Interlibrary Loan
If UCLA does not own an item, UC students, faculty, and staff can request it through the interlibrary loan (ILL) service.
Off-campus users who wish to request materials from UCLA can contact their local public or college libraries to request interlibrary loans of UCLA books or request photocopies of specific articles through the document delivery service.
- UCLA OnLine Proxy ServerA simple browser setting which will automatically divert you to a UCLA logon page when you first access a restricted site.
RSS
Major Newspapers Online
The UCLA Library does not subscribe to latimes.com, nytimes.com, or any other newspaper websites. In fact, most newspaper sites don't even have an option for institutional subscriptions.
Instead we subscribe to third-party newspaper databases which license the articles from the newspaper publishers. These archives cover long time periods, provide advanced search features typically available in academic databases, and don't have ads! (Though they often index the ads present in the print newspapers, allowing you to actually search them.) Current archives are usually updated daily.
On the down side, archives are primarily about storing text and (sometimes) images. They usually don't contain videos or interactive features available on the original news sites.
- U.S. Major Dailies This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text dating back to the 1980s for five of the nation’s major newspapers, including the New York Times, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. - Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1985 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times [1881-2015].
- Critical DistanceCritical Distance is a curated, searchable collection of current and historical roundups, roundtables, podcasts, and compilations on critical games discourse.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text (no ads or pictures) from 1980 to the present. For access to older issues, see Proquest Historical Newspapers: The New York Times [1851-2019] - Sacramento Bee: Historical and Current (1857-current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the Sacramento Bee from 1857 - current. - San Francisco Chronicle: Historical and Current (1865-current) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full page and article images with searchable full text of the San Francisco Chronicle from 1865 - current. - Sunday Times Digital Archive, 1822-2016 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Articles from The Sunday Times, London from 1822-2016. Although similar in title, Sunday Times is a distinct newspaper with no editorial connection to The Times London. - Times of London Digital Archive, 1785-2014 This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes full text and page images of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials, advertising and images (excluding the Sunday Times) for 1785-2014. - Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full text, from 1984 to present. For access to older issues, see ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal [1889-2012].
- A Chronology of the History of Science, 1450-1900 byCall Number: Q125 .G39 1987ISBN: 082409106XDate: 1987-03-01
test encrypted from Food
test encrypted from Food
is your link to full-text! Note that some sources only index journal articles—they don't actually have the full text. Use the button to find the full text or search for the journal title in the UCLA Library Catalog.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A multidisciplinary database that indexes over 10,000 publications, with the complete text of over 5,500 periodicals, including a mix of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and newspapers.