Cookbooks and Menus
- Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
From feast to famine, explore five centuries of primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production. - Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides interdisciplinary archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Includes cookbooks, menus, documentaries, vintage commercials, diet trends, and more.
- Leo Pearlstein papers, 1952-2011Leo Pearlstein is an American public relations executive known as the "Culinary King of Public Relations" and one of the pioneers of food consulting. The collection is comprised of recipes, photographs, press releases, magazine clippings, letters, memoranda, emails, menus, leaflets, and brochures related to Pearlstein's public relations buisness with the food and beverage industry.
- Szathmary Recipe Pamphlet CollectionDigital collection at the University of Iowa
- What's on the menu?Collection at the New York Public Library.
Food, Gender and Culture
- Food and Drink in History This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
From feast to famine, explore five centuries of primary source material documenting the story of food and drink throughout history. The materials in this collection illustrate the deep links between food and identity, politics and power, gender, race and socio-economic status, as well as charting key issues around agriculture, nutrition and food production. - Food Studies Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides interdisciplinary archival content, visual ephemera, monographs, and videos that explore how food shapes the world around us. Includes cookbooks, menus, documentaries, vintage commercials, diet trends, and more. - Defining Gender, 1450-1910 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains primary source material from British and European archives, and includes four thematic areas: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, and The Body.
- American Consumer Culture: Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides insight into the American consumer boom of the mid-20th century through access to the complete market research reports of Ernest Dichter, the era's foremost consumer analyst and market research pioneer. - Everyday Life and Women in America Online, c.1820-1900 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This digital collection provides access to rare primary source material on American social, cultural, and popular history from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women History, Duke University, and The New York Public Library. It comprises thousands of fully searchable images (alongside transcriptions) of monographs, pamphlets, periodicals, and broadsides addressing the 19th and early 20th centuries.
- Global Commodities: Trade, Exploration and Cultural Exchange This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Portal that includes visual, manuscript and printed materials sourced from multiple libraries, companies, and trade organizations. It charts the history of 15 major commodities, including chocolate, coffee, oil, and sugar.