Library Digital Collections

This guide provides Digital Library Collections tutorials, data, scourse-specific IIIF guides and other digitized primary resources information.

Still Image Genres

Citation Examples

Still Image

The examples use The Chicago Manual of Style Online 17th edition because it does not require a particular order of elements and is often a good citation style for archival, manuscript, or photograph collections, however, the citations should be consistent in their order.

Photograph

Footnote Structure: 

1. Photographer's First Name Last Name OR corporate author, Title of Image or description, Date of Creation, Information about the Medium [if given], Title of Collection. Title of Library, URL. 

Shortened Structure:

2. Lastname OR Corporate Author, Title of Image, Date.

Bibliography Structure

Photographer's Last Name, First Name OR corporate author. Title of Image or description, Date of Creation, Information about the Medium [if given], Title of Collection. Title of Library, URL. 

Footnote Example

1. Rick Meyer, Underground Construction of Metro Rail System in Los Angeles. April 12, 1989, Digital Photograph from a B&W Negative. Los Angeles Times Photographic Collection. UCLA Library Digital Collections, https://digital.library.ucla.edu/catalog/ark:/21198/zz0002qtwm.

Shortened Footnote Example:

2. Underground Construction of Metro Rail System in Los Angeles, April 12, 1989.

Bibliography Entry Example

Meyer, Rick. Underground Construction of Metro Rail System in Los Angeles. April 12, 1989, Digital Photograph from a B&W Negative. Los Angeles Times Photographic Collection. UCLA Library Digital Collections, https://digital.library.ucla.edu/catalog/ark:/21198/zz0002qtwm.                                                                                  

Caption for an Image Inserted in Your Paper Example

Underground construction of Metro rail system in Los Angeles

      Figure 1. Underground Construction of Metro Rail System in Los Angeles, April 12, 1989. 

Citing Photographs, Paintings, and Sculpture

(Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed., sections 14.133, 8.199, 14.235, 14.12, 14.13, 14.158)

Structure (Include as much of the following as can be determined):

  • name of the artist (if known) or corporate author
  • title (in italics) or a description (in roman)
  • date of creation or completion
  • information about the medium
  • source or location of work
  • URL

 

Poster

Footnote Structure: 

1. Artist's First Name Last Name OR Corporate Author, Title of Image or description, Date of Creation, Information about the Medium [if given], Title of Collection. Title of Library, URL. 

Shortened Structure:

2. Lastname OR Corporate Author, Title of Image, Date.

Bibliography Structure

Photographer's Last Name, First Name OR Corporate Author, Title of Image or description, Date of Creation, Information about the Medium [if given], Title of Collection. Title of Library, URL. 

Footnote Example

1. Switzerland. Bundesamt für Gesundheit, Twenty Stick Figures Stop AIDS Poster [Descriptive]. n.d. Basel (Switzerland). AIDS Posters Collection. UCLA Digital Collections, https://digital.library.ula.edu/catalog/ark:/21198/zz0002wjxh.

Shortened Footnote Example:

2. Twenty Stick Figures Stop AIDS Poster, n.d..

Bibliography Entry Example

Switzerland. Bundesamt für Gesundheit, Twenty Stick Figures Stop AIDS Poster [Descriptive]. n.d. Basel (Switzerland). AIDS Posters Collection. UCLA Digital Collections, https://digital.library.ula.edu/catalog/ark:/21198/zz0002wjxh. 

 ¡ Posters often have corporate authors instead of individual authors. In this case, you do not invert the name in the bibliography entry.                                                          

Caption for an Image Inserted in Your Paper Example

 

Twenty stick figures stop AIDS poster [descriptive].

Figure 1. Twenty Stick Figures Stop AIDS Poster

Citing Photographs, Paintings, and Sculpture

(Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed., sections 14.133, 8.199, 14.235, 14.12, 14.13, 14.158)

Structure (Include as much of the following as can be determined):

  • name of the artist (if known) or corporate author
  • title (in italics) or a description (in roman)
  • date of creation or completion
  • information about the medium
  • source or location of work
  • URL

 

 

Cartoon

Footnote Structure: 

1.First name Last name.Title, Date, format, size, Source, Collection. URL. Access

Shortened Structure:

2. Lastname, Title of Image, Date.

Bibliography Structure

Artist's Last Name, First Name, Title of Image or description, Date of Creation, Information about the Medium [if given], Title of Collection. Title of Library, URL. 

Footnote Example

1. Teler, Sinday. Popping the balloon of the Referendum, September 9, 2017, Illustration. International Digital Ephemera Project, Middle East & North Africa Collections and Kurdish Referendum for Independence. https://digital.library.ucla.edu/catalog/ark:/21198/z19d0sjh (accessed June 28, 2024).

Shortened Footnote Example:

2. Popping the balloon of the Referendum, September 9, 2017.

Bibliography Entry Example

Sinday, Teler, Popping the balloon of the Referendum, September 9, 2017, Illustration. International Digital Ephemera Project, Middle East & North Africa Collections and Kurdish Referendum for Independence. https://digital.library.ucla.edu/catalog/ark:/21198/z19d0sjh (accessed June 28, 2024).                                         

 Caption for an Image Inserted in Your Paper Example

Figure 1. Popping the balloon of the Referendum

 

Cartoon

(Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed., sections 8.202, 14.144)

Structure:

  • list the name of the artist or corporate author
  • title (in italics) or a description
  • date of creation or completion
  • information about the medium 
  • location of the work
  • URL

.