Article Databases with Reviews
Article databases used for finding scholarly criticism also often contain reviews of performances. Below are some of the key databases with review content. Some of them also allow you to pre-limit to reviews as a publication type.
Also make sure to search Newspaper databases for additional reviews.
- Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, circus, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television, and more. Former database title: International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA) Full Text. - Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers. - Dance Online: Dance Studies Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Collection of curated primary and secondary full-text materials from the 20th and 21st century, including photographs, correspondence, magazines, dance notation, and reference material. Includes the full run of Dance Magazine from 1927-present. - American Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Published between 1741 and 1900, these periodicals include special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children and women magazines, and many other historically significant periodicals. - British Periodicals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries. - Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides indexing of general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America
