Selected Images - Monsters
Nosferatu (dir. F.W. Murnau, Germany, 1922)
Still from director F.W. Murnau's film Nosferatu, from FilmGrab.
2001: A Space Odyssey (dir. Stanley Kubrick, USA, 1968)
Still from director Stanley Kubrick's film 2001: A Space Odyssey, from FilmGrab.
Train to Busan (dir. Yeon Sang-ho, 2016)
Still from director Yeon Sang-ho's film Train to Busan, from FilmGrab.
Godzilla (dir. Ishirô Honda, Japan, 1954)
Still from director Ishirô Honda's film Godzilla, from FilmGrab
Pacific Rim (dir. Guillermo Del Toro, USA, 2013)
Still from director Guillermo Del Toro's film Pacific Rim, from FilmGrab.
The Bride of Frankenstein (dir. James Whale, USA, 1935)
Still from director James Whale's film The Bride of Frankenstein, from FilmGrab.
Introduction and Scope
This page primarily focuses on classic movie monsters and characters, but is only a small portion of writing and examples related to monsters on film. For more broad examples from books and films, see titles featured in UC Library Search under the heading:
Selected Books on Monsters
Androids, Humanoids, and Other Folklore Monsters: Science and Soul in Science Fiction Films by 
This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Arts Library; PN1995.9.S26 S26 1993ISBN: 9780814779309Date: 1993-10-01Focusing his analysis on sixty-five popular films, from Frankenstein and Metropolis to Invasion of the Body Snatchers, The Terminator, and Blade Runner, Per Schelde brings his command of traditional folklore to this serious but eminently readable look at SF movies, decoding their curious and often terrifying images as expressions of modern man's angst in the face of a rapidly advancing culture he cannot control.
The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Cinematic Monsters by ISBN: 1472400607Date: 2014-01-08This concise encyclopedia provides scholars and students with a comprehensive and authoritative A-Z of monsters throughout the ages. It is the first major reference book on monsters for the scholarly market. Over 200 entries written by experts in the field are accompanied by an overview introduction by the editor. Generic entries such as 'ghost' and 'vampire' are cross-listed with important specific manifestations of that monster. This book is an invaluable resource for all students and scholars and an essential addition to library reference shelves.
Classic Readings on Monster Theory: Demonstrate by ISBN: 9781942401193Date: 2018-07-26This volume and its companion gather a wide range of readings and sources to enable us to see and understand what monsters show us about what it means to be human.
Cloverfield: Creatures and Catastrophes in Post-9/11 Cinema by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781496846747Date: 2023-08-16Author Steffen Hantke examines how, in the broader context of postmillennial Hollywood, the Cloverfield franchise remains both a harbinger of the way Hollywood does business and a test case for the cinematic fantasies of apocalyptic disaster that continue to dominate global box office, long after the Cold War that gave rise to giant creatures has ended and 9/11 has lost its hold on the global imagination. As an inspiration for the next stage of blockbuster filmmaking, in which franchises have replaced the singular cinematic masterpiece and marketing plays to fans as critics and scholars, Cloverfield remains as relevant today as when it first unleashed its giant creature onto New York City over a decade ago.
The Dead That Walk by ISBN: 9780804423007Date: 1988-12-01Looks at the films made about Dracula, Frankenstein, and the Mummy, discusses missing scenes, and includes information about actors and directors
The Horror Spoofs of Abbott and Costello by ISBN: 9780786406425Date: 1999-12-01While Bud Abbott and Lou Costello are more famously known for their straight comedy routines, they did make a number of films in which horror played a crucial role. The first part of this critical reference explores the Abbott and Costello Meet the Monsters spoof films. The second section deals with Abbott and Costello's films with horror elements that do not follow this formula, such as Hold That Ghost and Abbott and Costello Meet the Killer, Boris Karloff.
The Literary Monster on Film by ISBN: 9780786442614Date: 2010-09-07Many monsters in Victorian British novels were intimately connected with the protagonists, and representative of both the personal failings of a character and the failings of the society in which he or she lived. By contrast, more recent film adaptations of these novels depict the creatures as arbitrarily engaging in senseless violence, and suggest a modern fear of the uncontrollable. This work analyzes the dichotomy through examinations of Shelley's Frankenstein, Stoker's Dracula, H. Rider Haggard's She, Stevenson's Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Wells's The Island of Dr. Moreau, and consideration of the 20th century film adaptations of the works.
The Migration and Politics of Monsters in Latin American Cinema by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9783319972497Date: 2018-10-09The Migration and Politics of Monsters in Latin America proposes a cinematic cartography of contemporary Latin American horror films that take up the idea of the American continent as a space of radical otherness, or monstrosity, and use it for political purposes. The book explores how Latin American film directors migrate foreign horror tropes to create cinematographic horror hybrids that reclaim and transform monstrosity as a form of historical rewriting.
Monster Cinema by ISBN: 9780813597652Date: 2018-04-16Monster Cinema introduces readers to a vast menagerie of movie monsters. Some are gigantic, like King Kong or the kaiju in Pacific Rim, while others are microscopic. Some monsters appear uncannily human, from serial killers like Norman Bates to the pod people in Invasion of the Body Snatchers. And of course, other movie monsters like demons, ghosts, vampires, and witches emerge from long folklore traditions. Film expert Barry Keith Grant considers what each type of movie monster reveals about what it means to be human and how we regard the world. Armed with an encyclopedic knowledge of film history, Grant presents us with an eclectic array of monster movies, from Nosferatu to Get Out. As he discovers, although monster movies might claim to be about Them!, they are really about the capacity for horror that lurks within each of us.
The Monster Movies of Universal Studios by ISBN: 9781442278165Date: 2017-06-16In The Monster Movies of Universal Studios, James L. Neibaur examines the key monster films produced by the studio from the early 1930s through the mid-1950s. In each entry, the author recounts the movie's production, provides critical commentary, considers the film's commercial reception, and offers an overall assessment of the movie's significance. Neibaur also examines the impact these films had on popular culture, an influence that resonates in the cinema of fear today.
Monsters: A Companion by ISBN: 9781788746649Date: 2020-08-26What are Monsters? Monsters are everywhere, from cyberbullies online to vampires onscreen: the twenty-first century is a monstrous age. The root of the word «monster» means «omen» or «warning», and if monsters frighten us, it's because they are here to warn us about something amiss in ourselves and in our society. Humanity has given birth to these monsters, and they grow and change with us, carrying the scars of their birth with them. This collection of original and accessible essays looks at a variety of contemporary monsters from literature, film, television, music and the internet within their respective historical and cultural contexts.
