Major Newspapers Online
The UCLA Library does not subscribe directly to latimes.com, nytimes.com, or most other newspaper websites. Instead we subscribe to third-party newspaper databases which license the articles from the newspaper publishers. These archives cover long time periods, provide advanced search features typically available in academic databases, and don't have pop-up ads (though they often index the ads present in the print newspapers, allowing you to search them). Current archives are usually updated daily.
On the down side, newspaper database archives are primarily about storing text and (sometimes) images. They usually don't contain videos or interactive features available on the original news sites, or web-exclusive content.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal.
- Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2000].
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2020]
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searches all ProQuest newspapers to which UCLA subscribes, both current and historical newspapers from major U.S. cities (Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal), international news sources, and alternative press.
- Sacramento Bee: Historical and Current (1857-current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1857 - current.
- San Francisco Chronicle: Historical and Current (1865-current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the San Francisco Chronicle from 1865 - current.
- Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from The Sunday Times, London from 1822-2016. Although similar in title, Sunday Times is a distinct newspaper with no editorial connection to The Times London. - Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-2019 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2019.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
- Washington Post This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1987 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: The Washington Post [1877-2007].
Magazine Archives from UCLA LIbrary
- Architectural Digest Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Covers magazine issues from 1922-2011. This archive edition covers the history of design, and provides a look at culture, art, unique homes and international design concepts through the years. Also features the AD100, the Architectural Digest list of top 100 architects and interior designers worldwide. - Atlantic Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Atlantic Magazine Archive, 1857-2014, covers events and political issues through literary and cultural commentary. It includes more than 1,800 issues providing a broad view of 19th, 20th and early 21st-Century American thought. - Bloomberg Businessweek Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Bloomberg Businessweek archive contains the full text of Businessweek from its first issue in September 1929 to December 2000. - Ebony Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Ebony Magazine Archive covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014. - Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
EIMA is an historical archive of major trade and consumer magazines in film, television, music, radio, and theater, from their inception to 2000. Includes weekly Variety, Hollywood Reporter, American Cinematographer, Back Stage, Billboard, Broadcasting, Picturegoer, Screen International, Spin, and more. UCLA has access to parts I, II and III of this database.
- Esquire Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Esquire Magazine Archive, 1933-2014, delivers coverage of the award-winning American men’s magazine in the areas of politics, men’s fashion, entertainment, fiction and pop culture. It includes more than 900 issues providing a broad view of 20th-Century American thought through cultural and current events. - Forbes Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Forbes Magazine Archive is the world’s only complete digital version of the Forbes backfile. With coverage starting at the magazine’s first issue in 1917, the archive offers 70 years’ worth of content not available on any other EBSCO full-text product. - Fortune Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Fortune Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the long-running business magazine dating from its very first issue in February 1930 through December 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. - LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests, dating from the 1950s to more recent years. Includes many of the most influential, long-running 20th/21st-century magazines in this field, including The Advocate. UCLA subscribes to Collection 1 of this database. - Liberty Magazine Historical Archive, 1924-1950 (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes searchable scanned issues of Liberty: A Weekly for Everybody, a popular weekly mass entertainment magazine covering word affairs, daily life, art, stories, and other features. - Life Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Life Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the famed photojournalism magazine, spanning its very first issue in November 1936 through December 2000 in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. - Maclean's Magazine Archives This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Maclean’s Magazine Archive, 1905-2015, is a digital collection of the leading Canadian news and general interest magazine. Providing a unique perspective on national and international news and culture, the magazine covers investigative reporting, opinion and analysis on politics, economics, technology and more. - Music Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
These rarely collected, Rock, Folk and Hip Hop, widely scattered, and now sought after publications present a unique record of popular culture, music journalism, and social and political transition in the late 20th century, making them invaluable primary sources to researchers. - People Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online collection of the prominent, popular entertainment magazine dating from its very first issue in March 1974 through December 2000, in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. - Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Journals from the American Association for the Advancement of Science, includes the journal Science. - Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the popular sports magazine dating from its very first issue in August 1954 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. - Time Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Time Magazine Archive presents an extensive collection of the prominent weekly news magazine dating back to its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000, presented in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format. - Vanity Fair Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Presents the popular magazine in a comprehensive cover-to-cover format, dating from its very first run from September 1913-1936, and relaunch from March 1983-October 2015. Chronicles popular culture, fashion, celebrity portraiture, politics, and more. - Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains historical backfiles of several leading consumer magazines: Better Homes and Gardens, Chatelaine, Cosmopolitan, Essence, Good Housekeeping, Ladies Home Journal, Parents, Redbook, Seventeen, Town and Country, Woman's Day, and Women's International Network News. UCLA has access to collections 1 and 2 of this database.