Education Research Guide

Historical Textbooks

• Abilene Christian University Special Collections (Abilene, TX). Brown Library. Early Day Textbooks, pre-1945.
• American Antiquarian Society, AAS. National research library of American history and culture, through 1876. Both a learned society and a major independent research library in Worcester, MA, the AAS Library houses the largest, most accessible collection of books, pamphlets, broadsides, newspapers, periodicals, music, and graphic arts material printed through 1876 in what is now the United States, plus manuscripts and a substantial collection of secondary texts, bibliographies, digital resources and reference works related to all aspects of American history and culture before the 20th century.
• Bridgewater State University. Special Collections. Early Children's Book Collection.
• Butler University (Indianapolis, IN). Education Resource Library.
• Center for Research Libraries (Chicago, IL). Textbook Collection.
• Hofstra University (Hempstead, NY). Rare Books and Manuscripts. Nila Banton Smith Historical Collection in Reading.
• Illinois State University (Normal). Special Collections and Rare Books. Historical Textbook Collection.
• Indiana State University (Terra Haute). Cunningham Collection.
• Jones Library (Amherst, MA). Special Collections. Clifton Johnson Schoolbook Collection.
• Library of Congress: Rare Books and Special Collections Division. McGuffey Reader Collection.
• Miami University (Oxford, OH). Walter Havighurst Special Collections Library.

• King Juvenile Literature & the Schoolbook Collections (PDF)
• McGuffey Reader Collection (PDF)

• Millersville University (Millersville, PA). Special Collections and Archives. Wickersham Pedagogical Collection.
• National Library of Education (Washington, DC). Textbooks Collection.
• Ohio University (Athens, OH). Archives and Special Collections. Textbook Collection.
• Stanford University (Palo Alto, CA). Cubberley Education Library. Historical Textbooks.
• State University of New York at Oneonta. Special Collections. Early Textbook Collection.
• Teachers College, Columbia University (New York, NY). Gottesman Libraries. Curriculum Materials Collection.
• Trinity College (Hartford, CT). Watkinson Library. Barnard Collection of School Textbooks.
• University of Cincinnati's Archives and Rare Books Library maintains a historical textbook collection of 2,000+ textbooks from the early 19th century to the turn of the 21st century, covering a wide variety of subjects taught in elementary, middle, and secondary schools. Collection was formed from materials previously housed in UC’s Curriculum Resources Center with added holdings from the Archives & Rare Books Library.
• University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Education and Science Library. Curriculum Collection.
• University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

• North Carolina Collection
• Digitized Textbooks from the Confederate States of America

• University of Minnesota (Minneapolis). Children's Literature Research Collection.
• University of Pittsburgh (Pittsburgh, PA). Special Collections. Nietz Old Textbook Collection: 19th Century Schoolbooks.
• University of South Carolina (Columbia). Rare Books and Special Collections. William Savage Textbook Collection.
• University of Southern Mississippi (Hattiesburg). De Grummond Children's Literature Collection.
• University of Texas at Austin. Libraries. K-12 Textbook Collection.

Modern Textbooks

• Boston College (Chestnut Hill, MA). Educational Resources Center.
• Bridgewater State University (Bridgewater, MA). Educational Resources Center.
• Framingham State University (Framingham, MA). Curriculum Library.
• Lesley University (Cambridge, MA). Teaching Resources Collection.