Monsters of Film, Fiction, and Fable by ISBN: 1527510891Date: 2018The nineteen essays in this volume explore the place and function of the monstrous in a variety of mediastories and novels like Baums Oz books or Gibsons Neuromancer; television series and feature films like The Walking Dead or Edward Scissorhands; and myths and legends like Beowulf and The Loch Ness Monsterin order to provide a closer understanding of not just who we are and who we have been, but also who we believe we can befor better or worse.
Monstrous Adaptations: Generic and Thematic Mutations in Horror Film by ISBN: 9780719076039Date: 2007-08-01The fifteen groundbreaking essays contained in this book address the concept of adaptation in relation to horror cinema. Adaptation is not only a key cultural practice and strategy for filmmakers, but it is also a theme of major importance within horror cinema as a whole. Horror film's history is full of adaptations that have drawn from fiction or folklore, or that have assumed the shape of remakes of pre-existing films. The horror genre itself however, also abounds with its own myriad transformations and transmutations.
TV Gothic: The Golden Age of Small Screen Horror by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781476679754Date: 2022-07-14Most horror film fans are familiar with the movie classics, from the early Universal archetypes to the Hammer landmarks--all of which have been celebrated in countless books and magazines. But what about the parallel universe of television horror? The series, made-for-TV-movies and specials? With detailed coverage of shows from Britain, America and Europe, this book chronicles the small-screen appearances of Dracula and Frankenstein's monster, adaptations of stories by Edgar Allan Poe and M.R. James, performances of beloved stars like Boris Karloff and Vincent Price, groundbreaking series like The Television Ghost, Lights Out and Dark Shadows, and such memorable movies as The Night Stalker, The Norliss Tapes and Salem's Lot, along with unearthed gems like The Ghost of Sierra de Cobre and Mrs. Amworth.
Universal Studios Monsters: A Legacy of Horror by ISBN: 9780789341006Date: 2021-10-12The year 2021 is a milestone anniversary year for horror's most iconic films--Universal Studios' Dracula, Frankenstein, and The Wolf Man. Those landmark movies--as well as Universal's new releases--are celebrated through this beautiful and frighteningly informative volume, newly expanded to include what the present and future holds for these venerable characters. From the 1920s through the 1950s, Universal Studios was Hollywood's number one studio for horror pictures worldwide. This official illustrated history is the comprehensive and definitive volume of cinema's most enduring genre.
Universal Terrors, 1951-1955: Eight Classic Horror and Science Fiction Films by ISBN: 9780786436149Date: 2017-09-29his over-the-top history is the definitive retrospective on Universal's horror and science fiction movies of 1951-1955. Standing as a sequel to Tom Weaver, Michael Brunas and John Brunas's Universal Horrors (Second Edition, 2007), it covers eight films: The Strange Door, The Black Castle, It Came from Outer Space, Creature from the Black Lagoon, This Island Earth, Revenge of the Creature, Cult of the Cobra and Tarantula. Each receives a richly detailed critical analysis, day-by-day production history, interviews with filmmakers, release information, an essay on the score, and many photographs, including rare behind-the-scenes shots.
Anatomy of a Robot: Literature, Cinema, and the Cultural Work of Artificial People by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: YRL; PN56.R56 K35 2014; Also Available OnlineISBN: 9780813562179Date: 2014-07-07Drawing from a rich fictional and cinematic tradition, Anatomy of a Robot explores the political and textual implications of our perennial projections of humanity onto figures such as robots, androids, cyborgs, and automata. In an engaging, sophisticated, and accessible presentation, Despina Kakoudaki argues that, in their narrative and cultural deployment, artificial people demarcate what it means to be human.- Androids, Humanoids, and Other Folklore Monsters: Science and Soul in Science Fiction Films by
- This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Arts Library; PN1995.9.S26 S26 1993ISBN: 9780814779309Date: 1993-10-01Focusing his analysis on sixty-five popular films, from Frankenstein and Metropolis to Invasion of the Body Snatchers, The Terminator, and Blade Runner, Per Schelde brings his command of traditional folklore to this serious but eminently readable look at SF movies, decoding their curious and often terrifying images as expressions of modern man's angst in the face of a rapidly advancing culture he cannot control. 
Being Bionic: The World of TV Cyborgs by Call Number: Arts Library; PN1992.8.S35 C35 2017ISBN: 9781784536480Date: 2017-01-11The cyborg - an organic body augmented with technology - is an enduring figure that can be found across science fiction stories, novels, films, and, more recently, television. What can its marked presence in cult TV shows tell us about the rapidly changing world we live in, and indeed about the human condition? This book explored how the image of the cyborg attracts our fears and fascinations.
Blade Runner by ISBN: 9781844575220Date: 2012-09-04In his innovative and nuanced reading, Scott Bukatman details the making of Blade Runner and its steadily improving fortunes following its release in 1982. He situates the film in terms of debates about postmodernism, which have informed much of the criticism devoted to it, but argues that its tensions derive also from the quintessentially twentieth-century, modernist experience of the city - as a space both imprisoning and liberating.
Cyborg Cinema and Contemporary Subjectivity by Call Number: Arts Library ; PN1995.9.C9 S48 2005ISBN: 9781403921789Date: 2004-11-10This book breaks new ground in providing an in-depth critical assessment of cyborg cinema, arguing that it remains one of the most intriguing and provocative cycles to have emerged in contemporary screen culture. Tracing the cinematic cyborg's transition over the last two decades and evaluating the theoretical significance attributed to this figure, it asks what relevance the cyborg continues to have in terms of understanding human identity, our relationship to technology, and to one another.
Cyborgs in Latin America by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780230103900Date: 2010-08-18Cyborgs in Latin America explores the ways cultural expression in Latin America has grappled with the changing relationships between technology and human identity.
Palgrave Handbook of Posthumanism in Film and Television by Call Number: Arts Library; PN1995.9.P42 P35 2015ISBN: 9781137430311Date: 2015-09-02What does popular culture's relationship with cyborgs, robots, vampires and zombies tell us about being human? Insightful scholarly perspectives shine a light on how film and television evince and portray the philosophical roots, the social ramifications and the future visions of a posthumanist world.
Replications: A Robotic History of the Science Fiction Film by ISBN: 9780252064661Date: 1995-09-01A haunting fascination fuels our interest in the robot, the android, the cyborg, the replicant. Beginning with a pre-history of the filmic robot, J. P. Telotte traces its development through early sci-fi landmarks such as Metropolis (1926), the alien films of the 1950s, and recent explorations of the artificial human in Blade Runner, Robocop, and the Terminator films. Replications also considers the tension between the technological wonders that science fiction depicts and the human values it champions. Telotte shows us how the sci-fi genre has always addressed changing cultural attitudes toward technology, the body, gender roles, human intelligence, reality, and even film itself.
RoboCop by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781911325253Date: 2018-05-15Marking its thirtieth anniversary, this volume explores RoboCop from a variety of critical approaches, including rereading RoboCop as a Western; the neofascist corporatization of the human body; satire, late-Reagan America and the rise of neoliberalism; resurrection, death, and the figure of the cyborg in science fiction; and the legacy of the film across American cinema and within Verhoeven's own body of work.
Robot Suicide: Death, Identity, and AI in Science Fiction by ISBN: 9781666910483Date: 2023-05-01In Robot Suicide: Death, Identity, and AI in Science Fiction, Liz W Faber blends cultural studies, philosophy, sociology, and medical sciences to show how fictional robots hold up a mirror to our cultural perceptions about suicide and can help us rethink real-world policies regarding mental health. Faber looks at a broad range of science fiction, from classics like The Terminator franchise to recent hits like C. Robert Cargill's novel Sea of Rust.
After Dracula: The 1930s Horror Film by ISBN: 9780857734082Date: 2013-08-28Alison Peirse argues that Dracula (1931) has been canonised to the detriment of other innovative and original 1930s horror films in Europe and America. By casting out the deified vampire, she reveals a cycle of films made over the 1930s that straddle both the pre- and post-regulatory era of the Hays Production Code an stringent censorship from the British Board of Film Censors.
The Cambridge Companion To 'Dracula' by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781107153172Date: 2017-11-16Bram Stoker's Dracula is the most famous vampire in literature and film. This new collection of sixteen essays brings together a range of internationally renowned scholars to provide a series of pathways through this celebrated Gothic novel and its innumerable adaptations and translations. The volume illuminates the novel's various pre-histories, critical contexts and subsequent cultural transformations.
Count Dracula Goes to the Movies: Stoker's Novel Adapted, 1922-2003 by ISBN: 9780786426010Date: 2006-09-30The world's most famous vampire is naturally hard to kill. Over and over, Bram Stoker's ""Dracula"" has been adapted for the screen, with widely varying degrees of accuracy and success. Here, is the updated edition of Lyndon Joslin's acclaimed 1999 guide to the films based on Stoker's novel. Also new to this edition is complete cast and credit information for the ""Dracula"" series films from Universal and Hammer as well as for the ""Shadows of Stoker"" films - i.e., those that clearly borrow from Stoker without once citing the source. It also features photographs, bibliography, and an index.
Dracula: Authoritative Text, Contexts, Reviews and Reactions, Dramatic and Film Variations, Criticism by ISBN: 9780393970128Date: 1996-12-17A rich selection of background and source materials is provided in three areas: Contexts includes probable inspirations for Dracula in the earlier works of James Malcolm Rymer and Emily Gerard. Also included are a discussion of Stoker's working notes for the novel and "Dracula's Guest," the original opening chapter to Dracula. Reviews and Reactions reprints five early reviews of the novel. "Dramatic and Film Variations" focuses on theater and film adaptations of Dracula, two indications of the novel's unwavering appeal. David J. Skal, Gregory A. Waller, and Nina Auerbach offer their varied perspectives. Checklists of both dramatic and film adaptations are included.
Dracula and the Gothic in Literature, Pop Culture and the Arts by ISBN: 9789004306172Date: 2015-10-08This volume brings together fourteen articles that reappraise the productivity of Stoker's Dracula and the strong influence it still exerts on today's generations. The volume explores various multimodal and multimedia adaptations of the book, by critically examining its literary, cinematic, theatrical, televised and artistic versions.
Dracula As Absolute Other: The Troubling and Distracting Specter of Stoker's Vampire on Screen by ISBN: 9781476675381Date: 2019-07-12Dark, dangerous and transgressive, Bram Stoker's Dracula is often read as Victorian society's absolute Other--an outsider who troubles and distracts those around him, one who represents the fears and anxieties of the age. This book is a study of Dracula's role of absolute Other as it appears on screen, and an investigation of popular culture's continued fascination with vampires. Drawing on vampire films spanning from the early 20th century to 2017, the author examines how different generations construct Otherness and how this is reflected in vampire media.
Dracula in the Dark: The Dracula Film Adaptations by ISBN: 9780313292156Date: 1997-05-12One hundred years after his creation by Bram Stoker, Dracula is still fascinating us. This study traces the changing nature of film representations of Dracula, from the early silent adaptations to recent popular dramas. Holte suggests that vampire films and Dracula adaptations have become an independent genre, the dark romance, with its own set of narrative conventions and audience expectations combining horror and eroticism. This engaging study provides readers with a natural history of the vampire, an examination of the work of Bram Stoker, a history and analysis of many film adaptations of Dracula, a survey of contemporary criticism and theory, and an extensive annotated bibliography of vampire film, fiction, and criticism.
Dracula in Visual Media: Film, Television, Comic Book and Electronic Game Appearances, 1921-2010 by ISBN: 9780786433650Date: 2010-11-03This is a comprehensive sourcebook on the world's most famous vampire, with more than 700 citations of domestic and international Dracula films, television programs, documentaries, adult features, animated works, and video games, as well as nearly a thousand comic books and stage adaptations.
Draculas, Vampires, and Other Undead Forms: Essays on Gender, Race, and Culture by ISBN: 9780810866966Date: 2009-04-08Draculas, Vampires and Other Undead Forms assembles provocative essays that examine Dracula films and their movement across borders of nationality, sexuality, ethnicity, gender, and genre since the 1920s. The essays analyze the complexity Dracula embodies outside the conventional landscape of films with which the vampire is typically associated. Focusing on Dracula and Dracula-type characters in film, anime, and literature from predominantly non-Anglo markets, this anthology offers unique perspectives that seek to ground depictions and experiences of Dracula within a larger political, historical, and cultural framework.
Hollywood Gothic by ISBN: 9780571211586Date: 2004-10-18In this excursion through the life of a cultural icon, David J. Skal maps out the archetypal vampire's relentless trajectory from Victorian literary oddity to movie idol to cultural commodity, digging through the populist veneer to reveal what the prince of darkness says about us all. Includes black-and-white Illustrations throughout, plus a new Introduction.
