UCLA Library
- UCLA Library Special Collections (LSC)UCLA Library Special Collections (LSC) acquires, preserves and makes accessible a world-class collection of archives, rare books, manuscripts, photographs and other rare and unique materials. For more information on Film and Television Research in Library Special Collections, please refer to this guide.
- Online Archive of California (OAC)The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 300 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
- Film and Television Research in Library Special Collections GuideUCLA Library Special Collections stewards many primary source materials pertaining to Film. This guide is intended as a starting place to point researchers to these materials and also serves as a basic orientation on using Library Special Collections holdings.
- UCLA Film & Television ArchiveHolds over 350,000 motion pictures and 170,000 television programs, spanning the entire course of film and broadcasting history. See also the UCLA Film & Television Archive page on this guide for more information.
Additional Special Collections and Archives
- ArchiveGrid This link opens in a new windowSearches finding aids for historical documents, personal papers, and family histories held in libraries, museums, and archives around the world. Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.
- Eaton Collection of Science Fiction & Fantasy (UC Riverside)"The Eaton Collection of Science Fiction & Fantasy is one of the world's largest, richest, and deepest collections of science fiction, fantasy, horror, utopian literature and related genres. The collection contains more than 300,000 items."
- Georgia Tech Science Fiction Collection (Georgia Tech)"The Georgia Tech Science Fiction Collection is one of the largest science fiction collections in the United States. It contains over 12,000 science fiction and fantasy novels and anthologies, and more than 1,000 magazines and fanzines. The Science Fiction Collection also contains manuscripts from science fiction authors and records documenting the fandom of science fiction, fantasy, comics, and affiliated genres."
- ScienceFictionArchives.com"Our company ScienceFictionArchives.com (a brand of Callisto Exhibition Group), develops educational traveling exhibition on themes such as science, science fiction and cinema, around it's unique collection of original objects of SciFi movies. It aims to inspire current and future generations through the marvel of art, and also preserve and develop its collection and make it available to worldwide museums."
- The Willis E. McNelly Science Fiction Collections (California State University, Fullerton)"Enter the realm of speculative fiction via the Willis McNelly Science Fiction collection—an expansive archive featuring original manuscripts, books, periodicals, memorabilia, and fanzines. Our SF manuscript collections reveal working papers, correspondence, first editions, and critical studies from authors like Frank Herbert and Philip K. Dick. Dive into Star Trek's universe with scripts, fanzines, and memorabilia that illuminate its impact. Explore the early 20th-century pulp magazines capturing science fiction's golden era. Traverse Latinx science fiction literature, unveiling diverse narratives. Encounter horror, fantasy, and paranormal tales within the Shroyer collection. The Science Fiction Writers of America Depository Collection holds more treasures, showcasing works from SFWA members."
- Paskow Science Fiction Collection (Temple University Libraries)"This extensive science fiction volume collection documents the evolution of science fiction and fantasy writing from the late 19th through the 20th century. The collection also includes pulp and slick magazines, posters, paintings, drawing, and related ephemera. Science fiction and fantasy fan culture and criticism often referred to as science fiction fandom are documented in serials known as fanzines. Notable fanzine collections include the Women Writers Fan Fiction Collection, circa 1979-1996, which includes fanzines, underground, and circuit literature written, designed, produced and distributed by female fans of science fiction media teleplays, actors, and characters."
- Arch Oboler Collection, 1916-1992 (Library of Congress)"Nearly the entirety of the prolific output of radio playwright and independent film maker Arch Oboler (1909-1987) in radio, motion pictures, television, theater, and print is contained in the Arch Oboler Collection. Featured are his radio plays from the 1930s and 1940s and the first three-dimensional feature film, Bwana Devil."
- Aubrey Wisberg Papers (Fales Library and Special Collections)"Aubrey Wisberg, film and television writer and producer died in New York City in 1990 at the age of 78. His papers consist of typescripts for his film and television productions, and draft copies of his novels, short stories and plays. The collection also includes a small portion of correspondence, photos, and promotional materials relating to specific film or television productions."
- Cinefantastique Magazine Records (Margaret Herrick Digital Collection)Cinefantastique was an American film periodical covering the genres of horror, fantasy, and science fiction. The magazine was known for its in-depth coverage of the production of key films in these genres.
- Comics and Science Fiction Fandom Collection (San Diego State University)"The Comics and Science Fiction Fandom Collection consists of publications, ephemera, memorabilia and artwork acquired from 2004- at various comics and science fiction conventions and conferences in the Southern California region, particularly San Diego Comic-Con International."
- Dan Curry Papers, 1967-2008 (UCLA Library Special Collections)Finding aid for a collection at UCLA Library Special Collections (LSC). This collection documents Curry’s work as visual effects producer of Star Trek series, as well as his work on other motion picture and television projects.
- Forrest J Ackerman papers, 1920-1987 (American Heritage Center, University of Wyoming)"Collection contains materials relating to Ackerman's long career as a promoter and collector of science fiction, including correspondence with writers and fans."
- Hans J. Salter Papers, 1935-1982. (UCLA Performing Arts Special Collections)Collection consists of printed and manuscript music composed and arranged by film composer Hans J. Salter. The bulk of music is published from Universal Pictures productions that were theatrically released between 1937-1964. Older music mostly from German and Austrian film productions dated 1923-1933 is also included in this collection. he collection also contains personal and business correspondence, film review clippings, awards, copyright and license paperwork, and production materials.
- James Horner Papers, 1980-2015. (UCLA Library Special Collections)The collection mostly consists of music scores (both loose and bound volumes), production notes, and sketches. The collection also contains a small amount of ephemera, correspondence, and one audio recording.
- Joe Menosky Papers, 1983-2005 (UCLA Library Special Collections)Finding aid for a collection at UCLA Library Special Collections (LSC). Menosky is best known for his work in science fiction, most notably the television series Star Trek Voyager.
- Paul Sawtell Collection, 1939-1964. (UCLA Performing Arts Special Collections)Begining in the late 1950s, Sawtell became extremely busy scoring science fiction films such Kronos, It! The Terror From Beyond Space, The Black Scorpion, and The Fly, amid his usual spread of Westerns and dramas. Collection consists of music scores for film and television by Paul Sawtell, and other documents and photographs relating to his life and career.
- Robert H. Justman Collection of Star Trek Television Series Scripts, 1966-1968 (UCLA Library Special Collections)Collection consists of original Star Trek scripts. Scripts include production materials such as shooting schedules, cast lists, title sheets, special photographic effects lists, and credits. Most of the scripts have Justman's name or initials on the front cover and minor annotations or lines in the text.
- Roddenberry (Gene) Star Trek Television Series Collection (UCLA Library Special Collections)"Collection consists of material related to the television program, Star trek. Includes story outlines, treatments and various drafts of scripts, shooting schedules, cast lists, title sheets, photographic lists, budget reports, and memoranda."
- Sang Joon Park Collection on Korean Science Fiction (USC Libraries East Asian Library)"A collection of 79 pamphlets, leaflets, event programs, fliers, and other ephemera relating to Korean science fiction. The material in this collection was assembled by Sang Joon Park, the founding president of the Korea SF Association. Since its emergence in the early twentieth century, Korean science fiction has formed a significant part of the Korean cultural tradition. The material in this collection dates between 1995 and 2021."
- Science Fiction Film Scripts, 1948-1977 (Temple University Libraries)"A collection of science fiction film shooting scripts written by a number of different script writers..."