California — Los Angeles — History — 20th century. - Oscar Angles — Revolt of the Cockroach PeopleMexican Americans — California — Los Angeles — Politics and government.
Civil rights movements— California — East Los Angeles — History — 20th century. - Brett Easton Ellis — Less Than ZeroDrug addiction — California.
Los Angeles (Calif.) — Social life and customs. - Paul Beatty — White Boy ShuffleLos Angeles (Calif.) — Race relations.
King, Rodney. - Karen Yamashita — Tropic of OrangeSocial conflict — California — Los Angeles.
Korean Americans — California — Los Angeles — Social conditions. - Salvador Plascencia — The People of PaperCalifornia — Emigration and immigration — History — 20th century.
Migrant agriculture laborers — California. - Helena Viramontes — Their Dogs Came With ThemExpress highways — Economic aspects — California.
Book Reviews
- Book Review Index Plus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive guide to book reviews that includes more than 5 million review citations from thousands of publications, with linking to more than 630,000 full-text book reviews. - Gale Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Information about authors and their works, critical essays and reviews from more than 360 scholarly journals and literary magazines.