In Search of Dracula: The History of Dracula and Vampires by ISBN: 9780395657836Date: 1994-10-31The true story behind the legend of Dracula - a biography of Prince Vlad of Transylvania, better known as Vlad the Impaler. This revised edition now includes entries from Bram Stoker's recently discovered diaries, the amazing tale of Nicolae Ceausescu's attempt to make Vlad a national hero, and an examination of recent adaptations in fiction, stage and screen.
Post/Modern Dracula: From Victorian Themes to Postmodern Praxis by ISBN: 9781847182005Date: 2007-06-01Post/modern Dracula explores the postmodern in Bram Stoker's Victorian novel and the Victorian in Francis Ford Coppola's postmodern film to demonstrate how the century that separates the two artists binds them more than it divides them.
Adapting Frankenstein: The Monster's Eternal Lives in Popular Culture by ISBN: 9781526108937Date: 2018-08-06Mary Shelley's Frankenstein is one of the most popular novels in western literature. It has been adapted and re-assembled in countless forms, from Hammer Horror films to young-adult books and bandes dessinées. Beginning with the idea of the 'Frankenstein Complex', this edited collection provides a series of creative readings that explore the elaborate intertextual networks that make up the novel's remarkable afterlife.
The Afterlives of Frankenstein: Popular and Artistic Adaptations and Reimaginings by ISBN: 9781350351561Date: 2024-02-22An exploration of the treatment of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein in popular art and culture, this book examines adaptations in film, comics, theatre, art, video-games and more, to illuminate how the novel's myth has evolved in the two centuries since its publication.
The Cambridge Companion to Frankenstein by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781107450608Date: 2016-08-19The Cambridge Companion to Frankenstein consists of sixteen original essays on Mary Shelley's novel by leading scholars, providing an invaluable introduction to Frankenstein and its various critical contexts. Theoretically informed but accessibly written, this volume relates Frankenstein to various social, literary, scientific and historical contexts, and outlines how critical theories such as ecocriticism, posthumanism, and queer theory generate new and important discussion in illuminating ways. The volume also explores the cultural afterlife of the novel including its adaptations in various media such as drama, film, television, graphic novels, and literature aimed at children and young adults.
The Curse of Frankenstein by ISBN: 9780993071706Date: 2015-06-30Critics abhorred it, audiences loved it, and Hammer executives where thrilled with the box office returns: The Curse of Frankenstein was big business. In his Devil's Advocate, Marcus Harmes goes back to where the Hammer horror production started, looking at the film from a variety of perspectives: as a loose literary adaptation of Mary Shelley's novel; as a film that had, for legal reasons, to avoid adapting from James Whale's 1931 film for Universal Pictures; and as one which found immediate sources of inspiration in the Gainsborough bodice rippers of the 1940s and the poverty row horrors of the 1950s.
Frankenstein and Its Classics: The Modern Prometheus from Antiquity to Science Fiction by ISBN: 9781350054875Date: 2018-08-09Frankenstein and Its Classics is the first collection of scholarship dedicated to how Frankenstein and works inspired by it draw on ancient Greek and Roman literature, history, philosophy, and myth. Presenting twelve new essays intended for students, scholars, and other readers of Mary Shelley's novel, the volume explores classical receptions in some of Frankenstein's most important scenes, sources, and adaptations. These studies show how Frankenstein, a foundational work of science fiction, brings ancient thought to bear on some of today's most pressing issues, from bioengineering and the creation of artificial intelligence to the struggles of marginalized communities and political revolution.
The Frankenstein Archive: Essays on the Monster, the Myth, the Movies, and More by ISBN: 9780786413539Date: 2002-09-09Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley's classic novel Frankenstein: or, The Modern Prometheus, first published in 1818, started a phenomeon that has survived the years and permeated many aspects of popular culture. It has spawned numerous films, television programs, books, comics, stage presentations, and the like, and continues to do so today. Each of the 15 essays, all written by the author, is prefaced with explanatory notes that place the essay in its historical perspective, comment on its origin and content, and where appropriate, supplement the text with new, additional, or otherwise relevant information.
The Frankenstein Film Sourcebook by ISBN: 9780313313509Date: 2001-06-30The endurance of the Frankenstein narrative as a modern cinematic myth is undeniable. Its flexibility has produced classic and contemporary horror film-most notably the Universal films of the thirties-but it has also resulted in unusual hybrids, such as musical horror-comedy (The Rocky Horror Picture Show), hyperbolic parody (Flesh for Frankenstein), and science fiction (the Alien and Terminator series). This sourcebook provides a complete guide to all of the story's filmic incarnations-including essential information such as cast, creative personnel, and plot summaries-and also guides the reader to relevant primary texts such as scripts, posters, production histories, and newspaper clippings. Utilizing an approach that is both popular and scholarly, and including spotlight essays that deal with contemporary academic approaches to the subject, The Frankenstein Film Sourcebook reveals the depth of the cinematic range of interpretations of a classic modern myth.
Global Frankenstein by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9783319781419Date: 2018-10-24Consisting of sixteen original essays by experts in the field, including leading and lesser-known international scholars, Global Frankenstein considers the tremendous adaptability and rich afterlives of Mary Shelley's iconic novel, Frankenstein, at its bicentenary, in such fields and disciplines as digital technology, film, theatre, dance, medicine, book illustration, science fiction, comic books, science, and performance art.
Hideous Progenies: Dramatizations of "Frankenstein" from the Nineteenth Century to the Present by ISBN: 9781512802030Date: 2016-11-11In Hideous Progenies, Steven Earl Forry offers a historical overview of the transformation over time of the Frankenstein legend--beginning with Shelley's original and the earliest popular dramatizations of it and continuing on through the advent of cinema.
It's Alive! the Classic Cinema Saga of Frankenstein by ISBN: 9780498024733Date: 1981-03-01t's Alive! is a comprehensive and entertaining account of Universal's classic Monster series.
Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, 1818-2018 by ISBN: 9781527548893Date: 2020This new collection of nineteen essays brings together a range of international scholars to provide an introduction to, and a series of pathways through, Mary Shelley's Frankenstein. Chapters explore various topics, from the Bible, mythology, ruins, and human rights, to the sublime, the epistolary, and acoustics. They also place the novel in a wider cultural context, exploring its numerous afterlives, its reception, and adaptations in different media, such as drama, cinema, graphic novels, television series, and computer games.
