Librarian
Research Help
Need more research help? We're here for you.
Chat with us online
Email us your quick questions
Connect with a subject specialist
Selected Images
Justice for Chicanos in the Motion Picture and Television Industry Meeting (Los Angeles, 1973)
Members of Justicia (Justice for Chicanos in the Motion Picture and Television Industry). Ray Andrade (center), a former professional boxer and Green Beret in Vietnam, formed Justicia to protect the image of Chicanos in media. The organization was eventually disbanded, but it helped pave the way for equal opportunities for Chicanos in the industry.
From The Shades of L.A. Photo Collection, Los Angeles Public Library
Chicano Moratorium: A Question of Freedom (1971)
Film still provided by the UCLA Film and Television Archive.
Romance Tropical (dir. Juan Emilio Viguié, 1934)
Film still provided by the UCLA Film and Television Archive.
Behind-the-Scenes Photo (Poteet, TX, 1996)
Film Set for Selena (dir. Gregory Nava, 1997). Principal Actors: Constance Marie (left), Jennifer Lopez, and Edward James Olmos (far right) surround director Gregory Nava as they watch playback footage.
Rita Moreno holding an Oscar statue (Los Angeles, 1963)
Rita Moreno became the first Latin American woman to win an Academy Award, for her acting performance in West Side Story (dir. Robert Wise and Jerome Robbins, 1961)
From the Los Angeles Herald Examiner Photo Collection, Los Angeles Public Library
Frida (dir. Julie Taymor, 2002)
A film still from Frida. Mexican actress Salma Hayek portrays the famous Mexican painter.
Via Film Grab
Please, Don't Bury Me Alive!/ ¡Por Favor, No Me Entierren Vivo! (1976) (dir. Efraín Gutiérrez, 1977)
Film still provided by the UCLA Film and Television Archive.
El rey de los gitanos (dir. Frank Strayer, 1933)
Film still provided by the UCLA Film and Television Archive.
Welcome and Introduction
This guide was created in 2022-2023 by Arts Library Research Assistant Diana Cardenas. The guide explores resources on Latinx and Chicanx film, television, and associated media.
Reference sources to begin exploring:
- Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States and the entry for Media.
- Film entry from Oxford Bibliographies Online (Latino Studies)
Below are associated guides that can help with your research journey:
Terminology
The research guide curators acknowledge that terminology and naming of ethnic and racial categories is complex, imperfect, often contentious, and contextual. See below for some resources and examination of terms.
- What is the Difference Between "Hispanic," "Mexican," "Latino," and "Chicano"?SpanishDict basic definitions
- What’s the difference between Hispanic, Latino and Latinx?By Antonio Campo, 2021
- Who You Calling 'Hispanic'?Code Switch podcast, 2021
- The X In Latinx Is A Wound, Not A TrendBy Alan Pelaez Lopez, 2018
UC Library Search
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new window
UC Library Search is the unified discovery and borrowing system for all 10 UC Campuses. Select the UCLA Library Catalog scope to search holdings of materials owned by the UCLA Library and other UCLA collections, whether online or in print. Does not contain full-text articles or article citations. Select the Articles, books and more scope to search for materials in all 10 UC campuses. More information in this guide.
Connecting from Off-Campus: VPN and Proxy Tutorials
The Library's online subscription resources can always be accessed from computers and wireless networks on campus. However, off-campus access is restricted to current UCLA, students, faculty, and staff who have set up their computer using one of the methods below. Click on the other tabs to see how four Bruins got their computers set up and ready to go for remote access!
If you still need help, you can contact the UCLA IT Support Center at (310) 267-4357 or help@it.ucla.edu. They provide 24/7 phone support.
- Virtual Private Networking (VPN)A program you can download and install, or use the built-in version on many computers or mobile devices. VPN software must be logged on manually before you access a restricted site, but works for all programs on your computer. It stays connected until you log off.
- UCLA Online Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
VPN on Mac with Natalie
"I chose VPN for my mac because I need to be able to access the full text of articles on different browsers." - Natalie, Environmental Science
VPN on Windows with Michael
"I chose VPN because I like the security it provides and the control it gives me as a user to manually enable or disable it when I'm browsing online." - Michael, Public Affairs
VPN on Chromebook with Nadia
"I chose VPN because it is really simple to use!" - Nadia, Public Affairs
Proxy on Mac with Kate
"I chose Proxy because I prefer logging in through a web browser without having to download any software on my computer." - Kate, Ethnic Studies