Skip to Main Content

Science Fiction Film and Television

A guide to research resources related to the study of science fiction film and television, including books, articles, moving images, and archives.

Selected Images

Still from director Jean-Pierre Bekolo's film Bloodettes

Bloodettes (dir. Jean-Pierre Bekolo, Cameroon, 2005)

Image from title screened by UCLA Film & Television Archive for the series African Futurism: The World of Jean-Pierre Bekolo. 

Still from director Joon-hwan Jang's film Save the Green Planet.

Save the Green Planet (dir. Joon-hwan Jang, South Korea, 2003)

Image from films screened by the UCLA Film & Television Archive for the program Science Fiction Against the Margins. 

Still from director Jennifer Phang's film Advantageous.

Advantageous (dir. Jennifer Phang, USA, 2015)

Image from films screened by the UCLA Film & Television Archive for the program Science Fiction Against the Margins. 

Still from director Eliseo Subiela's film Man Facing South East.

Man Facing South East (dir. Eliseo Subiela, Argentina, 1986)

Image from films screened by the UCLA Film & Television Archive for the program Science Fiction Against the Margins. 

Still from director Nuotama Bodomo's film Afronauts.

Afronauts (dir. Nuotama Bodomo, USA, 2014)

Image from films screened by the UCLA Film & Television Archive for the program Science Fiction Against the Margins. 

Still from the director Georges Méliès' film A Trip to the Moon.

A Trip to the Moon (dir. Georges Méliès, France, ~1902)

Image from films screened by the UCLA Film & Television Archive for the program Science Fiction Against the Margins. 

Still from director Alex Rivera's film Sleep Dealer.

Sleep Dealer (dir. Alex Rivera, USA/Mexico, 2008)

Image from films screened by the UCLA Film & Television Archive for the program Science Fiction Against the Margins. 

Still from director Hilary Brougher's film Sticky Fingers of Time.

Sticky Fingers of Time (dir. Hilary Brougher, USA, 1997)

Image from films screened by the UCLA Film & Television Archive for the program Science Fiction Against the Margins. 

Welcome

Welcome to the UCLA Library research guide to science fiction film and television. It is intended as an introduction to selected books, articles, and other resources, and to support the UCLA Film & Television Archive's Pacific Standard Time screening series Science Fiction Against the Margins. It was created in 2024 with contributions by UCLA Arts Library Student Research Assistants Diana Cardenas, Marie Fucile, Olivia Lindsley, Lorell Perillat, and Riona Tsai.

Related Research Guides and Resources:

About Genre

Science fiction intersects with a number of related genres, particularly fantasy and horror. Because of this, many of the films and shows, topics, and subgenres covered by this guide can easily be considered fantasy, horror, and/or a hybrid of several genres. For further exploration of genres and genre theorization, some examples of further reading are listed below.

Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials

The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!

If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.

VPN on Mac with Natalie

"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science

Download a UCLA VPN 

VPN on Windows with Michael

"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs

Download a UCLA VPN

VPN on Chromebook with Nadia

"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs

Download a UCLA VPN

Proxy on Mac with Kate

"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies

Proxy Server