Mary Shelley's Frankenstein : A Documentary Volume by ISBN: 0787696609Date: 2019-10-04This award-winning multi-volume series is dedicated to making literature and its creators better understood and more accessible to students and interested readers, while satisfying the standards of librarians, teachers and scholars. Dictionary of Literary Biography provides reliable information in an easily comprehensible format, while placing writers in the larger perspective of literary history. Dictionary of Literary Biography systematically presents career biographies and criticism of writers from all eras and all genres through volumes dedicated to specific types of literature and time periods. For a listing of Dictionary of Literary Biography volumes sorted by genre click here. 01
The Medium Is the Monster: Canadian Adaptations of Frankenstein and the Discourse of Technology by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781771992251Date: 2018-04-21The Medium Is the Monster shows how we cannot talk about technology--that human-made monstrosity--today without conjuring Frankenstein, thanks in large part to its Canadian adaptations by pop culture icons such as David Cronenberg, William Gibson, Margaret Atwood, and Deadmau5.
Monstrous Progeny by ISBN: 9780813564241Date: 2016-08-01Monstrous Progeny takes readers on a fascinating exploration of the Frankenstein family tree, tracing the literary and intellectual roots of Shelley's novel from the sixteenth century and analyzing the evolution of the book's figures and themes into modern productions that range from children's cartoons to pornography. Along the way, media scholar Lester D. Friedman and historian Allison B. Kavey examine the adaptation and evolution of Victor Frankenstein and his monster across different genres and in different eras. They demonstrate how Shelley's tale and its characters continue to provide crucial reference points for current debates about bioethics, artificial intelligence, cyborg lifeforms, and the limits of scientific progress.
On Making Fiction by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9783837665505Date: 2023-04-11Fiction is generally understood to be a fascinating, yet somehow deficient affair, merely derivative of reality. What if we could, instead, come up with an affirmative approach that takes stories seriously in their capacity to bring forth a substance of their own? Iconic texts such as Mary Shelley's Frankenstein and its numerous adaptations stubbornly resist our attempts to classify them as mere representations of reality. Friederike Danebrock shows how these texts insist that we take them seriously as agents and interlocutors in our world- and culture-making activities. Drawing on this analysis, she develops a theory of narrative fiction as a generative practice.
Postnaturalism: Frankenstein, Film, and the Anthropotechnical Interface by ISBN: 9783837628173Date: 2014-11-18Postnaturalism offers an original account of human-technological co-evolution and argues that film and media theory, in particular, needs to be re-evaluated from the perspective of our material interfaces with a constantly changing environment. Extrapolating from Frankenstein films and the resonances they establish between a hybrid monster and the spectator hooked into the machinery of the cinema, Shane Denson engages debates in science studies and philosophy of technology to rethink histories of cinema, media, technology, and ultimately of the affective channels of our own embodiment.
Transmedia Creatures: Frankenstein's Afterlives by ISBN: 9781684480616Date: 2018-10-19On the 200th anniversary of the first edition of Mary Shelley's Frankenstein, Transmedia Creatures presents studies of Frankenstein by international scholars from converging disciplines such as humanities, musicology, film studies, television studies, English and digital humanities. These innovative contributions investigate the afterlives of a novel taught in a disparate array of courses - Frankenstein disturbs and transcends boundaries, be they political, ethical, theological, aesthetic, and not least of media, ensuring its vibrant presence in contemporary popular culture.
The Creature Chronicles by ISBN: 9780786494187Date: 2014-10-13Everything you ever wanted to know about the Gill Man and his mid-1950s film career (Creature from the Black Lagoon, Revenge of the Creature, The Creature Walks Among Us) is collected in this book, packed to the gills with hour-by-hour production histories, cast bios, analyses, explorations of the music, script-to-screen comparisons, in-depth interviews and an ocean of fin-tastic photos.
Features from the Black Lagoon by ISBN: 9780786446155Date: 2010-01-19This book is the ultimate guide to the Creature (aka the Gill Man), covering his inception, his movies, and his legacy among the all-time great movie monsters. Chapters cover sea creatures in mythology and history, the making of Creature from the Black Lagoon, the film's debut, sequels Revenge of the Creature and The Creature Walks Among Us, spin-offs and rip-offs, the aborted attempts to revive the character in the 1980s and 90s, and information for collecting Gill Man merchandise and memorabilia.
The Lady from the Black Lagoon: Hollywood Monsters and the Lost Legacy of Milicent Patrick by ISBN: 9781335937803Date: 2019-03-05The Lady from the Black Lagoon uncovers the life and work of Milicent Patrick--one of Disney's first female animators and the only woman in history to create one of Hollywood's classic movie monsters As a teenager, Mallory O'Meara was thrilled to discover that one of her favorite movies, Creature from the Black Lagoon, featured a monster designed by a woman, Milicent Patrick. But for someone who should have been hailed as a pioneer in the genre, there was little information available. For, as O'Meara soon discovered, Patrick's contribution had been claimed by a jealous male colleague, her career had been cut short and she soon after had disappeared from film history.
- Godzilla (Oxford Bibliographies Online)
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of recommended books, articles, and other resources on Godzilla.
21st Century Kaiju: The Resurgence of Giant Monster Movies by ISBN: 9781476689623Date: 2023-11-30In one of modern cinema's most surprising turnarounds, a wave of 21st-century kaiju films has delivered exciting and thought-provoking viewing to global audiences. In a variety of works that range from action-packed CGI spectacles to more personal, introspective productions commenting on real-world issues of the day, the new millennium has witnessed some of the most intriguing films in any genre, including movies from such acclaimed directors such as Guillermo del Toro, Bong Joon-ho and Peter Jackson. This book takes a sober, multidimensional look at the new class of giant monster movies. It examines the making of these films and their sometimes-obscure meanings. It also covers efforts to reinvent storied kaiju characters from the past, including Godzilla and King Kong, and to transform the genre with movies such as Cloverfield, The Mist, Colossal, and Pacific Rim that feature all-new creatures.
A Critical History and Filmography of Toho's Godzilla Series by ISBN: 9780786447497Date: 2010-05-25This thoroughly updated and revised critical account of the Godzilla movie franchise explores the fascinating story behind Japan's most famous movie monster and its development from black-and-white arthouse allegory to international commercial juggernaut. This work focuses on how differences in American and Japanese culture, as well as differences in their respective film industries, underlie the discrepancies between the American and Japanese versions of the films. It features detailed filmographic data for both the American and Japanese versions of each film, including plot synopses, cast, credits, and detailed production notes.
