Featured Online
- IN FOCUS: Pride (UCLA Newsroom, 2024) A curated selection of stories from across the UCLA campus spotlighting LGBTQ+ voices, histories and research
- Pride Month 2023: Read, watch, listen (UCLA Newsroom)Recommendations from UCLA staff, published by UCLA Newsroom.
Librarian
Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Images and Stills
Collage Poster of SCWU, 1981
Image from the UCLA Library Digital Collections, SCWU Collection, June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives
"Get Used To It" TV Series (1992-2012)
Images from the UCLA Film & Television Archive
Paris is Burning (Jennie Livingstone, 1990)
Image from the UCLA Film & TV Archive
Connexxus office: Brothers for Sisters Committee Members Start Construction on Wall of Support for Connexxus
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections, Connexxus/Centro de Mujeres Collection, June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives
ACT Up Paris Poster, 2005/08
Image from UCLA Library Digital Collections
Tongues Untied (Marlon T. Riggs, 1989)
Image from the UCLA Film & Television Archive
Eleventh Lesbian Rights Award Dinner - Dinner Program, 1987
Image from UCLA Library Digital Special Collections, SCWU Collection, June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives
Different from the Others / Anders als die Aldern (Richard Oswald, 1919)
Image from the UCLA Film & Television Archive
Carpentry Collective Softball League 1978-1980
UCLA Library Digital Special Collections, Mikels (Elaine) Paper, June L. Mazer Lesbian Archives
Proud to Be Queer Poster, New Zealand AIDS Foundation, 1986
Image from UCLA Library Digital Special Collections
Saving Face (Alice Wu, 2004)
Image from UCLA Film & Television Archive
UC Library Search
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Core Research Databases
These online sources are good places to start your research in LGBTQ Studies. For quick reference, hold your mouse over a link for a brief description of the resource. Make sure you are configured for off-campus access if researching from home.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text publications focusing on the impact of gender across multiple subject areas. Include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and more.
- LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing and abstracts for LGBTQ-specific core periodicals, core books and reference works. In addition, other source-types such as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. are represented. Former database title: LGBT Life.
- LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s to more recent years. Includes many of the most influential, long-running 20th/21st-century magazines in this field, including The Advocate. UCLA subscribes to Collection 1 of this database. - LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online portal with full text books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements from the 20th century to the present. The purchase of LGBT Thought and Culture was made possible through a generous gift from the David Bohnett Foundation.
- LGBT Studies in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Streaming video collection that includes documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, AIDS, transgender issues, and other topics.
- Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations for a wide range of topics in the study of women and gender, 1972-present.
- Archives of Sexuality and Gender (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized primary sources on social, political, health, and legal issues concerning gender and sexuality, and impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes newsletters and newspapers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more. Contributing repositories include: Kinsey Institute, British Library, Lesbian Herstory, Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives, National Library of Medicine, and more. UCLA provides access to Parts I and II (LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940), Part III (Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century), Part IV (International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture), and Part VI (Community and Identity in North America). - Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes major journals in many disciplines. - Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing for over 700 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines covering cultural, economic, political & social change. Includes 1969-present. - APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- Queer Pasts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. Each of the document collections includes a critical introductory essay that helps explain the significance of the primary sources. This database prioritizes the experiences and perspectives of under-represented historical groups, including people of color, trans people, and people with disabilities. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains citations for articles from journals, books, conference papers, and dissertations in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Covers 1952-present.
Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies