Research Guides: Latinx and Chicanx Film and Television: Special Collections and Archives

UCLA Library Special Collections

UCLA Library Special Collections (LSC)
UCLA Library Special Collections (LSC) acquires, preserves and makes accessible a world-class collection of archives, rare books, manuscripts, photographs and other rare and unique materials.
Chicano Studies Research Center Archives (CSRC)
The CSRC holds over 690 archival collections. This includes personal papers, organizational records, congregational papers, artist and art archives, audiovisual collections, digital collections, and oral histories. Materials date from the early 1900s to the present, and on subjects such as art, history, music, film, theater, literature, and more!
Online Archive of California (OAC)
The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 300 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.
Film and Television Research in Library Special Collections Guide
UCLA Library Special Collections stewards many primary source materials pertaining to Film. This guide is intended as a starting place to point researchers to these materials and also serves as a basic orientation on using Library Special Collections holdings.
Chicana and Chicano Studies in Library Special Collections Guide
This guide assembles a selection of UCLA Library's primary source holdings in Chicana and Chicano history and is intended as a starting place to point researchers to significant collections that cover the history of Mexicans in North America

Selected Latinx Media Related Collections

Alturas Film Records
Alturas Films is a film production company based in Emeryville, Californis. Founded by Rick Tejada-Flores, it specializes in documentaries that focus on overlooked topics in Latino and Latin American culture, many of which were broadcast on public television. Among its films are Low 'n Slow, Rivera in America, and Elvia.
The Bronze Screen: 100 Years of the Latino Image in Hollywood Production Materials
The Bronze Screen: 100 Years of the Latino Image in Hollywood is a 2002 documentary directed by Nancy de los Santos, Alberto Dominguez, and Susan Racho. The collection consists of interview transcripts and copyright clearances.
CARA (Chicano Art: Resistance and Affirmation) Records
CARA was a traveling exhibition of Chicano art curated by the Wight Gallery at UCLA. Opening in 1990, it was a showcase of some 180 works of art (including moving images and film) produced between 1964-1985 by about 140 Chicano and 40 Chicana artists. Unprecedented in scope, it was the first major exhibition to showcase Chicanx art for a national audience.
Dan Guerrero Papers
The Dan Guerrero Papers include ephemera, press kits, clippings, photographs, and audiovisual materials documenting Mr. Guerrero's successful career as a Chicano activist, producer, and performance artist. Guerrero is an award-winning producer of diverse programming for network and cable television and of live arts and culture concert events.
Dennis E. Leoni (Resurrection Blvd.) Papers
Dennis E. Leoni is the creator and producer of Resurrection Blvd., a dramatic television series that ran on Showtime for three seasons from 2000-2002. He has served on the Board of Trustees for the National Association of Latino Independent Producers, a national membership organization that addresses the professional needs of Latino/Latina independent producers.
Vista En LA
Vista en LA is a contemporary, popular music, entertainment magazine aimed at the Latino Spanish speaking audience with wide cross-over English speaking audiences in Southern California. The collection contains the personal and organizational papers of Vista en L.A. including artist information, personal interviews, magazine stories, photographs, and other unique source information such as media kits, biographies, and videos.
VIVA Records 1970-2000
VIVA, Lesbian and Gay Latino Artists, was a non-profit arts agency founded in 1987 for the purpose of promoting the creative and artistic talent of Lesbians, Gays, Latina and Latino artists and their culture.

Collection of Motion Picture Press Kits, 1939-ongoing
The collection consists of press kits for primarily American released films and includes 3,700 plus film titles and represent a variety of film genres which were produced by studios such as Columbia Pictures, 20th Century Fox, MGM, Paramount, United Artists, Universal, and Warner Bros.
National Hispanic Media Coalition Subject Files
The National Hispanic Media Coalition (NHMC) is a non profit organization formed to improve the image and employment of Hispanic Americans in all facets of the media industry and to advocate for media and telecommunications policies that benefit the Latino community. The collection consists of subject files documenting the NHMC's activities to address media-related issues affecting the Hispanic American community from ca. 1989 through 1999.
Mexican Film Stills
The collection consists mostly of stills from films produced in Mexico from the 1950s to the 1970s. There are a few titles from the 1930s and 1940s and a few from other Spanish-speaking countries. There is also a small but significant number of stills from exploitation films of the 1960s and early 1970s.

Spotlight on Latino Film Culture in Los Angeles and Hollywood (Margaret Herrick Library Digital Collection)
A selection of Margaret Herrick Library materials celebrating Latin American motion picture art and industry.
Agrasanchez Film Collection (Texas A&M University)
Materials originally held by the Agrasanchez Film Archive in Harlingen, Texas. 360 movie posters, 6,727 movie stills, and 253 lobby and window cards pertaining to Mexican cinema from the 1936's through the 1980's, as well as 49 Mexican movies in VHS format, and 100 area theater records, including Kingsville, Alice, and Falfurrias, Texas.
Latino Hollywood Screenplays Collection (Michigan State University)
This collection of scripts, script drafts and script continuities contains 370 individual scripts from 268 film/television productions that contain Latino characters, and/or characters played by Latino actors, and/or are written or directed by Latino artists. Dating from 1929 to 2000, the collection explores the history of Latinos in American film. This includes Latino characters played by a variety of ethnicities. The practice of Anglo stars and actors of various ethnic backgrounds portraying Latino characters was common in early film and was still in vogue throughout the 1960s. It is possible, using this archive, to study the changing image and perception of the Latino culture throughout much of the 20th century.
Off the Shelves: Hispanic and Latinx Collection Spotlight (BAMPFA)
Berkeley Art Museum and Pacific Film Archive (BAMPFA) spotlights some Latinx material in their collection.