Tips for Reading!
- Reading StrategiesThe way you read will vary depending on what you are reading and what you need to get out of the reading! This resource provides a bank of quick and practical reading strategies that can help you build your own reading strategies toolbox.
Encyclopedias and more
The titles below are all online encyclopedias, which you can access from anywhere as long as your browser is set to the Bruin OnLine proxy server or the VPN (Virtual Private Network).
General Reference Sources
- Gale E-Books (formerly Gale Virtual Reference Library) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Online encyclopedias, dictionaries, and specialized reference sources, primarily in the social sciences and humanities. - Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes the complete text of the Oxford English Dictionary, 2nd ed. plus quarterly updates of new and revised entries. Trace the origin and history of words and their meanings in this etymological dictionary. - Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Spans 25 different subject areas, bringing together 2 million digitized entries across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias. UC subscription allows limited simultaneous users, so if you can't connect try again later. - Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Oxford Research Encyclopedias is a series of digital works that present peer-reviewed articles on a wide range of topics, such as Anthropology, Business and Management, Climate Science, Communication, Criminology, Economics, Education, Global Public Health, History, Linguistics, Literature, Planetary Science, Politics, Psychology and Religion. - Reference Universe This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A good place to start, but note that it is an index to over 15 million articles in 11,000 subject encyclopedias and handbooks, both print and online and does not provide full-text articles. Instead, it will connect you to our catalog so you know where to find the appropriate encyclopedia, dictionary or other reference work. You will be linked to UCLA's holdings for any entries you find.
