Definition
Eco-housing, green development, sustainable design — environmentally sound housing has as many names as it has definitions, but the Rocky Mountain Institute, in its "Primer on Sustainable Building", flexibly describes this new kind of architecture as "taking less from the Earth and giving more to people."
Architecture and Urban Planning
-
The Green House
by
Call Number: NA2542.36 .S73 2005Date: 2005-06-02From the arid deserts of Tucson, Arizona to the icy forests of Poori, Finland to the tropical beaches of New South Wales, Australia to the urban jungle of downtown Manhattan, critics Alanna Stang and Christopher Hawthorne have traveled to the farthest reaches of the globe to find all that is new in the design of sustainable, or "green," homes. The result: more than thirty-five residences in fifteen countries -- and nearly every conceivable natural environment -- designed by a combination of star architects and heretofore unknown practitioners.
E-encyclopedias, E-books, E-journals, and Databases
-
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowComprehensive listing of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Indexes publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America, and Australia. Expanded coverage includes obituary citations. Coverage is from 1934 to the present.
-
SpringerLink This link opens in a new window
Immense array of books, chapters, conference proceedings and journal articles in the social sciences and sciences, published by Springer-Verlag. After searching, unclick Preview Only Content, whose materials are not under UCLA subscription. Advanced search enabled at wheel icon to right of search.
-
Historical urban ecological data, 1830-1930 / Dora L Costa, Robert W Fogel.ICPSR 35617. The Historical Urban Ecological (HUE) data project was created for exploring and analyzing the urban health environments of seven major United States cities - Baltimore, Boston, Brooklyn, Chicago, Cincinnati, Manhattan, and Philidelphia - from 1830 through 1930.
-
Encyclopedia of Urban StudiesCovers all aspects of cities, their suburbs, and other urban areas. Includes urban economics, urban planning, urban architecture, urban ecology, urban transportation systems, urban politics, and urban social relations.
-
ULI Development Case Studies This link opens in a new windowCase studies from the Urban Land Institute showcase and describe the development process of real estate and urban development projects that are both innovative and financially successful.
-
NTRL: National Technical Reports Library from the National Technical Information Service This link opens in a new windowProvides indexing and open access to a collection of more than two million historical and current government technical reports archived by the National Technical Information Service (NTIS). Over 500,000 documents are available in full-text format.
Websites
-
USGBC - U.S. Green Buiding Council—LEED"An internationally recognized green building certification system, providing third-party verification that a building or community was designed and built using strategies aimed at improving performance across all the metrics that matter most: energy savings, water efficiency, CO2 emissions reduction, improved indoor environmental quality, and stewardship of resources and sensitivity to their impacts."
-
World Green Building CouncilThe WorldGBC is a union of national Green Building Councils from around the world, making it the largest international organization influencing the green building marketplace.