Popular Topics: Paper 2
This page links to subject searches in the Library catalog, as well as class reserve books and other sources on very selective paper topics related to the 6A second paper. While some books related to the time frame of the second paper are on class reserve, many others are not compared to paper #1. The titles and searches here are meant as possible starting places only (not as a comprehensive list or everything you might need). Students are also encouraged to think creatively beyond these topics, or on a specific aspect of them.
If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access. Also search for articles using the article databases tab.
1970s Cinema
- Volume 9: Lost Illusions: American Cinema in the Shadow of Watergate and Vietnam (1970-1979)
This link opens in a new window
From the History of the American Cinema e-book set. - Last Great American Picture Show : New Hollywood Cinema in the 1970s
- This link opens in a new window
E-book (2 different versions available) - Transfigurations: Violence, Death, and Masculinity in American CinemaOpen access e-book. Contains writing on Martin Scorsese, Sam Peckinpah and Francis Ford Coppola.
- Bigger Than Blockbusters: Movies That Defined America
- This link opens in a new window
Includes chapters by decades, including the 1970s. - Blockbusters: A Reference Guide to Film Genres
- This link opens in a new window
E-book with overviews of genres that cover many decades. - Film History: An Introduction
- This link opens in a new window
Chapter 22 covers "The New Hollywood: Late 1960s to Late 1970s" (p. 478-93). - Film: An International History of the MediumChapter 20 contains information on "Movies and Social Movements," "Genre Revision," and "The Movie Brats" (Coppola, Lucas, Scorsese, Spielberg). Pages 416-37.
- Wiley-Blackwell History of American Film
- This link opens in a new window
Volumes 3 and 4 cover the 1970s.
Censorship
- Motion pictures Censorship United StatesSubject search in the Library catalog for books on U.S. censorship of motion pictures.
- Motion pictures censorshipSubject search in Library catalog for books with headings on motion pictures and censorship generally.
- A History of Narrative FilmContains sections on "Hollywood Scandals and the Creation of the MPPDA" (p.185) and "Studio Politics and the Production Code" (p.236)
- Film: The Democratic ArtIncludes multiple sections on censorship, social control of film, the Hays Office, and the Motion Picture Production Code.
- Hollywood's Censor: Joseph I. Breen and the Production Code Administration (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
- Motion Picture Association of America. Production Code Administration recordsRecords on individual films by the PCA, from the Academy of Motion Pictures.
- The American Film Industry (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
- The Dame in the Kimono: Hollywood, Censorship, and the Production Code
- This link opens in a new window
- Transforming the Screen, 1950-1959 (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
Volume 7 of History of the American Cinema, with chapters on both censorship and the blacklist.
- Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968 (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Motion Picture Association of America Production Code Administration collection, selected from the holdings of the Margaret Herrick Library of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences in Beverly Hills, California.
Communism and the Hollywood Blacklist
- Blacklisting of entertainers--United States--History--20th centurySubject search in Library catalog for books on blacklisting of entertainers.
- Blacklisting of authors--California--Los AngelesLibrary Catalog search for books with headings on blacklisted authors.
- Communism and motion pictures--United StatesSubject heading search in Library Catalog.
- House Committee on Un-American ActivitiesLibrary Catalog search for HUAC books and documents.
- 'Un-American' Hollywood: Politics and Film in the Blacklist Era (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
- Hollywood Unions and Hollywood Blacklists (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
Chapter in Wiley-Blackwell History of American Film. - Transforming the Screen, 1950-1959 (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
Volume 7 of History of the American Cinema, with chapters on both censorship and the blacklist. - Dalton Trumbo: Blacklisted Hollywood Radical (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
3 concurrent user limit. Print copy also available. - Film Criticism, the Cold War, and the Blacklist: Reading the Hollywood Reds (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
- FBI File: Hollywood and J. Edgar Hoover: Communists in the Motion Picture Industry (Archives Unbound) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
FBI investigative reports from the Cold War chronicling the working of major film studios such as MGM, Paramount, RKO, and Warner Brothers, and studio management and labor union power struggles.
Film Noir
- Film noir history and criticismSearches library catalog for works on film noir history and criticism. Also click on heading for "Film noir--United States--History and Criticism"
- Companion to Film Noir (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
- Encyclopedia of Film Noir (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
- The Red and the Black: American Film Noir in the 1950s (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
- Shots in the Mirror: Crime Films and Society (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
- More than Night: Film Noir in its Contexts (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
- Film Noir, by William Luhr (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
- Film Noir, by Pettey and Palmer (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
Three concurrent user limit.
Motion Picture Studios and the Studio System
- Motion picture studios California Los Angeles HistorySearches subject headings in catalog for Los Angeles studio history.
- Motion picture industry United States HistorySearches Library Catalog for headings related to U.S. motion picture industry history.
- A History of Narrative FilmContains section on "The Sound Film and the American Studio System" (p.231-288), with information on studio politics and the production code, the structure of the studio system, and major figures of the studio era.
- "Era of the Moguls: The Studio System"
- This link opens in a new window
Chapter from The Wiley-Blackwell History of American Film. - The Classical Hollywood Cinema: Film Style & Mode of Production to 1960Details the development of the studio system of production, including standardization of practice, centralization of management, labor division, and technology.
- United Artists: The Company Built by the Stars, 1919-1950 (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
- United Artists: The Company Built by the Stars, 1951-1978 (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
Movie Stars, the Star System, and Fan Culture
- Motion picture actors and actressesLibrary Catalog search for broad heading on actors and actresses (used as a subject heading instead of "stars").
- Film History: Theory and PracticeContains section on social film history, including "Case Study: The Role of the Star in Film History" (p. 172-184).
- Inside the Hollywood Fan Magazine (e-book version)
- This link opens in a new window
- Movie Star EphemeraDigitized by the Academy of Motion Pictures: "examples of movie star and fan ephemera and collectibles from across the library’s collections. Items include scrapbooks, fan magazine covers, fan club publications and movie star memorabilia."
- The American Movie Industry: The Business of Motion PicturesIncludes chapter on "Hollywood's Movie Star System: A Historical Overview" (p. 79-93).
- "The Star System"
- This link opens in a new window
Chapter from The Wiley-Blackwell History of American Film.
Television and the Motion Picture Industry
- Motion pictures and television--United StatesLibrary Catalog search for books specifically on the relationship between film and tv.
- "Hollywood and Television in the 1950s: The Roots of Diversification."
- This link opens in a new window
E-book chapter from Transforming the Screen, 1950-1959. History of the American Cinema, volume 7. - "The Runaway Audience and the Changing World of Movie Exhibition."
- This link opens in a new window
E-book chapter from The Sixties: 1960-1969. History of the American Cinema, Vol. 8. - Cinema and the Age of Television, 1946–1975
- This link opens in a new window
E-book chapter in the Wiley-Blackwell History of American Film.
World War II and the Motion Picture Industry
- World War, 1939-1945 Motion pictures and the WarSearches Library Catalog for headings related to motion pictures and the World War II.
- World War, 1939-1945 PropagandaSearches Library Catalog for books with headings related to the war and propaganda.
- Wiley-Blackwell History of American Film (e-book)
- This link opens in a new window
Volume 3 covers 1939-1945. - A History of Narrative FilmContains chapter on "Wartime and Postwar Cinema: Italy and the United States, 1940-1951," p. 275-300
- Hollywood During World War IIPrimary source materials digitized by the Academy of Motion Pictures: "A selection of rare documents, photographs, and ephemera related to Hollywood’s participation in the war effort"