Subject Headings for Sustainable Agriculture
Food and Agriculture
Global Appetites by Call Number: PS228.A52 C37 2013ISBN: 1107032822Date: 2013Global Appetites explores how industrial agriculture and countercultural food movements underpin U.S. conceptions of global power in the century since the First World War. Allison Carruth's study centers on what she terms the "literature of food."
Black Rice by Call Number: SB191.R5 C35 2001ISBN: 0674008340Date: 2002-03-01Few Americans identify slavery with the cultivation of rice, yet rice was a major plantation crop during the first three centuries of settlement in the Americas. Rice accompanied African slaves across the Middle Passage throughout the New World. By the middle of the eighteenth century, rice plantations and the black slaves who worked them had created one of the most profitable economies in the world.
Tomorrow's Table by Call Number: TP248.65.F66 R66 2008Date: 2008-04-18By the year 2050, Earth's population will double. If we continue with current farming practices, vast amounts of wilderness will be lost, millions of birds and billions of insects will die, and the public will lose billions of dollars as a consequence of environmental degradation. Clearly, there must be a better way to meet the need for increased food production.
Urban Agriculture by Call Number: Law Library: KF1682 .U73 2015ISBN: 9781634250474Date: 2016-02-07Interest in urban agriculture continues to flourish, and as a result more communities are faced with the demand for a variety of agricultural activities within the urban environment.
Food Law in the United States by Call Number: YRL: KF3875 .R63 2015ISBN: 9781107117600Date: 2016-01-08As the modern food system continues to transform food-its composition, taste, availability, value, and appearance-consumers are increasingly confronted by legal and regulatory issues that affect us all on a daily basis.
- Ag Innovations Network Brings people in California together to build a food system that works for all.
- Center for Agroecology & Sustainable Food Systems Research, education, and public service program at the University of California, Santa Cruz, dedicated to increasing ecological sustainability and social justice in the food and agriculture system.
- Center for Urban Education about Sustainable Agriculture (CUESA) Dedicated to promoting a sustainable food system through the operation of the San Francisco Ferry Plaza Farmers Market and its educational programs.
- Om Organics Project from Social and Environmental Entrepreneurs (SEE) working to increase the demand for sustainable agriculture and supply of regionally-produced foods in the Bay area.
- People's Grocery Community-based organization whose mission is to build a local food system that improves the health and economy of the West Oakland community.
- Roots of Change (ROC) A collaboration of community, nonprofit, philanthropic, government, and business organizations. Promoting a sustainable food system in California by 2030.
- San Francisco Food Systems Private-public partnership created to address food systems issues within the City and County of San Francisco through action research projects, policy planning and recommendations.
- UC Davis - Community Food Systems Resources Research and information to help strengthen connections between farmers, consumers and communities.
- NCAT Sustainable Agriculture Project Managed by the National Center for Appropriate Technology (NCAT) and funded under a grant from the United States Department of Agriculture's Rural Business-Cooperative Service.
E-encyclopedias, E-books, E-journals, and Databases
- AGRICOLA (AGRICultural OnLine Access) This link opens in a new windowCreated by the National Agricultural Library and its cooperators, AGRICOLA covers materials in all formats, including printed works from the 15th century. The records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Collection of scholarly, government, and general-interest titles which include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations, and local/national governments and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. Topics: global warming, green building, ecology, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
- NTISThe National Technical Information Service acquires, indexes, abstracts, and archives the largest collection of U.S. government-sponsored technical reports in existence.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles and e-books in the sciences, technology, medicine, and social sciences. UCLA subscribes to a subset of this collection.
- Taylor & Francis E-books This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
E-books from Routledge, Psychology Press, and Focal Press, mostly in the humanities, social sciences, and behavioral sciences. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of the available titles. Also includes the scientific, technical, and medical reference books formerly contained in CRCnetBASE. UCLA subscribes to only a small number of titles beyond the former CRC collection. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts, covering the journal literature of most disciplines. Indexes major journals with all cited references captured. Combines the following citation databases: Science Citation Index Expanded; Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI); Conference Proceedings Citation Index.
Global Appetites Exhibit: Book Selection
- My AntoniaAn orphaned teenager, who comes to live with his stern grandparents on their isolated farm, finds solace in his friendship with the high-spirited daughter of neighboring immigrants, who themselves face poverty and prejudice.
