Research Guides: Education Research Guide: K-12 Resources

K-12 Digital Collections

Library of Congress: Education Resources
Classroom materials and professional development to help teachers use primary sources from the Library's vast digital collections.
National Archives: Educator Resources
Provides access to some of the nearly 50 million historic records created by more than 20 federal agencies on a wide range of topics. Includes information on activities and training for K-12 educators.

Calisphere This link opens in a new window
Over one million photographs, documents, letters, artwork, diaries, oral histories, films, advertisements, musical recordings, and more from the collections digitized and contributed by all ten campuses of the University of California and other important libraries, archives, and museums throughout the state.

Literature for Life
Literature for Life is both a literary journal featuring fiction and nonfiction works by exceptional authors – most of them Los Angeles based or from Los Angeles – and an open resource for educators with original curriculum written to accompany each piece.
Teachinghistory.org: National History Education Clearinghouse
Free, quality history content, teaching strategies, best practices, and digital tools to improve U.S. history education in the classroom. Funded by the U.S. Department of Education, Teachinghistory.org is a project of the Roy Rosenzweig Center for History and New Media (RRCHNM) at George Mason University.
XChange: Publications and Resources for Public School Professionals
Online repository of publications and resources released in themed issues. In these issues, you will find articles, evaluation reports, research papers, lesson plans, professional development tools, dissertations, book reviews, and our own reflections on the work of transforming public schools, from UCLA's Center X.

Textbooks

The UCLA Library does not collect textbooks.

Local resources include CSUN's California State University Northridge Teacher Curriculum Center.

Open Textbook Library
Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. The books can be downloaded for no cost, or printed at low cost. All textbooks are either used at multiple higher education institutions or affiliated with an institution, scholarly society, or professional organization.

Historical Textbooks

The Center for Research Libraries Textbook Collection includes U.S. imprints of primary and secondary schoolbooks, textbooks for post-high school non-degree schools such as business and trade schools, plus foreign language grammars and readers through college level. Publication dates start in the 18th century, although most holdings were published in the 20th century.

The American Primers Microfilm Collection and accompanying Guide contains over 750 primers from the 17th century to 1930, and is available at the Central (Downtown) branch of the Los Angeles Public Library.

The Nietz Collection of 19th Century Schoolbooks from the University of Pittsburgh contains digitized textbooks that are available online.