Introduction
Reference sources such as encyclopedias, dictionaries, and filmographies can help researchers identify major themes, creative talent, and film titles to explore further in articles and books.
Getting Started: Introductory Reference Sources
- Science Fiction Film Theory and Criticism
This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Science Fiction Film
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies Online, Latin American Studies - Science Fiction Films and Cold War Anxiety
- This link opens in a new window
History of the American Cinema, 2003. - Science Fiction (Whiteness)
- This link opens in a new window
Race in American Film: Voices and Visions That Shaped a Nation, 2017. - Science Fiction Film: Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries
- This link opens in a new window
Women in Science Fiction and Fantasy, 2009, Vol. 1. - Social Science Fiction
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice, 2007.
Suggested UC Search Headings:
- Brave New Words: The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Time: Science, Philosophy, Theology, & Culture
- This link opens in a new window
- AFI Catalog This link opens in a new window The online AFI (American Film Institute) Catalog draws its content from printed volumes that document every American feature film from 1893 to 1974. Also includes some short films from the first era of filmmaking, 1893–1910. Provides detailed filmographic information, including music credits, release dates, plot descriptions, and bibliographies. See also the AFI web version of the catalog.
- This link opens in a new window
- Film Index International This link opens in a new window Provides in-depth indexing of international films from the silent period to the present, with selected biographical information, searchable plot summaries, and full cast and crew lists. Based on the Summary of Film and Television database maintained by the British Film Institute.
- This link opens in a new window
- FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals This link opens in a new window Searches film and television articles in the International Index to Film Periodicals (1972-current) and Treasures from the Film Archives, which contains silent film-era listings from archives.
- This link opens in a new window
- Oxford Bibliographies Online: Cinema and Media Studies This link opens in a new window Annotated bibliographies for topics in the field of Cinema and Media Studies. Combines encyclopedia-style introductions with expert recommendations of the most important reference works, books, journals, and primary sources on the topic.
- This link opens in a new window
- Schirmer Encyclopedia of Film
- This link opens in a new window
