Online Library Reference Works
Use these reference books to provide an overview of your topic, define terms, and list the seminal authors and works in the field. To access subscription resources off-campus, configure your computer to use the proxy server or VPN.
- Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Handbooks covering a wide range of humanities, social sciences, psychology and some science topics, published by Routledge, Ashgate and other imprints. Some CRC Press handbooks can also be accessed via this particular site. - Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks, now a part of Oxford Academic, provide review articles which summarize and analyze current research and trends in a given discipline. UCLA subscribes to most Oxford Handbooks Online, excluding a few individual titles.
- International Encyclopedia of Dance
- This link opens in a new window
From Oxford Reference, this core dance encyclopedia contains articles written by scholars on theatrical, ritual, dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance.
- Digital Theatre+ This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
DT+ includes streaming video of plays, dance, and performances produced on the contemporary British and American stage, interviews with professional practitioners and masterclasses on technique, study guides on classic works, and pedagogical guides for the classroom and theater production.
- Encyclopedia of World Ballet
- This link opens in a new window
Highlights global ballet companies and choreographers, and also contains overviews of dance as a subject of art, photography, and cinema. Limited to single concurrent user. - Encyclopedia of World Folk Dance
- This link opens in a new window
By Mary Ellen Snodgrass. 3-concurrent user limit. Short overviews of many different folk dance forms.
- eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides complete text of ethnographic resources (mainly books, also articles and manuscripts) on cultures from around the world, past and present, indexed by culture and subject in a unique scheme. The electronic version of the Human Relations Area File.
- Fifty Contemporary Choreographers
- This link opens in a new window
Representing a wide range of dance genres, each entry locates the individual in the context of modern dance theatre and explores their impact.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Combines Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, the Oxford Companion to Western Art, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, and the Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society, and numerous international art galleries and artists.
- Oxford Dictionary of Dance
- This link opens in a new window
Basic dictionary of dance styles and techniques. - Oxford History of Western Music
- This link opens in a new window
Full text from The Oxford History of Western Music (OUP 2009) with notes, bibliographies and further readings for all 69 chapters. Includes a great deal of content on classic Western dance and its relation to music, especially ballet.
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major encyclopedic guide to music, including many entries relevant to dance research. - World Folklore and Folklife This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary database of reference materials and introductory essays on world folklore and myth, dance, religion, ethnography, and more.