Godzilla FAQ: All That's Left to Know About the King of the Monsters by - This link opens in a new window
ISBN: 9781495093999Date: 2017Written by a lifelong Godzilla fan and pop culture critic, Godzilla FAQ offers a comprehensive rundown of every Godzilla film ever made, in-depth biographies of major players in the franchise's history, and enough raw information to rebuild a ravaged Tokyo.
Godzilla: History of Formative Arts 1954-2016 by ISBN: 9784756254306Date: 2021From its first cinematic release as “Godzilla” in 1954 to its latest incarnation as “Shin Godzilla” in 2016, this book offers a massive collection of rare, never-before-seen still photos from the movies and behind-the-scenes studio snapshots in chronological order (excluding the Hollywood series). Bilingual explanatory text is included in each chapter to guide readers in understanding the history of Godzilla episode by episode. Sophisticated design by the designers of many of PIE International’s Japanese art books (including Wagashi, Hell in Japanese Art and others) makes this book not only gorgeous but also the ultimate must-have collector’s item for hardcore Godzilla fans.
Godzilla on My Mind: Fifty Years of the King of Monsters by ISBN: 9781403964748Date: 2004-10-15Ever since Godzilla (Gojira) crawled out of his radioactive birthplace to cut a swath of destruction through Tokyo, he has claimed a place alongside King Kong and others in the movie monster pantheon. He is the third most recognizable Japanese celebrity in the United States, and his fan base continues to grow as children today prove his enduring appeal. Bill Tsutsui takes a light-hearted look at the big, green, radioactive lizard, revealing how he was born and how he became a megastar. Godzilla on My Mind explores his lasting cultural impact on the world.
Godzilla and Kong: The Cinematic Storyboard Art of Richard Bennett by ISBN: 9781951038571Date: 2024-02-27Features storyboard art from the blockbuster hits Godzilla vs. Kong, Godzilla: King of the Monsters, and Kong: Skull Island. It features a selection of the best sequences from these three films, along with full color stills reflecting the final shots in the film. Special "Unused Scenes" sections give you an unprecedented peek into the making of the films, revealing never before seen sequences.- Gojira No Nazo : Kaijū Shinwa To Nihonjin by ISBN: 9784062093187Date: 1998Japanese language book about Godzilla film history
In Godzilla's Footsteps: Japanese Pop Culture Icons on the Global Stage by ISBN: 9781403964618Date: 2006-09-08These essays consider the Godzilla films and how they shaped and influenced postwar Japanese culture, as well as the globalization of Japanese pop culture icons. There are contributions from Film Studies, Anthropology, History, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies and from Susan Napier, Anne Allison, Christine Yano and others.
Japan's Favorite Mon-Star: The Unauthorized Biography of "The Big G" by ISBN: 9781550223484Date: 1998-06-01Godzilla emerged from the mushroom cloud of an H-Bomb test in 1954 to trample Tokyo. More than sixty years later, he reigns as the undisputed king of monsters, with legions of fans spanning several generations and countless international boundaries. Japan's Favorite Mon-Star is the first authoritative guide to the Godzilla legend published in America. This volume includes in-depth production details on all 22 Godzilla movies produced by Toho Co. of Japan between 1954 and 1995, including several "unmade" features, plus the 1998 big-budget U.S. Godzilla remake.
Japan's Green Monsters: Environmental Commentary in Kaiju Cinema by ISBN: 9781476663906Date: 2018-02-12In 1954, a massive irradiated dinosaur emerged from Tokyo Bay and rained death and destruction on the Japanese capital. Since then Godzilla and other monsters, such as Mothra and Gamera, have gained cult status around the world. This book provides a new interpretation of these monsters, or kaiju, and their respective movies. Analyzing Japanese history, society and film, the authors show the ways in which this monster cinema take on environmental and ecological issues--from nuclear power and industrial pollution to biodiversity and climate change.
The Kaiju Connection: Giant Monsters and Ourselves by ISBN: 9781476693514Date: 2023-10-02What makes a kaiju a kaiju? What makes an ape a large ape, and why do we sympathize with some, such as King Kong, and not with others, such as Konga? And what makes a giant person become a "monster"? This book provides a new perspective on kaiju and reveals that our boundaries for the genre are perhaps not so solid. This work focuses primarily on newer kaiju works, ranging from Colossal to Shin Godzilla to Godzilla vs. Kong, but also touches on classics such as King Kong, Mighty Joe Young, Godzilla Raids Again, and lesser-known works such as What to Do With the Dead Kaiju? and Agon.
The Kaiju Film: A Critical Study of Cinema's Biggest Monsters by ISBN: 9780786499632Date: 2016-02-11The Kaiju (strange monster or strange beast) film genre has a number of themes that go well beyond the "big monsters stomping on cities" motif. Since the seminal King Kong 1933) and the archetypal Godzilla (1954), kaiju has mined the subject matter of science run amok, militarism, capitalism, colonialism, consumerism and pollution. This critical examination of kaiju considers the entirety of the genre--the major franchises, along with less well known films like Kronos (1957), Monsters (2010) and Pacific Rim (2013). The author examines how kaiju has crossed cultures from its original folkloric inspirations in both the U.S. and Japan and how the genre continues to reflect national values to audiences.
Kong, Godzilla and the Living Earth by ISBN: 9781476687216Date: 2022-06-24This book, nostalgic in tone, explores the meaning of Kong and Godzilla as planetary saviors--titanic protectors of a theoretical "living Earth" Gaia--defending the globe from a prehistoric plague of adversaries.
Mummy Movies: A Comprehensive Guide by Call Number: Arts Library; PN1995.9.M83 S46 2024ISBN: 9781476687889Date: 2024-01-25In 1932, The Mummy, starring Boris Karloff, introduced another icon to the classic monster pantheon, beginning a journey down the cinematic Nile that has yet to reach its end. From the Universal classics to the Aztec Mummy series, from Hammer's versions to Mexico's Guanajuato variations, this first-ever comprehensive guide to mummy movies offers in-depth production histories and critical analyses for every feature-length iteration of bandaged horror.
