Article Databases
This is a very select list of available article databases. If you want to look for others, go to this page and click through to your discipline (political science, sociology, history, etc.)
-
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowIndexes and abstracts over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including 4,600 peer-reviewed journals.
-
Access World News — Historical and Current This link opens in a new windowFull-text information and perspectives from over 2400 U.S. and international Blogs, Journals, Newspapers, Newswires, Video, Web-Only Sources. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper.
-
America: History & Life This link opens in a new windowHistorical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Indexes articles from over 1,700 history journals published worldwide since 1964.
-
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowSuggested search strategy: love or romance as KEYWORD and [culture group--i.e., mexican, chinese, vietnamese, jewish, etc.] as KEYWORD
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowComplete text of over 200 ethnic, minority and Native American publications, 1959 to the present.
-
Family & Society Studies Worldwide This link opens in a new windowSuggested search strategy: love or romance as KEYWORD and [culture group--i.e., mexican, chinese, vietnamese, jewish, etc.] as KEYWORD
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new windowComplete text and index of core journals in the social sciences & humanities from their starting dates to about 5 years ago.
-
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new windowFull text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times. Click on Change databases to add other databases, such as the New York Times and search them at the same time.
-
Periodicals Index Online (PIO) This link opens in a new windowScholarly journals in the arts, humanities, and social sciences are indexed from the first issue to 1995 or ceased date in the Periodicals Index Online. Periodicals Archive Online has full text of many of the articles indexed in PIO.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Full text of current issues (from about 1990) of scholarly journals published by university presses, chiefly in the arts, humanities and social sciences. Browsable by discipline and full-text searchable across all disciplines. UCLA has access to Muse e-books published from 2017-present, plus a selected number of other e-book titles.
-
APA PsycInfo This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and citations to journal articles, books, book chapters, conference proceedings, and dissertations relevant to students, researchers, and professionals working in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
-
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences from 1,800+ serials publications; also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Coverage from 1952-present.
-
Web of Science This link opens in a new windowA multidisciplinary index of scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, including proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Search cited references, authors, titles, subjects.
News Sources
Newspapers are a good source for seeing how issues were covered in contemporary media. The Research Guide for News will lead you many different titles available online or in print.
Newpapers
Newspapers are a good resource for seeing how issues were covered in the contemporary media. To get to the Los Angeles Times, click on the link below. This takes you to the Los Angeles Times, but you can click on Searching: 2 databases to add other databases to your search. For Los Angeles Times articles published before 1990, you can click on
Page map or Page Image-pdf to read through the issue page by page.
< Previous of 40 Next >
For other ethnic newspapers, searching Ethnic NewsWatch: A History (see link below) will also get you a variety of articles, although the page images are not there--only the text.
Some newspapers, such as La opinión and Rafu Shimpo have not been digitized and you have to go to the YRL A-Level to read the microform.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new windowComplete text of articles from 1959 to the present from publications of the ethnic, minority, and native press. Covers news, culture, and history, and is searchable in both English and Spanish. Searches can be limited by ethnic group, e.g., Asian Americans.
-
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-1995].