Biographical Information
Below are some basic places to start when looking for biographical information online.
- American National Biography Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Extensive biographical entries on historical Americans.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography
- This link opens in a new window
Biographies of British individuals throughout history.
- Biography Index Past and Present (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of biographical books and articles from 1946 to present.
Online Reference Tools
Use these reference works to provide an overview of your topic, define terms, and identify recommended readings. If connecting from home, make sure your computer is configured for off-campus access.
- Cambridge Companions Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes Companions to Literature and Classics, Companions to Music, and Companions to Philosophy, Religion, and Culture.
- A Companion to Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Full text Wiley e-book version of the 2007 volume. - Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
- This link opens in a new window
Includes entries on ACT UP, LGBT Movement, Gay Liberation Front, Queer Theory, Transgender Movement, and more. - Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
- This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia with a broad survey of entries on U.S. LGBT history. - Encyclopedia of HomosexualityOnline wiki version of the 1990 Garland Publishing encyclopedia. The print version is also available at YRL, College, and Biomed Libraries.
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text online of several interdisciplinary reference books that are cross-searchable.
- GLBTQ: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, & Queer EncyclopediaLarge internet encyclopedia of information on LGBTQ issues and history.
- Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History
- This link opens in a new window
Covers LGBTQ topics globally, and with an interdisciplinary approach that includes film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events. - Greenwood Encyclopedia of LGBT Issues Worldwide
- This link opens in a new window
Includes searchable entries listed by country. - International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences
- This link opens in a new window
Major online social science encyclopedia, including many entries relevant to the study of gender and sexuality. - LGBTQ America Today: An Encyclopedia
- This link opens in a new window
Entries on a broad range of contemporary topics related to LGBTQ culture in the United States. - Queer Comics DatabaseDatabase designed to help researchers discover comics that tell a wide range of LGBTQ stories.
- Research Methods — Primary Sources This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Designed as a tool to support students of the humanities and social sciences, Research Methods Primary Sources introduces the key approaches to working with source materials and historical evidence. - Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Handbooks covering a wide range of humanities, social sciences, psychology and some science topics, published by Routledge, Ashgate and other imprints. Some CRC Press handbooks can also be accessed via this particular site. - Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.
- Sage Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies
- This link opens in a new window
"[F]ocuses on LGBTQ issues and identity primarily through the lenses of psychology, human development and sociology, emphasizing queer, feminist and ecological perspectives on the topic." - Sage Encyclopedia of Trans Studies
- This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedia with articles and bibliographies on the experiences of trans people in different racial, religious, and sexual communities in the United States and the variety of ways that gender is expressed in other countries. Among the fields of study covered are psychology, sociology, history, family studies, education, law/political science, medicine, economics, literature, popular culture, the media, and sports.
- SAGE Knowledge This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of full-text reference works, including the Encyclopedia of Interpersonal Violence, the Encyclopedia of Gender and Society, the Encyclopedia of Global Health, and the Encyclopedia of Race, Ethnicity, and Society. - SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Books, reference works, and instructional videos about qualitative and quantitative methodologies in the sciences and social sciences. Includes Research Tools (online tools for planning research and choosing methods), Cases (examples of real research), Video (research process, data science, and methods) and Datasets (sample data chosen specifically to support practice with various statistical analysis methods). Includes Diversifying and Decolonizing Research, and Sage Research Methods Video: Quantitative and Mixed Methods.
Selected Internet Resources
- Advocate.comOnline news edition of The Advocate. The UCLA Library also has access to historical back issues via the LGBT Magazine Archive.
- Gay, Lesbian, and Transgender Health (Medline Plus)Reference introduction to major LGBT health topics, with accessible information for general users.
- GLBTQ: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender, & Queer EncyclopediaLarge internet encyclopedia of information on LGBTQ issues and history.
- Homosaurus: An International LGBTQ+ Linked Data Vocabulary"The Homosaurus is an international linked data vocabulary of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) terms. This vocabulary is intended to function as a companion to broad subject term vocabularies, such as the Library of Congress Subject Headings. Libraries, archives, museums, and other institutions are encouraged to use the Homosaurus to support LGBTQ research by enhancing the discoverability of their LGBTQ resources."
- Out History: Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trangender, & Queer History by the LGBTQ CommunityA project of CLAGS (Center for Lesbian and Gay Studies), an institute at the City University of New York Graduate Center. Includes online exhibits.
- The Out MuseumIn connection with Outfest, an LGBTQ+ arts and media virtual museum featuring curated videos and exhibits.
- Voice of the Shuttle: Gender and Sexuality StudiesMetasite with links to many different resources and directories, including a specific section on Queer Studies.