News Databases
- LANIC Newspapers & NewsLinks to current online Latin American newspapers. Many of these sites make only the latest day available. Archived editions may be available on the site with a subscription.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank. - EMIS Emerging Markets Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Current country, company, industry, economic, and legal information for over 80 emerging markets in Asia, Australia, Central, Eastern, Southeastern Europe, and the Middle East/North Africa. Country profiles; macroeconomic statistics, forecasts, analysis, reports on financial markets, companies and industries; exchange rates; analyst reports; legal information; and business news. Documents from more than 13,000 local and global providers. Dates of coverage vary; updates are daily. - Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text news (including broadcast transcripts), business, legal, and reference information. Useful for finding full-text of current performing arts and media industry news in major newspapers. Includes biographical information from Who's Who titles. Formerly LexisNexis Academic.
Subscription Databases
- Chicano Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic materials on Mexican-American topics 1967 to the present. Scope expanded in 1992 to include the broader Latinx experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants. Includes the Spanish Speaking Mental Health Database. - ClasePeriódica This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index of Latin American journals in the sciences and humanities. More than 300,000 bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in the Spanish, Portuguese, French and English languages. Journals covered published in 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States. Articles are drawn from more than 500 key social science and humanities journals. Produced by the UCLA Latin American Center. - Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Index to articles published in over 7,000 periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences, covering the period 1665-1995. Full text of many articles can be found in Periodicals Archive Online.
Open Access Databases
- RedALyC: Red de Revistas Cientificas de America Latina y el Caribe, Espana y Portugal This link opens in a new windowFull-text searchable electronic journal archive of social science, humanities, natural and physical science journals produced in Iberoamerica.
- SciELO This link opens in a new windowThe objective of SciELO Social Sciences English Edition is to contribute to the promotion of international access to Latin American scientific journals in Social Sciences. Its main characteristic is to make available English full texts, at no charge to the public, in order to increase Latin America Social Sciences visibility and accessibility.
- CONUCO: Indice de Puerto RicoIndexes academic and popular articles and publications produced in Puerto Rico or by Puerto Ricans outside of Puerto Rico.
- LA ReferenciaFull text searchable open access database of research publications from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Mexico and Peru.
- Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS Web) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Citations for books, journal articles, conference papers, and websites that pertain to the disciplines covered by HLAS. Humanities coverage includes: art, history, literature, music, and philosophy. Social Sciences coverage includes archeology, ethnology, economics, geography, government and politics, international relations, political economy, and sociology.
Dissertations in Spanish and Portuguese
- Biblioteca Virtual Miguel de Cervantes Tesis doctoralesProvides an electronic catalog of theses from Spanish universities. Arranged alphabetically by university. Some full-text available.
- Cybertesis : Tesis Electrónicas en LineaProvides access to the Undergraduate and Postgraduate Full Text Theses that have been developed by students of the Universidad Austral de Chile.
- Biblioteca Digital Brasileira de Teses e Dissertações (BDTD)A portal of theses and dissertations IBICT coordinated by the Brazilian Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations. Contains over 130,000 records of theses and dissertations of 92 Brazilian institutions. Links to full text may be restricted; some full text.
- Repositórios Científicos de Acesso Aberto de Portugal (RCAAP)RCAAP constitutes a single entry point for searching, discovery and recall of thousands of scientific and scholarly publications, namely journal articles, conference papers, thesis and dissertations, distributed by several Portuguese repositories. It includes theses and dissertations.
- Tesis Doctorales: TESEODoctoral theses from Spanish universities since 1976; from the government of Spain..