- The Singing FarmerA translation of Vergil's "Georgics"
- One of OursPulitzer Prize winning novel of a midwestern American's journey to the front of World War I.
- Vergil's Aeneid: Hero, War, HumanityA prose translation of Vergil's Aeneid with new illustrations and informational appendices.
- Design for Victory : World War II Posters on the American Home FrontThis colorful collection of over 150 World War II-era posters focuses on the theme of wartime production on the home front.
- Animal Farm byISBN: 0582330874As ferociously fresh as it was more than a half century ago, this remarkable allegory of a downtrodden society of overworked, mistreated animals and their quest to create a paradise of progress, justice, and equality is one of the most scathing satires ever published.
- Norman Rockwell's Four Freedoms: Images that Inspire a NationA celebration of Rockwell's 1943 "Four Freedoms" paintings chronicles the artist's journey toward the commission of them, explaining how he created the mythic images and their reception by the world.
- The Physiology of Taste: Or Meditations on Transcendental GastronomyA delightful and hilarious classic about the joys of the table, The Physiology of Taste is the most famous book about food ever written. First published in France in 1825 and continuously in print ever since.
- A Book of Mediterranean FoodLong acknowledged as the inspiration for such modern masters as Julia Child and Claudia Roden, A Book of Mediterranean Food is Elizabeth David's passionate mixture of recipes, culinary lore, and frank talk.
- How to Cook a WolfWritten to inspire courage in those daunted by wartimes shortages, How to Cook a Wolf continues to rally cooks during times of plenty, reminding them that providing sustenance requires more than putting food on the table.
- En Attendant GodotFrom an inauspicious beginning at the tiny Left Bank Theatre de Babylone in 1953, followed by bewilderment by American and British audiences, Waiting for Godot has become one of the most important and enigmatic plays of the past fifty years and a cornerstone of twentieth-century drama.
- Your Country Calls Enlist: Plow-buy bondsPoster showing a soldier, a farmer with a shovel, and a businessman holding a bag of money.
- Save Waste Fats for ExplosivesPoster depicts a frying pan pouring liquid fat onto protruding missiles, encouraging citizens to take leftover waste fats to their meat dealer.
- My Year of MeatsA cross-cultural tale of two women brought together by the intersections of television and industrial agriculture, fertility and motherhood, life and love.
- All Over CreationA warm and witty saga about agribusiness, environmental activism, and community.
- PorkopolisA protest of the meat industry and the experimental use of animals.
- Dead MeatA nationally prominent, politically oriented artist offers an unsparingly critical view of the meat industry in scores of illustrations.
- Fast Food Nation“Schlosser has a flair for dazzling scene-setting and an arsenal of startling facts . . . Fast Food Nation points the way but, to resurrect an old fast food slogan, the choice is yours.”-LA Times
- The Four Voyages of Christopher ColumbusThe accounts collected here provide a vivid narrative of Columbus; voyages throughout the Caribbean and finally to the mainland of Central America, although he still believed he had reached Asia.
- Tar BabyRavishingly beautiful and emotionally incendiary, Tar Baby is Toni Morrison's reinvention of the love story.
- The Omnivore's DilemmaWhat should we have for dinner?
- Howl, and Other PoemsA collection of poetry by Allen Ginsberg, containing, among others, "A Supermarket in California."
- Second Nature: A Gardener's EducationA collection of essays about gardening arranged by seasons.
- In Defense of Food"Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants." These simple words go to the heart of food journalist Pollan's thesis.
- Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food LifeWhen Kingsolver and her family move from suburban Arizona to rural Appalachia, they take on a new challenge: to spend a year on a locally produced diet, paying close attention to the provenance of all they consume.
- O Pioneers!O Pioneers! tells the story of the Bergsons, a family of Swedish immigrants in the farm country near the fictional town of Hanover, Nebraska, at the turn of the 20th century.
- Notes on the State of VirginiaJefferson’s chronicle of the natural, social, and political history of Virginia is at once a scientific discourse, an attempt to define America, and a brilliant examination of the idea of freedom.
- Letters from an American FarmerWritten by an emigrant French aristocrat turned farmer, the Letters from an American Farmer (1782) posed the famous question: "What, then, is the American, this new man?", as a new nation took shape before the eyes of the world.
- Working the Garden: American Writers and the Industrialization of AgricultureConlogue offers fresh perspectives on how writers confront issues whose site is the farm but whose impact reaches every corner of American society.