The Mummy by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: SRLF; PN1997.M816 S88 2019; Also Available OnlineISBN: 9781911325956Date: 2019-09-10Released in 1932, The Mummy moved Universal horror away from the Gothic Europe of Dracula and Frankenstein and into a land of deserts, pyramids, and long-lost tombs. This book examines the roots of The Mummy. It shows how the film shares many of its motifs with the work of writers such as Bram Stoker, Arthur Conan Doyle, and H. Rider Haggard, whose tales of living mummies, immortal sorcerers, and Egyptian mysticism bear strong resemblances to Universal's movie.
The Mummy on Screen: Orientalism and Monstrosity in Horror Cinema by Call Number: Arts Library; PN1995.9.M83 G59 2020ISBN: 9781788314084Date: 2019-11-28In this compelling new study, Basil Glynn explores the history of the Mummy film, uncovering lost and half-forgotten movies along the way, revealing the cinematic Mummy to be an astonishingly diverse and protean figure with a myriad of on-screen incarnations.
The Mummy in Fact, Fiction, and Film by Call Number: Arts Library; PN1995.9.M83 C68 2002ISBN: 9780786410835Date: 2001-12-03. In this work, the authors present the religious, social and scientific aspects of mummies as well as an in-depth discussion of facts about them (largely Egyptian, but including other kinds of mummies). Then, how mummies are portrayed in fiction and in the movies is discussed. Stories and films in which the mummy is a focal character are listed.
The Mummy Unwrapped: Scenes Left on Universal's Cutting Room Floor by Call Number: SRLF; PN1995.9.M83 F47 2003ISBN: 9780786413683Date: 2003-01-09This book is devoted entirely to Universal's Mummy movies of the 1940s. It reveals lost action and dialogue by analyzing scenes that were edited out days before The Mummy's Hand was released to theaters, treats readers to other dialogue that was filmed and then cut down to almost nothing before being included in the films, and compares and contrasts the original story of The Mummy's Return to the final shooting script of what was later renamed The Mummy's Curse. Each of the films has its own chapter, and chapters are also devoted to the actors who played the heroes, heroines, high priests, victims, and mummies in the films, and to the filmmakers who brought the mummies to life.
Nosferatu by ISBN: 9780582452541Date: 2001-11-05Discover how Nosferatu director F.W. Murnau saw himself as an artist and how he uses art work and specific paintings to influence the look of a scene and how set design adds a visual intensity. Consider the film in the context of history and circumstance and how the experience of war and defeat is reflected in the film.
Nosferatu: A Symphony of Horror by ISBN: 9780993238451Date: 2016-02-23Nosferatu: A Symphony of Horror, directed by German director Friedrich Wilhelm Murnau in 1922, is not only regarded as one of the most intriguing and disquieting films to have been produced during the years of Weimar cinema but is also a key step in establishing the vampire as a cinematic figure and in shaping its connection with our subconscious fears and desires. In her analysis of this hugely influential film, Cristina Massaccesi unravels the never-ending fascination exercised by the film over generations of viewers and filmmakers whilst at the same time providing the reader with a clear guide about the film.
Nosferatu: Eine Symphonie Des Grauens by ISBN: 9781844576500Date: 2013-11-08F.W. Murnau's 1922 Nosferatu, the first (albeit unofficial) screen adaptation of Bram Stoker's Dracula, starring Max Schreck as the hollow-eyed, cadaverous vampire, remains a potent and disturbing horror film. Kevin Jackson's study traces Nosferatu's eventful production and reception history, including attempts by Stoker's widow to suppress it.
Nosferatu : Phantom der Nacht by ISBN: 9781844576531Date: 2013-11-08Werner Herzog's Nosferatu - Phantom der Nacht (1979) is one of the masterpieces of the New German Cinema of the 1960s and 70s. Adapted from Bram Stoker's Dracula, and mindful too of F. W. Murnau's earlier German film version of that same novel, Herzog's film is perhaps the most compelling screen treatment of the vampire myth. In this comprehensive account of Nosferatu, S. S. Prawer begins with discussion of Stoker's book, the cultural fascination with vampires, and the formation and evolution of Herzog's career. Taking the production history into account, Prawer ultimately foregrounds the cultural and aesthetic components of the film that combine to such powerful effect.
The Nosferatu Story: The Seminal Horror Film, Its Predecessors and Its Enduring Legacy by ISBN: 9781476672984Date: 2019-03-18Director F.W. Murnau's Nosferatu: A Symphony of Horror, made in 1921, right after the devastating Spanish Flu pandemic, has become the ultimate cult classic among horror film buffs around the world. For years there was much speculation about the production background, the filmmakers, and their star, the German actor Max Schreck. The trail leads to a group of occultists with a plan to establish a leading film company that would produce a momentous series of horror movies. Along the way, the author touches upon other classic German fantasy silents, such as The Golem, The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari and Metropolis.
Beyond the Living Dead: Essays on the Romero Legacy by Call Number: Arts Library; PN1998.3.R644 B49 2021ISBN: 9781476678375Date: 2021-09-14These new essays document, interpret, and explain the meaning of the still-budding Romero legacy, drawing cross-disciplinary perspectives from such fields as literature, political science, philosophy, and comparative film studies. Essays consider some of the sources of Romero's inspiration (including comics, science fiction, and Westerns), chart his influence as a storyteller and a social critic, and consider the legacy he leaves for viewers, artists, and those studying the living dead.
Book of the Dead: The Complete History of Zombie Cinema by Call Number: Arts Library; PN1995.9.Z63 R87 2005ISBN: 9781903254332Date: 2015-02-25From 1932's White Zombie to 28 Days Later and the current crop of Japanese shockers, the zombie movie has been one of the most enduring mainstays of international horror cinema. Now, for the first time ever, the complete history of zombie cinema is told in this lavishly illustrated and fully cross-referenced celebration of living dead cinematic culture.
Diseased Cinema: Plagues, Pandemics and Zombies in American Movies by ISBN: 1399521659Date: 2023-11-03American movies about infectious diseases have reflected and driven dominant cultural narratives during the past century. These movies - both real pandemics and imagined zombie outbreaks - have become wildly popular since the beginning of the 21st century. They have shifted from featuring a contained outbreak to an imagined containment of a known disease to a globalized, uncontainable pandemic of an unknown origin.
Screening the Undead: Vampires and Zombies in Film and Television by Call Number: Arts Library; PN1995.9.V3 S37 2014ISBN: 9781848859234Date: 2014-02-20The vampire and the zombie, the two most popular incarnations of the undead, are brought together for a forensic critical investigation in Screening the Undead. Both have a long history in popular fiction, film, television, comics and games; the vampire also remains central to popular culture today, from literary 'paranormal romance' to cult TV and movie franchises - by turns romantic, tortured, grotesque, countercultural, a goth icon or lonely outsider.
