Databases
-
Alternative Press Index This link opens in a new windowAlternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines. The index is international and interdisciplinary, spanning the social sciences and humanities, with its central focus on the practice and theory of socialism, national liberation, labor, indigenous peoples, gays/lesbians, feminism, ecology, democracy, and anarchism. Link searches both Alternative Press Index (1991-present) and Alternative Press Index Archive (1969-1990).
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Complete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish.
-
HumanProgress.orgCato Institute. Explore the state of humanity with data, charts, and maps.
Environmental Justice
-
CQ ResearcherSingle-themed reports offer in-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues, on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the US economy. Each report is footnoted and fact-checked and includes an overview, background section, chronology, bibliography and debate-style pro-con feature, plus tools to study the evolution of the topic over time.
-
Fighting Environmental Racism: A Selected Annotated Bibliographyby Irwin Weintraub, Source: Electronic Green Journal, Issue 1, June, 1994
-
How Planning and Zoning Contribute to Inequitable Development, Neighborhood Health, and Environmental InjusticeEnvironmental Justice. December 2008: 211-216.
Resources for Social Sustainability
-
African American Experience This link opens in a new window
Reference books, monographs, primary documents, manuscripts, speeches, court cases, quotations, advertisements, and statistics concerning African American history and culture. Contains over 4,000 interviews with former slaves; 67 Negro University Press texts from the late 1700s to the early 1970s.
-
African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new windowFeatures 280 newspapers from 35 states published for or by African Americans, including many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles. Beginning with Freedom’s Journal (NY)—the first African American newspaper published in the United States—titles include The Colored Citizen (KS), Arkansas State Press, Rights of All (NY), Wisconsin Afro-American, New York Age, L'Union (LA), Northern Star and Freeman’s Advocate (NY), Richmond Planet, Cleveland Gazette, The Appeal (MN) and hundreds more. See also African American Newspapers Series 2.
-
African American Newspapers, Series 2 This link opens in a new windowAfrican American Newspapers, Series 2, 1835-1956 complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1. Published in 22 states and the District of Columbia, titles include Frederick Douglass’s New National Era (Washington, DC), Washington Tribune (Washington, DC), Chicago Bee (Chicago, IL), The Louisianian (New Orleans, LA), The Pine and Palm (Boston, MA), National Anti-Slavery Standard (New York, NY), New York Age (New York, NY), Harlem Liberator (New York, NY), North Carolina Republican and Civil Rights Advocate (Weldon, NC), Southern News (Richmond, VA) and more. See also See also African American Newspapers Series 1.
-
African Diaspora This link opens in a new windowCovers 1860-present, and includes digitized primary source documents, secondary sources and videos from around the world with a focus on communities in the Caribbean, Brazil, India, United Kingdom, and France. With content from The National Archives and Records Administration (US), National Archives at Kew (UK), Royal Anthropological Institute, and Senate House Library (University of London),
-
The Commonwealth iLibrary This link opens in a new windowThe Commonwealth Secretariat’s publications are a key part of the organisation’s mission to work as a trusted partner for all Commonwealth people as a force for peace, democracy, equality and good governance; a catalyst for global consensus-building; and a source of assistance for sustainable development and poverty eradication. The Commonwealth iLibrary has been developed in partnership with OECD Publishing as part of the IGO Partnership Programme. In case of questions about the service - access or subscriptions - contact us via email.
-
LGBTQ+ Life This link opens in a new window
Contains indexing and abstracts for LGBTQ-specific core periodicals, core books and reference works. In addition, other source-types such as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. are represented. Former database title: LGBT Life.
Titles in Our Catalog
-
Economics Unmasked
by
Call Number: HD75.S615 2011Date: 2011-04-21Economics Unmasked presents a cogent critique of the dominant economic system in order to help transform our society into one in which all forms of life will be protected. -
Poor Economics
by
Call Number: HC59.7 .B323 2011Date: 2011-04-26Winner of the 2011 Financial Times/Goldman Sachs Best Business Book of the Year Award
Billions of government dollars, and thousands of charitable organizations and NGOs, are dedicated to helping the world's poor. But much of their work is based on assumptions that are untested generalizations at best, harmful misperceptions at worst. -
Beyond Discrimination
by
Call Number: HN18.3ISBN: 9780871544551Date: 2013-06-30This book examines the validity of a social guarantees approach as a framework for evaluating, monitoring, and improving the design of social policy. Social guarantees are defined as sets of policy mechanisms that determine citizens' entitlements related to basic services and ensure their fulfillment on the part of the state. The social guarantee concept gives operational expression to fundamental human rights principles by providing mechanisms for awareness, participation, equity, and redress in the delivery of social policy. -
American Diversity a demographic challenge for the twenty-first century.
by
Call Number: E184.A1 A6325 2002ISBN: 0791453979Date: 2002Demographers explore population diversity in the United States. -
Global Diversity Management: A Fusion of Ideas, Stories and Practice,
by
ISBN: 9783030195236Date: 2019This book explores how global organisations and institutions manage Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) across their operations and within different cultural and value settings. Demonstrates how the idea of narratives can be used as an approach to achieving EDI goals, presenting powerful stories on EDI implementation and challenges stemming from EDI-related abuses. Taken together, the book’s respective chapters depict the complexity of EDI in a nuanced way, reflecting the disparate realities of those involved in its implementation. -
Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice
by
ISBN: 9781412918121Date: 2007-04-13This encyclopedia helps readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas which motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice. Included are short biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism. -
World on the Edge
by
Call Number: GE149.B76 2011Date: 2011-01-06We are in a race between political and natural tipping points. Can we close coal-fired power plants fast enough to save the Greenland ice sheet and avoid catastrophic sea level rise? Can we raise water productivity fast enough to halt the depletion of aquifers and avoid water-driven food shortages? Can we cope with peak water and peak oil at the same time? These are some of the issues Lester R. Brown skillfully distills in World on the Edge. Bringing decades of research and analysis into play, he provides the responses needed to reclaim our future.
