Education News
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text articles in higher education (2015 - present); weekly. Ignore the "sign in" or "subscribe" options for commercial (not academic) users.
To retrieve Chronicle articles, pull up article, click on Share Arrow and Print and, at Destination, select Save to PDF or Save to Google.
- EdSurgeAward-winning education news organization that reports on the people, ideas and technologies shaping the future of learning. An independent news and research initiative of the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE).
- Education Week
- This link opens in a new window
In-depth news stories, features, commentaries and special reports on critical and timely issues in education. - Newsroom: CA Department of EducationCurrent news releases, editorials, and letters from the California Department of Education's (CDE) Communications Division.
- New York Times: Education Section
- This link opens in a new window
Links to articles within the Education Section of the New York Times.
Leading & General Papers
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2015]. - Chicago Tribune This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune [1849-2013].
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2019] - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012]. - Washington Post This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1987 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post [1877-2007].
News Databases
- Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. International and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities. Central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Searches from 1991-present and includes Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990). - American Indian Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016. The 45 unique titles also include bilingual and Indigenous-language editions, such as Hawaiian, Cherokee and Navajo languages. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press, 1959-present. Covers news, culture, and history; searchable in both English and Spanish. - Factiva This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news and business content from thousands of sources from 200+ countries in 26 languages. Includes US and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. - Independent Voices This link opens in a new windowFull text of 1,000+ alternative publications covering feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Latinos, LGBTQ+ activists, etc., 1960s-1980s.
- NewsBank This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from 2,400+ U.S. and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources; coverage varies with each publication. - Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference info, with some current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers, and bio info from Who's Who titles. Formerly: LexisNexis Academic.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: U.S. Newspapers
- This link opens in a new window
Search the U.S. historical newspapers under subscription to UCLA.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text, 1980s-present, for five U.S. major papers: New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, the Chicago Tribune, and Wall Street Journal.
Also see: NEWS GUIDE to all UCLA news subscriptions.
Articles Databases
class="box-in-box highlight">Hint: To increase your search results, combine the databases, Education Source and ERIC.
Education
- Education Source (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 2,850 education journals, 550 books, and education-related conference papers. - ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to journal articles and gray literature on educational research and practice from 1969 to the present and ERIC documents since 1966. - Education Index Retrospective: 1929-1983 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of education journals from 1929 to 1983.
- ERIC Documents (U.S. Department of Education)Access to the full text of ERIC Documents.
Psychology
- APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. - APA PsycArticles This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.
Multidiscipinary
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of core scholarly journals from their beginning to approximately five years ago. Disciplines include botany, business, ecology, general science, humanities, mathematics, social sciences, statistics. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to selected JSTOR e-books. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles. - SAGE Complete Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of journals available from SAGE Publications. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and e-books in the sciences, technology, medicine, and social sciences. UCLA subscribes to a subset of this collection. - SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Immense array of books, chapters, conference proceedings and journal articles in the social sciences and sciences, published by Springer-Verlag. After searching, unclick Preview Only Content, whose materials are not under UCLA subscription. Advanced search enabled at wheel icon to right of search. - Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to journals from Taylor & Francis, Routledge, and Psychology Press. UCLA subscribes to a subset of these titles. Please limit to (filter) by Access Type to “Only show content I have full access to.” - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisicplinary sources in the socail sciences, management and sciences, from John Wiley & Sons. - Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowSearches articles, theses, books, abstracts, patents, and court opinions from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.
Art, Music, STEM
- Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of more than 600 journals and 220 books on "a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design." It wholly incorporates and significantly expands on the coverage and contents of the Art Full Text and Art Index Retrospective databases. Indexes illustrations. Coverage: late 1920s-present. - ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art from the late 19th century onwards. Coverage includes performance art and installation works, photography, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media. - Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. Former database title: International Index to Music Periodicals (IIMP) Full Text. - Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Book chapters, books and journals in the social sciences and sciences. Limit to 125 education journals: Set Domain=Social Sciences + Subdomain=Education. - PubMed This link opens in a new windowCitations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Also searches NCBI's integrated molecular biology databases, including nucleotide sequences, protein sequences, 3-D protein structure data, population study data sets, and assemblies of complete genomes in an integrated system. Note: This link uses a special address which turns on Get it at UC. Without that, PubMed does not link to UCLA's online subscriptions.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Coverage of the agricultural and environmental sciences, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. Includes the AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management, Ecology Abstracts, and Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) databases. Can also be searched as part of the Natural Science Collection.
