Research Guides: Latinx and Chicanx Film and Television: UCLA Film & Television Archive

UCLA Film & Television Archive (FTVA)

The UCLA Film & Television Archive holds over 350,000 motion pictures and 170,000 television programs, spanning the entire course of film and broadcasting history. The collection includes independent and studio-produced shorts and feature films, documentaries, local and network TV programming, commercials, news and public affairs broadcasts, LGBTQIA media, and 27 million feet of newsreels produced between 1919 and 1971.

Not all of the Archive's holdings are listed in the public catalog, so contacting the Archive Research and Study Center directly about holdings and access is recommended.

UCLA Film & Television Archive Catalog This link opens in a new window
Motion pictures (silent era, classic Hollywood, independent cinema, LGBT collections, documentaries and newsreels, animated cartoons, foreign and contemporary American films), television (American telecasting from 1945 to date), and news and public affairs programs (1950 to date).
Film Collections; Theater, Film & Television; Archives

UCLA Film and Television Archive Research & Study Center
UCLA Film & Television Archive: Explore Collections
Includes help on using the Archive's catalog, as well as profiles of major collections by topic.
UCLA Film & Television Archive Online Collections
Includes KTLA news footage documenting local history, the LGBTQIA series In the Life, selected L.A. Rebellion and UCLA student films, and more.

Selected Film Collections and Print Resources

Chicana/o/x Film and Television Collection
The UCLA Film & Television Archive holds a wide selection of motion picture and television titles made by and about Chicana/o/x communities. These films and programs span from the 1930s to contemporary television dramas and provide a unique opportunity to survey a history of representations related to Mexican American communities both within the commercial mainstream media, and through the diverse range of productions produced by Chicana/o/x people.
“Chicano Moratorium”: A Document of Youth-led Activism and Police Brutality in 1970s Los Angeles
FTVA blog entry (2022) on the history of the film, which is available streaming online.
Latin American Institute Film and Media Collection
The UCLA Film & Television Archive holds the UCLA Latin American Institute Film and Media Collection of over 300 DVDs. These films and television programs include a wide selection of Latin American titles, including Spanish and Portuguese language telenovelas, documentaries, and feature films. These holdings span from the 1950s to contemporary television series and provide a unique opportunity to survey a history of representations of Latin America.
Los Angeles Collection
The UCLA Film & Television Archive holds a wide selection of newsreel footage, motion picture and television titles related to the development of the city of Los Angeles and its history.

Canción de la Raza (1968)
Chicana (1979)
Chicano Moratorium: A Question of Freedom (in English, 1971)
Available streaming online.
Chicano Moratorium: A Question of Freedom (in Spanish/en español, 1971)
Available streaming online.
Cinco Vidas (1973)
Please, Don't Bury Me Alive! / ¡Por Favor, No Me Entierren Vivo! (1976)
More information from the FTVA screening found on the UCLA FTVA website, including a video introduction and Q&A with filmmaker Efraín Gutiérrez and Chon Noriega, former Director of the UCLA Chicano Studies Research Center and current UCLA professor.
Reflecciones "Stereotyping" (1973)
Requiem - 29 (1970)
The Siesta is Over--excerpts, including Ruben Salazar (1970)
Vista L.A. "The Chicano movement--25 years later" (1995)
Yo Soy Chicano (1972)

The Academy: Los Angeles Latino International Film Festival Collection
The titles in the LALIFF Collection, now numbering over 500, represent films made by Latinos in the Hispanic diaspora, and are a continually growing documentation of Latino cinema, both past and present.
The Academy: Margaret Herrick Library
The Margaret Herrick Library is a world-renowned, non-circulating reference and research collection devoted to the history and development of the motion picture as an art form and an industry. Established in 1928 and now located in Beverly Hills, the library is open to the public by appointment and used year-round by students, scholars, historians and industry professionals.
Louis B. Mayer AFI Library and Archive
Founded in 1969, the Louis B. Mayer Library is dedicated to supporting AFI Conservatory studies by offering resources that complement the curriculum and promote scholarship. Resources consist of book, film, audio, video, manuscript and other collections focusing on the history and craft of visual storytelling.
Writers Guild Foundation Shavelson-Webb Library
Open to the public and home to over 40,000 items. The library preserves and promotes the craft, history, and voices of screen storytelling. To meet that goal, they collect scripts and related materials, and make them available to everyone who comes to visit.