Library Digital Collections

This guide provides Digital Library Collections tutorials, data, scourse-specific IIIF guides and other digitized primary resources information.

Moving Image Genres

Moving Image

The examples use The Chicago Manual of Style Online 17th edition because it does not require a particular order of elements and is often a good citation style for archival, manuscript, or photograph collections, however, the citations should be consistent in their order.

 

News Program

Footnote Structure: 

1. Creator First Name Last Name, Title of Film [alternate title if given], Collection [if given]. Title of Website, Date Created, accessed Access Date, URL. 

Bibliography Entry Structure

Creator Last Name, First Name, Title of Film, [alternate title if given], Collection  [if given]. Title of Website, Date Created, accessed Access Date, URL. 

Footnote Example

1. KTLA (Television station: Los Angeles, Calif.), California Ratifies the Equal Rights Amendment, 1972-11-14, Diverse Communities of Los Angeles (1970-1980) - KTLA Television Newsfilm Collection. UCLA Library Digital Collections, accessed September 4, 2024, https://digital.library.ucla.edu/catalog/ark:/21198/z1228hqv

Shortened Footnote Example

2. KTLA, California Ratifies the Equal Rights Amendment, 9/4/2024.

Bibliography Entry Example

KTLA (Television station: Los Angeles, Calif.), California Ratifies the Equal Rights Amendment, 1972-11-14, Diverse Communities of Los Angeles (1970-1980) - KTLA Television Newsfilm Collection. UCLA Library Digital Collections, accessed September 4, 2024, https://digital.library.ucla.edu/catalog/ark:/21198/z1228hqv

Caption for an Image Inserted in Your Paper Example

video icon

Figure 1. Video Icon for California Ratifies the Equal Rights Amendment, 1972-11-14.                                                                                                      

Videos, Podcasts, and Other Online Multimedia

(Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed., sections 14.265, 14.267–68)

Structure (Include as much of the following as can be determined):

Any facts relevant to identifying the item should be included

  • Indexed scenes are treated as chapters and cited by title or by number
  • If the materials is a recording of a speech or other performance, or if it is a digital version of a published source, include information about the original performance or source
  • If no date can be determined, include the date the material was last accessed
  • URL

 

 

 

Interviews

Footnote Structure: 

1. First Name Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed, filmed interview by First Name Last Name of interviewer, Date of interview, Title of Interview, Collection  [if given]. Title of Website, Date Created, URL. 

Shortened Footnote Structure

2. Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed, Title of Interview, date.

Bibliography Entry Structure

Last Name of Person Who Was Interviewed, First Name of Person Who Was Interviewed, filmed interview by First Name Last Name of interviewer, Date of interview, Title of Interview, Collection  [if given]. Title of Website, Date Created, URL. 

Footnote Example

1. Bob Kahn, filmed interview by Leonard Kleinrock, November 20, 2014, Interview of Bob Kahn, Management, Innovation and Computer Technologies: Oral Histories from the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, 1957-2015. UCLA Library Digital Collections, https://digital.library.ucla.edu/catalog/ark:/21198/zz002jxzbh.

Shortened Footnote Example

2. Kahn, Interview of Bob Kahn, November 20, 2014.

Bibliography Entry Example

 Kahn, Bob, filmed interview by Leonard Kleinrock, November 20, 2014, Interview of Bob Kahn, Management, Innovation and Computer Technologies: Oral Histories from the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency, 1957-2015. UCLA Library Digital Collections, https://digital.library.ucla.edu/catalog/ark:/21198/zz002jxzbh.

Caption for an Image Inserted in Your Paper Example

video icon

Figure 1. Video Icon for Interview of Bob Kahn, November 20, 2014.                                                                                                     

Videos, Podcasts, and Other Online Multimedia

(Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed., sections 14.265, 14.267–68)

Structure (Include as much of the following as can be determined):

Any facts relevant to identifying the item should be included

  • Indexed scenes are treated as chapters and cited by title or by number
  • If the materials is a recording of a speech or other performance, or if it is a digital version of a published source, include information about the original performance or source
  • If no date can be determined, include the date the material was last accessed
  • URL