Sociology and Social Issues
- CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Reference resource for research in American government, politics, legislation, history, public policy, and current affairs. Includes CQ Almanac, CQ Researcher Plus Archive, CQ Magazine, Political Handbook of the World, Congress Collection, Supreme Court Collection, and Voting and Elections Collection. (For CQ Press e-books, see Sage Knowledge.) - Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles, books, conference papers, and reports in the fields of family science, human ecology, human development, and social welfare. Covers research, policy, and practice literature from 1970 to the present. - Social Services Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations (with abstracts) of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Coverage: 1980-present. - Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
Ethnic Studies
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of western-language monographs, articles, and book chapters on all parts of Asia and Asian Studies (East Asia, Southeast Asia, South Asia, Indian Ocean) published since 1971. - Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded in 1992 to include the broader Latinx experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database. - Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for books, journal articles, conference papers, and websites that pertain to the disciplines covered by HLAS. Humanities coverage includes: art, history, literature, music, and philosophy. Social Sciences coverage includes archeology, ethnology, economics, geography, government and politics, international relations, political economy, and sociology. - Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center.
Gender Studies
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across multiple subject areas. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, and more. - LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing and abstracts for LGBTQ-specific core periodicals, core books and reference works. In addition, other source-types such as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. are represented. Former database title: LGBT Life. - Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citations for a wide range of topics in the study of women and gender, 1972-present.
Law, Business, Policy
- Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive business articles database covering more than 8,500 scholarly, professional, and trade periodicals in all areas of business. Coverages dates back to 1886. Content also includes books, case studies, Datamonitor company and industry profiles, conference proceedings, country reports (from CountryWatch, EIU, Icon International, and others), market research reports, SWOT analyses, profiles of the most-cited authors, and more. Sole electronic resource for full text of the Harvard Business Review and California Management Review. - HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes 2500 legal journals, the entire Congressional Record, Federal Register, and Code of Federal Regulations, complete coverage of the U.S. Reports back to 1754, and entire databases dedicated to treaties, constitutions, case law, world trials, classic treatises, international trade, foreign relations, U.S. Presidents, and much more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic. - PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
International coverage of articles, books, conference proceedings, and government documents on social and political policy, political science, public administration, current affairs, and related topics from 1972 to the present. Includes PAIS Archive, which covers 1915 to 1976. - Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international literature in political science, international relations, law, and public policy.
Language and Linguistics
- Language and Linguistics CompassOnline-only journal publishing original, peer-reviewed surveys of current research from across the entire discipline. In Wiley Online, 2007-present; monthly.
- Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of articles from approximately 2,000 serials in the fields of linguistics, language behavior, and related disciplines, as well as books, book chapters, occasional papers, technical reports and dissertations. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes worldwide publications on literature, language, linguistics, folklore, film, television, and theater from 1923 to the present. See also the MLA Directory of Periodicals.
- Citation LinkerLocate an article from your citation in journals within UCLA Library holdings.
- UC Library Search This link opens in a new windowSearch the UC Library Search catalog when looking for online OR print materials. Contains journal titles, books, conference proceedings and more, in print or electronic form, representing all Library holdings. Click on Online Access to get to full-text items. Here's a guide to learn more about searching UC Library Search.
If UCLA does not own an item, UC students, faculty, and staff can request it through the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service. There is no charge for this service for UCLA students, faculty and staff.
- Your UCLA Library account number is the nine-digit number (aka your Bruin ID) that appears on the front of your BruinCard, plus the single digit that appears on the back side, lower righthand corner of your BruinCard. Enter all ten digits without any spaces.
- Only a University of California e-mail address or an address registered in your library account is valid.
- Submit an Interlibrary Loan Request. The Interlibrary Loan Service enables UC students, faculty, and staff to borrow materials not available in UCLA Libraries. You don't have to specify a location, UCLA will automatically search for availability in other libraries, both in this country and abroad.
- Check the status of your Interlibrary Loan Request. Sign in to your UCLA Library Account to determine the status of your ILL requests.
OFF-CAMPUS ACCESS
To access restricted 
resources from off campus, use either the Bruin OnLine Proxy Server (a setting in your Web browser) or the Virtual Private Networking (VPN) UCLA authentication option.
- UCLA Virtual Private Network (VPN)
A program you install on your computer, the UCLA VPN allows you to surf websites privately and securely as well as gain access to UCLA subscription websites and sources.
- UCLA OnLine Proxy Server
A simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
- Multi-Factor Authentication (MFA)
An extra layer of online protection for your access and account.
- Bruin OnLine / IT Support Help
Your UCLA IT experts, available for UCLA students, faculty and staff to contact with ANY access problem.
ON-CAMPUS ACCESS
To access restricted resources from your laptop or computer on the UCLA campus, use either the (preferred) EDUroam wireless network or the UCLA_WIFI wireless network.
- How to Connect to the EDUroam Wireless Network
Provides the highest level of security and is the recommended network for UCLA faculty, students, and staff. Devices must be configured in advance before using this network. Logon is username@ucla.edu. This is the only network that allows wireless printing from CLICC laptops.
- How to Connect to the UCLA_WI FI Wireless Network
- UCLA Wireless Networks
Note: Sign into EDUroam using your UCLA Logon ID with @ucla.edu appended (jbruin@ucla.edu) and password.