Government and Census Data
- About Sexual Orientation & Gender Identity (U.S. Census Bureau)Includes links to measures of sexual orientation and gender identity in federal surveys, evaluations, and research agendas. Many pages pertaining to LGBTQ data were removed by the Census Bureau in January 2025. This page has been archived by the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.
- American Community Survey (ACS)An addition to the decennial census, beginning in 1996, provides more in-depth information on communities than in previous censuses.
- AtlasPlus (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)Contains 20 years of data for H.I.V. and several other diseases. Many pages pertaining to LGBTQ health were removed by the CDC in January 2025. This page has been archived by the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.
- Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS)From the CDC. Some states collect sexual identity data on the BRFSS at their own expense. You must contact the state coordinator to inquire about the data.
- CDC datasets uploaded before January 28th, 2025 (Internet Archive)An archive of all CDC datasets uploaded to https://data.cdc.gov/browse before January 28th, 2025. Excludes corrupt datasets and data not publicly accessible.
- CDC Guidelines Removed by the Trump Administration (2025)Data removed from U.S. government pages in January 2025 related to contraception, sexual health, youth, LGBTQIA people, and sexual and intimate partner violence.
- Data.gov Archive (Library Innovation Lab, Harvard Law School Library)This is a regularly updated mirror of all data files linked from data.gov. The repository is maintained by the Harvard Law School Library Innovation Lab as part of a project to preserve U.S. federal public data.
- Explore Census Data (formerly American FactFinder)Demographic and economic profiles for all regions of the United States.
- Government Census Data: Same-Sex CouplesIncludes working papers, tables, and publications. Many pages pertaining to LGBTQ data were removed by the Census Bureau in January 2025. This page has been archived by the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.
- Historical Statistics of the United States-Millennial Edition Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Searchable updated source of historical data on government statistics, including population, work and welfare, economics, and more. - International Historical Statistics, 1750-2010 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online edition of a three volume set, covering the Americas, Europe, and Africa, Asia, and Oceania.
- Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health (Centers for Disease Control and Prevention)Includes survey reports and data on LGBT health. Many pages pertaining to LGBTQ health were removed by the CDC in January 2025. This page has been archived by the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current and historical demographic and social data, plus online tools to create custom maps and reports. Optional personal login account required to save and share projects online.
- TargetHIV (Health Resources and Services Administration)Technical assistance and training resources to HRSA's Ryan White-funded agencies, including Ryan White HIV/AIDS Program Services Report (RSR). Many pages pertaining to LGBTQ health were removed by the government of the United States in January 2025. This page has been archived by the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.
- Youth Risk Behavior Surveillance System (2023)Includes student responses on sexual behavior, whether they identify as transgender, and overall LGBTQ+ wellbeing. Many pages pertaining to LGBTQ health were removed by the CDC in January 2025. This page has been archived by the Internet Archive's Wayback Machine.
Online Resources and Reports
- Data Interactives (Williams Institute, UCLA School of Law)A UCLA think tank dedicated to conducting independent research on sexual orientation and gender identity law, including demographics.
- Global Acceptance Index (UCLA Williams Institute)Uses data from more than 2,750 surveys conducted over 30 years to measure changing levels of acceptance toward LGBT people and issues in 175 countries.
- U.S. Trans SurveyFrom the National Center for Transgender Equality (NCTE), "the largest-ever research survey that provides much-needed data to help the public understand the lives and experiences of trans people in the United States and the disparities that many of us face."
- Social Justice Sexuality ProjectOne of the largest ever national surveys of Black, Latinx, and Asian and Pacific Islander, and multiracial LGBTQIA+ people. With over 5,000 respondents, the final sample includes respondents from all 50 states; Washington, DC, and Puerto Rico.
- Community Marketing, Inc. - LGBT ResearchMarketing data including the Annual LGBT Community Survey.
- MAP (Movement Advancement Project): LGBT PopulationsMaps of LGBT Populations by state, plus additional sociodemographic information.
- A Survey of LGBT Americans (Pew Research Center, 2013)Includes selected demographic data.
- Invisible in Data: The Lack of LGBTQ Data CollectionFrom the Georgetown Public Policy Review (2018).
- QTBIPOC Student Experiences Project (UCLA)UCLA LGBTQ Campus Resource Center multi-year qualitative needs assessment on the experiences of UCLA’s lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, asexual, aromantic, and intersex (LGBTQIA+) graduate and undergraduate Black, Indigenous, Students of Color (BIPOC).
Library Databases
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online data and mapping application with access to more than 10,000 indicators for U.S. demographics, housing and real estate, income, mortgages, health, and more. Create custom maps, tables, and reports and upload your own data without expensive software and training. Data that was removed by the federal government in 2025 is available in PolicyMap. - Sage Data (powered by Data Planet) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A repository of publicly, privately, and commercially sourced statistical time-series data, with integrated analysis and mapping tools. - Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large archive of surveys useful in secondary analysis and quantitative research. Includes political and election studies, education studies, population research, economic attitudes and behavior, social indicators, and studies on health status from the United States and many countries worldwide. Searches of holdings are possible using author, title, keyword, or study number. For assistance, ask at the Data Science Center.
- SimplyAnalytics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including: demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Premium business directory providing access to over 20 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands and 450 categories as well as crosstab functionality with the Simmons NCS data. Premium market segment data is available from the PRIZM, ConneXions, and P$YCLE datasets enabling researchers to identify target market segments based on lifestyle, tech usage, and income. Localized survey data is available from the Nielsen Scarborough dataset, along with detailed financial data from the Financial CLOUT dataset. Data is available down to the Census Block Group level.
- Business Databases by CategoryFrom the UCLA Anderson School of Management Rosenfeld Library, this page lists available Library databases by category, including market research, technology, and company information. NOTE: some databases are only available to Anderson students.