Library Special Collections
UCLA Library Special Collections is where we acquire, preserve, promote, and make accessible a world-class collection of archives, rare books, manuscripts, photographs, and other rare and unique materials that tell the story of our collective past. Our holdings document society and culture from the ancient to the contemporary and we hold a great appreciation for a sophisticated understanding of history in its broadest sense.
University Archives
- University ArchivesUniversity Archives houses materials relating to the history and administration of UCLA dating from its founding in 1919 to the present. University Archives also houses records for the Los Angeles State Normal School, the precursor to UCLA, dating from its founding in 1882.
Daily Bruin Access
The UCLA Daily Bruin is the student newspaper, published by and for UCLA students.
- Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from over 4,756 US and international blogs, journals, newspapers, newswires, videos, and web sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspapers. Formerly called America's Newspapers or NewsBank.
- Daily Bruin Microfilm (digitized)The microfilm of the UCLA Daily Bruin has been digitized by the Internet Archive from 1915 through 2002.
- Daily Bruin ArchiveDigitized issues of the Daily Bruin from 1915 to the present.
Finding News Articles
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text from the first issue in 1881 to 2015. For access to current issues, see Los Angeles Times [1985-present].
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Sentinel This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Major Black newspaper in Los Angeles, covering May 17, 1934 - 2010. For access to current issues see Ethnic NewsWatch.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A full text database comprising more than 200 newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press, providing an alternative perspective to the coverage of mainstream media. Coverage is from 1970--present.