Education Librarian
Education News
National
-
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowFull text articles in higher education (2015 - present); weekly. Ignore the "sign in" or "subscribe" options - these are for commercial (not academic) users. To retrieve Chronicle articles, pull up article, click on Share Arrow and Print and, at Destination, select Save to PDF or Save to Google.
-
The Hechinger ReportThe Hechinger Report is a nonprofit newsroom covering issues of inequality and innovation in education, from the earliest years through college and careers.
-
Education WeekEducation Week provides nation coverage of K-12 education news and information. Full access is available through UCLA's Education Source database.
California
-
EdSourceEdSource is California’s largest journalism organization focused on education.
-
CalMatters Education SectionCalMatters is a nonpartisan and nonprofit news organization bringing Californians stories that probe, explain and explore solutions to quality of life issues while holding our leaders accountable. The Education section covers how the state is setting priorities and spending public money to meet them.
-
California Department of Education News ReleasesThe California Department of Education (CDE) shares news with the public through news releases. We send these documents to reporters who often write about it through your local news outlets.
Additional News Databases
General News
-
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-1995].
-
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
-
U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
-
ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
-
Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprising more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, providing an alternative perspective to the coverage of mainstream media. Coverage is from 1970--present.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
-
Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
-
Washington Post This link opens in a new windowFull text (no ads or pictures) from 1987 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post [1877-2007].