Zombie Cinema by Call Number: Arts Library; PN1995.9.Z63 O46 2017; Also Available OnlineISBN: 9780813589466Date: 2017-03-17Presenting a historical overview of zombie appearances in cinema and on television, Ian Olney also considers why, more than any other horror movie monster, zombies have captured the imagination of twenty-first-century audiences. Surveying the landmarks of zombie film and TV, from White Zombie to The Walking Dead, the book also offers unique insight into why zombies have gone global, spreading well beyond the borders of American and European cinema to turn up in films from countries as far-flung as Cuba, India, Japan, New Zealand, and Nigeria.
Zombie Culture: Autopsies of the Living Dead by Call Number: Arts Library; PN1995.9.Z63 Z66 2008ISBN: 9780810860438Date: 2008-02-15Zombie Culture brings together scholars from a variety of fields, including cinema studies, popular culture, and video game studies, who have examined the living dead through a variety of lenses. By looking at how portrayals of zombies have evolved from their folkloric roots and entered popular culture, readers will gain deeper insights into what zombies mean in terms of the public psyche, how they represent societal fears, and how their evolving portrayals continue to reflect underlying beliefs of The Other, contagion, and death.
The Zombie Movie Encyclopedia, Volume 2: 2000-2010 by Call Number: Arts Library Reference; PN1995.9.Z63 D46 2001ISBN: 9780786461639Date: 2012-09-26This is a comprehensive overview of zombie movies in the first 11 years of the new millennium, the most dynamic and vital period yet in the history of the zombie genre. It serves not only as a follow-up to its predecessor (The Zombie Movie Encyclopedia, McFarland 2001), which covered movies from 1932 up until the late 1990s, but also as a fresh exploration of what uniquely defines the genre in the 2000s. In-depth entries provide critical analysis of the zombie as creature in more than 280 feature-length movies, from 28 countries and filmed on six continents. An appendix offers shorter entries for more than 100 shorts and serials.
Zombie Movies: The Ultimate Guide by - This link opens in a new window
Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 1613744234Date: 2012-10-01Featuring chronological reviews of more than 300 zombie films--from 1932's White Zombie to the AMC series The Walking Dead -- this thorough, uproarious guide traces the evolution of one of horror cinema's most popular and terrifying creations. Fans will learn exactly what makes a zombie a zombie, go behind the scenes with a chilling production diary from Land of the Dead , peruse a bizarre list of the oddest things ever seen in undead cinema, and immerse themselves in a detailed rundown of the 25 greatest zombie films ever made.
Zombies Are Us: Essays on the Humanity of the Walking Dead by Call Number: YRL; GR581 .Z66 2011ISBN: 9780786459124Date: 2011-10-05In this volume, essays by scholars from a range of disciplines examine the zombie as a thematic presence in literature, film, video games, legal language, and philosophy, exploring topics including zombies and the environment, litigation, the afterlife, capitalism, and the erotic. Through this wide-ranging examination of the zombie phenomenon, the authors seek to discover what the zombie can teach us about being human.
Zombifying a Nation: Race, Gender, and the Haitian Loas on Screen by Call Number: Arts Library; PN1995.9.Z63 P74 2016ISBN: 9780786494248Date: 2016-08-02The figure of the zombie that entered the popular imagination with the publication of William Seabrook's The Magic Island (1929)--during the American occupation of Haiti--still holds cultural currency around the world. This book calls for a rethinking of zombies in a sociopolitical context through the examination of several films, including White Zombie (1932), The Love Wanga (1935), I Walked with a Zombie (1943) and The Serpent and the Rainbow (1988). A 21st-century film from Haiti, Zombi candidat a la presidence ... ou les amours d'un zombi, is also examined.
Selected Films on Kanopy
The Lost World (dir. Harry O. Hoyt, 1925)
"The first film adaptation of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's classic novel about a land where prehistoric creatures still roam."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
The Devil Bat (dir. Jean Yarborough, 1940)
"Dr Paul Carruthers [Bela Lugosi] appears to all of Heathville as a kindly doctor and research scientist for Heath-Morton Cosmetics, Ltd. But in his secret laboratory, Carruthers is actually conducting personal experiments--one of which is a formula for an oriental shaving lotion; another is the creation of a giant bat who hates the smell of the lotion. Bitter because founding fathers Martin Heath [Edward Mortimer] and Henry Morton [Guy Usher] got rich on his formulas while he himself is awarded with menial bonuses, Carruthers plans to sic his giant bat on their families."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Godzilla (dir. Ishiro Honda, 1954)
"GODZILLA (a.k.a. Gojira) is the roaring granddaddy of all monster movies. It’s also a remarkably humane and melancholy drama, made in Japan at a time when the country was reeling from nuclear attack and H-bomb testing in the Pacific. Its rampaging radioactive beast, the poignant embodiment of an entire population’s fears, became a beloved international icon of destruction, spawning almost thirty sequels."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
The Blob (dir. Irvin Yeaworth, 1958)
"A cult classic of gooey greatness, THE BLOB follows the havoc wreaked on a small town by an outer-space monster with neither soul nor vertebrae, with Steve McQueen playing the rebel teen who tries to warn the residents about the jellylike invader."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Piranha (dir. Joe Dante, 1978)
"When flesh-eating piranhas are accidentally released into a summer resort's rivers, the guests become their next meal."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
"A creature plunges from a bridge into the Han River, emerging on its shores for a feeding frenzy upon onlookers. When a young girl is snatched in the melee, her family sets off to recover her from the monster."
UCLA students, staff, and faculty access through Kanopy. Log into the campus VPN or proxy server to view video.
Frankenstein Remembered (dir. Chris Gerrard, 2024)
"Since its publication 200 years ago, Mary Shelley’s Frankenstein has influenced vast swathes of popular culture. Adaptations have starred cinema legends from Boris Karloff and Robert De Niro to even Alvin and the Chipmunks. From tales of science gone mad (Jurassic Park) to stories of understanding the other (E.T., The Hulk, Arrival), traces of the story and its themes have spread across our media. With “Frankenstein (Re)Membered,” video artist and film historian Chris Gerrard collects these diverse fragments from the birth of cinema until the present day and, in the tradition of Victor Frankenstein himself, attempts to stitch them back together into an adaptation of the original Shelley novel."