Streaming Databases
UCLA Library has over 50 streaming databases for both music and video which you can explore below. They cover different genres and styles of music and video, from Contemporary and Classical music to Documentaries and Plays.
You can access these databases off-campus, as long as you are connected to the VPN/Proxy Server.
Happy Streaming!
Video
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
On-demand streaming video service for educational institutions with thousands of documentaries, training films and theatrical releases across diverse subjects and disciplines. More information on Kanopy access and use is available on this guide. - Met Opera on Demand: Student Edition This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online streaming access to more than 650 full-length Metropolitan Opera performances.
- Theatre in Video This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains streaming video performances of the world's leading plays and film documentaries on the subject of theater. Interviews with directors, designers, writers, and actors, along with excerpts of live performances, provide illustration of the development of texts and the productions. UCLA subscribes to volumes 1 and 2.
Audio
- Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
The Digital Concert Hall of the Berlin Philharmonic Orchestra transmits the concerts of the Berlin philharmonic orchestra to the internet for registered users to access on demand. Users must register as an Institutional User at the site for access.
- Music Online: Classical Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Provides musical sound recordings and MIDI files, program notes, reference texts (composer biographies, history, and glossary), and images. The music includes vocal and instrumental works from the Middle Ages through to the present. Users navigate through browse lists, a search engine and music track playlists - Music Online: Contemporary World Music This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Music from all the regions of the world including important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more. Complements: Smithsonian Global Sound, the collection of American traditional musics. Liner notes to the original recordings are available. - Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of the 10 volume print encyclopedia (originally published in 1997). Each volume contains an overview of a geographic region, a survey of its musical heritage, and a description of specific musical genres, practices, and performances. Includes photographs of musicians, musical instruments, and the cultural context of dances, rituals, and ceremonies; drawings; maps; and musical examples for further study.