Writing Help
- UCLA Undergraduate Writing CenterAs part of UCLA Writing Programs, the Undergraduate Writing Center’s mission is to enrich the education of undergraduate students in all disciplines through individualized consultations on writing. Our goal is not only to help students with a particular writing assignment, but also to help them become more effective and confident writers. Make an appointment or drop in to get help with your scholarly writing. For registered UCLA undergraduates only.
Avoiding Plagiarism
See the guide section on Avoiding Plagiarism for more information.
Writing a Paper? Get Started Here.
- Where do I begin?This link leads you to the OWL at Purdue, an excellent website with information on all aspects of writing a paper.
- Integrating CitationsLooking to vary the ways in which you cite your sources? Here are several ideas for integrating citations with sophistication and efficiency!
Annotated Bibliographies
Preparing an annotated bibliography is often the first step in writing a research paper and it is sometimes a stand-alone assignment.
Annotations usually include both description and some evaluative comment on the resource. See Purdue University's OWL Annotated Bibliography page for more help in preparing an annotated bibliography.
- Annotated Bibliographies TutorialFrom the Library's Writing Instruction and Research Education (WI+RE) team.
Literature Reviews
Literature Reviews are scholarly papers that compile secondary sources on a specific topic. It has current knowledge on the topic and does not present new or original work on the topic.
They are often used in a research proposal or prospectus, before beginning a thesis or further research.
In order to help differentiate the various types of reviews, see the Type of Literature Reviews chart.
Here are some great resources for approaching Literature Reviews:
- Creating Literature Reviews Literature reviews are great resources for research projects in all disciplines, presenting the key ideas in a field, pointing to must-read articles, and suggesting directions for future research. How do you go about writing one, though? This page is a collection of resources and tips for creating your own literature review.
- Find and Use Review Articles Looking for an efficient way to get an overview of a body of research on your topic? A review article is a great place to start.
Citation Style Guides — Online
When citing sources be sure to use the proper citation style for the course. Below are links to ONLINE summarized citation rules from some of the more popular style guides:
- APA (American Psychological Association) Via OWL at PurdueUse the examples on this page. You DO NOT need to click the green START button to use the website.
- MLA Style: Using MLA FormatA quick guide to MLA formats based on the 9th edition of the MLA Handbook.
- MLA (Modern Language Association) Via OWL at PurdueUse the examples on this page. You DO NOT need to click the green START button and use the website.
- Chicago Manual of Style Online This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
The 17th edition of The Chicago Manual of Style is fully searchable online.
- Chicago Manual of Style-Quick GuideVia University of Chicago Press.
- Chicago Manual of Style via OWL at Purdue.Use the examples on this page. You DO NOT need to click the green START button to use the website.
- Turabian Quick GuideBased on the Chicago Manual of Style.
- Citing Film, Video and Online Media (MLA Style)Guide from UCB Media Center. Consult latest edition of the MLA handbook for any changes to formatting.
Citation Style Guides — Print
For a general introduction to academic citation and intellectual property, see Citing Sources.
For more detail, consult the complete printed style manuals, available in many campus libraries:
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association: The Official Guide to APA Style, 7th ed., 2020.ISBN: 9781433832154Click title above for details, call number, and library location(s)
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system. It also covers the treatment of numbers, statistical and mathematical data, tables, and figures.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, 9th ed., 2018, by ISBN: 9780226494425Click title above for details, call number, and library location(s)
The Chicago Manual of Style, 17th ed., 2017, by ISBN: 9780226287058Click title above for details, call number, and library location(s)
Also available online.
MLA Handbook, 9th ed., 2021 by
Print book only at YRL and Powell Libraries, UCLA.
The ninth edition works as both a textbook and a reference guide. Focusing on source evaluation, it features a wealth of visual examples and updated advice on punctuation and grammar, footnotes and endnotes, annotated bibliographies, and paper formatting including: Expanded, in-depth guidance on creating works-cited-list entries using the MLA template of core elements that explains what each core element is, where to find it in various sources, and how to style it. A new, easy-to-follow explanation of in-text citations. A new chapter containing recommendations for using inclusive language. A new appendix with hundreds of sample works-cited-list entries by publication format, including books, databases, websites, YouTube videos, interviews, and more. Updated guidelines on avoiding plagiarism.
Call Number: REF LB 3259 M52 2021ISBN: 9781603293518
A Writer's Reference, 9th ed. 2017, by ISBN: 9781319057442Click title above for details, call number, and library location(s)
