Articles, Journals, Databases
- Economist, The (1997 - current) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Weekly news magazine focused on international politics, business, finance, science, and technology. Click on Weekly edition and then click on Browse all editions. Select the year you want in the pull down menu on the right and search for the issue.
- CQ Researcher
- This link opens in a new window
Single-themed reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the US economy. Each report is footnoted and fact-checked and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and e-books in the sciences, technology, medicine, and social sciences. UCLA subscribes to a subset of this collection. - U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
Books and E-books
Diagnosing Wild Species Harvest by Date: 2013-11-20
Wild Food by Date: 2006-02-10
Encyclopedia of Food and CultureDate: 2002-12-17
African Ethnobotany in the Americas by Date: 2012-05-01
Food Culture in Southeast Asia by Date: 2008
Baobabs by
This is the only comprehensive account of all eight species in the genus Adansonia. It describes the historical background from the late Roman period to the present. It covers the extraordinary variety of economic uses of baobabs, famous trees, folk traditions and mythology, art associations, life cycle, natural history, cultivation, conservation, distribution and ecology, and phytogeography. There are also appendices on vernacular names, gazetteer, economics, nutrition and forest mensuration. This book fills a gap in the botanical literature. It deals with a genus that has fascinated and intrigued scientists and lay persons for centuries. It will appeal to scientists and academics as well as tropical horticulturalists, conservationists and general interest readers. It includes all the available scientific information about each of the eight species, and contains a good deal of original research on the history, ethnobotany and biology of the genus. There is even a chapter devoted to areas where further research is required.
ISBN: 9781402064319Date: 2007-01-01
