Journals
- Find Journals at UCLATwo ways to search: Enter a journal title in the search box.
Use the Journals by category option to browse journals by broad subject category. - CQ ResearcherA database of in-depth, authoritative reports on a full range of political and social-policy issues extending back to 1923. Each report is footnoted and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
- BrowZine Library This link opens in a new windowBrowZine allows you to browse selected scholarly journals available from the UCLA Library or from open sources on your computer, tablet, iPhone or Android smartphone. Access the web version here, and learn more about both the app and BrowZine features via the Library guide.
- SAGE Complete Journals This link opens in a new windowCollection of journals available from SAGE Publications.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text back issues of core scholarly journals, browsable and searchable across multiple disciplines. Coverage starts with first issue, with moving wall for most recent 3-5 years. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books only. JSTOR also includes primary source collections, including images from Artstor.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new windowIndex to doctoral dissertations from 1637 to the present, with abstracts since 1980. A number of master's theses are also indexed, with abstracts since 1988. Many are available for download in pdf format. UCLA has access to all full text dissertations in the database. Non-UCLA users may use Dissertations Express to purchase digital or print copies of individual dissertations.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new windowE-books and reference works in the social sciences. Includes scholarly monographs, reference works, handbooks, series, professional development titles, and more. Includes books published by both Sage and CQ Press. UCLA subscribes to only a small fraction of the books available, and not all content from Sage.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowBooks, reference works, and instructional videos about qualitative and quantitative methodologies in the sciences and social sciences. Includes Research Tools (online tools for planning research and choosing methods), Cases (examples of real research), Video (research process, data science, and methods) and Datasets (sample data chosen specifically to support practice with various statistical analysis methods). Includes Diversifying and Decolonizing Research, and Sage Research Methods Video: Quantitative and Mixed Methods.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
- Chicano Database This link opens in a new windowBibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded in 1992 to include the broader Latinx experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database.
- 19th Century Maps and Travel LiteratureMaps and Travel Literature offers unique insight into the age of cartography and the rise of leisure travel, providing access to a diverse collection of historic maps, atlases, gazetteers, and travel narratives. With materials sourced from such institutions as the British Library, the American Antiquarian Society, and the Bryn Mawr College Library, the archive illuminates travel and exploration during the long nineteenth century, including among its holdings a myriad of sketch maps created during colonial exploration and expansion.
Among the digitized documents are maps and other materials produced for nineteenth-century travelers, which contain useful city, town, and country information for researchers interested in the age of imperialism and the burgeoning middle classes. The extensive collection of European and non-European travel narratives offers a glimpse of the lands and peoples these travelers encountered as well as valuable insight into how the Industrial Revolution changed people's experiences in an ever-shrinking world. - ABC-CLIO DatabasesVarious resource databases on American cultures.
- America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new windowProvides complete text of ethnographic resources (mainly books, also articles and manuscripts) on cultures from around the world, past and present, indexed by culture and subject in a unique scheme. The electronic version of the Human Relations Area File.
- Europa World Plus This link opens in a new windowOnline version of the Europa World Year Book and Europa Publications' nine-volume Regional Surveys of the World series, which cover political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories and provide information on a variety of international organizations.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new windowIndexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center.
- Oral History Online This link opens in a new windowIndexes more than 2,700 collections of oral history in English from around the world. Provides keyword searching of full-text transcripts when available, plus links to audio and video files.
- World Folklore and Folklife This link opens in a new window
Thousands of classic folk tales, including the complete Hans Christian Andersen stories, Grimms' fairy tales, and folktales from around the world. Contextual material adds new depth to familiar stories.
- Eldis Country ProfilesInformation sources on development policy and research. Provides descriptions and links to online documents, organizational websites, databases, library catalogs, bibliographies, e-mail discussion lists, research project information, map and newspaper collections, and resources off-line. Provides country-specific information on development issues, projects, and organizations.
- EcoAméricasCovers development and the environment in Latin America for an international audience of businesses, NGOs, and public agencies.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowCoverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new windowCollection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles which include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics: global warming, green building, ecology, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- GeoScienceWorld E-books Collection This link opens in a new windowCollection of e-books for researchers in the Earth Sciences.
- EVGeoCloud This link opens in a new windowA web-based platform that provides online access to geospatial data, hosting many terabytes of vector data, raster data, and digital maps. To access this database, select the link for UCLA; you must also be using a computer that is connected to your UC campus network. The VPN must be used for off-campus access to this resource.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowOver 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.
- ProQuest This link opens in a new windowMultiple Topical Databa: Natural Sciences Databases -- combined search including the following databases: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, GeoRef, Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts, Oceanic Abstracts, Water Resources Abstract
- AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) This link opens in a new windowCreated by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators, AGRICOLA covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.
- National Geographic IndexComplete index of National Geographic (1950 to date), National Geographic Traveler, National Geographic Society Research & Exploration, National Geographic World, National Geographic Adventure.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowCoverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection.
- GeoRef This link opens in a new windowOver 3 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. Includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters' theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are also covered.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Articles and e-books in the sciences, technology, medicine, and social sciences. UCLA subscribes to a subset of this collection.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- Find Journals at UCLATwo ways to search: Enter a journal title in the search box.
Use the Journals by category option to browse journals by broad subject category. - Annals of the Association of American GeographersThe journal publishes articles in four major areas-- Environmental Sciences; Methods, Models and Geographic Information Science; Nature and Society; and People, Place and Region
- Australian GeographerFocuses on research concerning Australia and its region and environmental studies, particularly the biophysical environment and human interaction with it.
- Cartography and Geographic Information ScienceThis journal facilitates the objectives of the Cartography and Geographic Information Society by disseminating results and reports in their areas of interest.
- Focus GeographyContent includes feature articles, book reviews, in-depth theme sections, maps and photos, and special country issues. An official publication of the American Geographical Society (AGS).
- International Journal of Population GeographyThe scope of the journal is international, covering developed and less developed countries and embracing all the main fields of interest in population studies.
- Irish GeographyThe journal has focused recently on the changing context and increased importance of globalization and migration to Ireland. It was created by the Geographical Society of Ireland.
- Journal of Geographical SystemsA journal dedicated to geographical information, analysis, theory, and decision making. One of the most distinctive features of this journal is its concern for the interface between mathematical modeling, geographical information sciences, and regional issues.
- Journal of GeographyAllows a forum to present innovative approaches to geography, research, teaching and learning. The journal focuses on publishing articles on the results of research, instructional approaches and book reviews.
- Norsk geografisk tidsskrift (Norwegian Journal of Geography)This journal reflects the many facets of geography and takes an all-around geographical view, both regionally and thematically. Themes in this journal are related to the geography of Norway, the Nordic countries and adjacent regions.
- Scottish Geographical JournalScholarly articles of research from any branch of geography and on any part of the world, yet maintains a focus on issues and concerns relating to Scotland.
- The Professional GeographerShort articles on academic or applied geography, emphasizing empirical studies and methodologies.